The Changing Face of Singaporean
Oppsgal:
Aiya, sorry, deviate a little cos was talking about China people becoming open, so I cited this example lah.
:scratchhead: What does nude got to do with Changing Face of Singaporean?carebear:
China now very open.
Car showroom have nude models.
http://news.insing.com/tabloid/nude-car-models-in-china/id-1aaf3e00
But if the models pose nude for car showroom, I think the men will be happy :nosebleed: , but the wife of theirs will be :mad: :rant: ... -
This year Chinese New Year, was trying to call for a cab after visiting my relative. The cab operator answered with quite good English but I was sure she wasn’t local. Worst thing, she did not even know where a famous road in Singapore is by asking me how to spell it. I asked back you mean you don’t know this place? She start to kan chiong and the PRC accent English appear.
For those who think that these immigrants are same as those of our ancestors, its a no, no. Most of our ancestors due to hard life in their place of birth move here to earn a living and decided to stay here which is why we are here, but these new immigrants, most have the intention for either make a quick buck and go home to retire or move on to their ideal country in the West or somewhere. Only a very small percentage who really like this place will stay on.
I do have the feeling and was wondering where have all the born here Singaporean gone when I am in public places. Now I know why, either they move to using private transport during workdays and hide at home during weekends. Have to hide at home during weekends, it is really a very sad state for a citizen.
I used to travel a lot in my past few jobs, but working with foreigners from overseas and seeing them there in their country is a total different thing when they are in your mist staying next door and worst when they not try hard enough to integrate into local culture. I think everyone here all know which estate is crowded with which immigrants from which country.
You will be surprised to think that kids are insensitive to all this immigrants. I do overheard some conversation of kids talking bad things about them.
Things are moving too fast for quite a number of people to cope, I guess when thing goes out of the comfort zone. -
kiddo:
Hiya!
MS - good one ...how' ahh are you? got any market lobang :scratchhead: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:MadScientist:
Anyone wants to place order for a T-shirt that says:
Front - \"When my coffee shop is open...\"
Back - \"come tell me lah\"
Only B&B SGporeans will know...
Long time no see...
Am good, but busy as am doing many things at a time for now...
Market sure have lobang... Question is how and where to find...
Had some really good discussion with UncleLim amongst others. -
Think some foreigners just make bad apples out of themselves by behaving arrogantly or rudely towards others.
Stepped into a clinic recently to witness a Chinese-looking woman demanding something from the clinic assistant. She pointed her finger at her as if the assistant had done something wrong, but as I listened on, she seemed to be asking for medicine without wanting to join the queue, but she absolutely didn’t know what medicine to buy, so the assistant couldn’t help her, but to ask her to check with the doctor.
The rest of the patients, including myself, were listening to her ‘weird sounding’ accent, wondering where she’s from, and watching her making a fool of herself.
Luckily the assistant was well trained and steady in her answer (so proud of her). When the patient in the doc’s room came out, this lady just said,"So I go in now ah" (trying to sound singaporean) and stomped in before the assistants could reply. -
peapot:
Actually after gathering from reading the post here, most of us seems want to find back our identity and not because we fear loosing our jos, not getting seats in trains or not able to complete with FT. However, the government seems to think otherwise. They think that once they can get trains to be less crowded, we will be happy. The government has really lost touch on the ground. They only connect with people on the top.
Strongly agree! -
JonC:
This year Chinese New Year, was trying to call for a cab after visiting my relative. The cab operator answered with quite good English but I was sure she wasn't local. Worst thing, she did not even know where a famous road in Singapore is by asking me how to spell it. I asked back you mean you don't know this place? She start to kan chiong and the PRC accent English appear.
PRC can drive cab in Singapore meh? Don't they need to take some kind of test to qualify and have license? Why, didn't know we are short of cab drivers in Singapore that we have to employ foreigners to do it!JonC:
I've noticed the carparks at home are often full at the season parking zones during the weekends, unlike before. Thought that's due to coming exam...well, possibly...?I do have the feeling and was wondering where have all the born here Singaporean gone when I am in public places. Now I know why, either they move to using private transport during workdays and hide at home during weekends. Have to hide at home during weekends, it is really a very sad state for a citizen.
Actually, I see this as a two way street...JonC:
This year Chinese New Year, was trying to call for a cab after visiting my relative. The cab operator answered with quite good English but I was sure she wasn't local. Worst thing, she did not even know where a famous road in Singapore is by asking me how to spell it. I asked back you mean you don't know this place? She start to kan chiong and the PRC accent English appear.
