All About Grooming & Encouraging Good Reading Habits
libran269:
awval:
i bot P&J series books fr 2nd hand bookstore at bras basah. $2 each. There are some books that are in not-so-good condition but good enough for general reading.
Hi Awval, Which books shop in Bras Basah? Thanks
i dunno e name but it's located on the ground flr corner, across from NLB. They hv other children books too. -
Serendipity:
There's the oxford tree reading series. I hear that's fairly pricey. One thing why I don't go for readers (except the one that I bought before I know) is that we won't revisit those. Good books, we may.Hi all,
Other than the Peter & Jane series, are there any other English readers that are useful for helping young children learn to read, hopefully in a fun and interesting manner? I'm worried that the P&J series might be too boring after a while... Or are my worries unfounded?
I think once you've gotten through the P&J series, it'll be nice to supplement that with books - no need to buy, just go borrow. there are tonnes of good books waiting to be loaned at NLB.
Most recently, I found Kazuo Iwamura books (eg 'hurray for spring') - beautiful pictures, short stories. -
DD is noe in P&J book 3a… the pages are getting more "chim