PRC can drive cab in Singapore meh? Don't they need to take some kind of test to qualify and have license? Why, didn't know we are short of cab drivers in Singapore that we have to employ foreigners to do it!
SGporeans are not willing to do some types of work, so we get foreigners to fill in. We are happy at that outsourcing for a bit... Then the real problem starts... We move up the ladder without filling the gap between.
Add to that we are not willing to pay more for labour charges... And so nurses, cleaners, car mechanics, even preschool teachers are lowly paid in SG compared to elsewhere. So much for being (destructively) competitive for short term economic growth.
Compare with Australia where a Postie can make as much as many of us. A builder or tradesman is well paid for his hard day's work too.
I must say they are doing rather impressively well in terms of legal immigration and in job wages compared to SG in many ways. Even their economic policies are more prudent, despite having similar influx of foreigners and hot capital. Something SG needs to learn how to do rather than lament about how it is different and connotation be done here. -
Some of them r definitely more aggressive. We hv to bear in mind: 不是猛龙,不过江 (it takes a fierce/good dragon to b able to cross the river), as it takes guts to leave own comfort zones.Think some foreigners just make bad apples out of themselves by behaving arrogantly or rudely towards others.
Stepped into a clinic recently to witness a Chinese-looking woman demanding something from the clinic assistant. She pointed her finger at her as if the assistant had done something wrong, but as I listened on, she seemed to be asking for medicine without wanting to join the queue, but she absolutely didn't know what medicine to buy, so the assistant couldn't help her, but to ask her to check with the doctor.
The rest of the patients, including myself, were listening to her 'weird sounding' accent, wondering where she's from, and watching her making a fool of herself.
Luckily the assistant was well trained and steady in her answer (so proud of her). When the patient in the doc's room came out, this lady just said,\"So I go in now ah\" (trying to sound singaporean) and stomped in before the assistants could reply.
Re seeing doc, my S'porean friends residing in major Chinese cities over the yrs told me how they had to squeeze w the locals to register to c doctors in hospitals. Every1 just tried to thrust their cards at the medical personnel who appeared & some even had cash bribes inside.
Some of my S'porean friends who r staying in Guangzhou prefer to bring their sick children to HK to c PD instead. -
Vevey:
:yikes: Ya, Vevey, sounds like the lady was just finding excuse to beat the queue. :razz:
Some of them r definitely more aggressive. We hv to bear in mind: 不是猛龙,不过江 (it takes a fierce/good dragon to b able to cross the river), as it takes guts to leave own comfort zones.concern2:
Think some foreigners just make bad apples out of themselves by behaving arrogantly or rudely towards others.
Stepped into a clinic recently to witness a Chinese-looking woman demanding something from the clinic assistant. She pointed her finger at her as if the assistant had done something wrong, but as I listened on, she seemed to be asking for medicine without wanting to join the queue, but she absolutely didn't know what medicine to buy, so the assistant couldn't help her, but to ask her to check with the doctor.
The rest of the patients, including myself, were listening to her 'weird sounding' accent, wondering where she's from, and watching her making a fool of herself.
Luckily the assistant was well trained and steady in her answer (so proud of her). When the patient in the doc's room came out, this lady just said,\"So I go in now ah\" (trying to sound singaporean) and stomped in before the assistants could reply.
Re seeing doc, my S'porean friends residing in major Chinese cities over the yrs told me how they had to squeeze w the locals to register to c doctors in hospitals. Every1 just tried to thrust their cards at the medical personnel who appeared & some even had cash bribes inside.
Some of my S'porean friends who r staying in Guangzhou prefer to bring their sick children to HK to c PD instead. -
Think there is tendency for people in bigger countries (with relatively less population) to be more gracious? They have the privilege of not having to squeeze for every damn thing - oops, excuse me, and the ‘room’ to be more gracious (you first) - essentially, do not need the kiasu mentality to get ahead.
See China - they have such vast land, but those who live in the cities are worse than us - trying every ways and means, even going beyond what is morally right - perhaps morals or ethics is no longer valid? So, what kind of society are we going to become if everyone does the same to ‘beat the queue’ when another 20,000 to 60,000 arrive? Just being concerned…
The incidents of refusing to give up seats for instance, are we Singaporeans becoming ethically and morally challenged (change our values) in face of the new challenges ahead? To think for ourselves first instead of others?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.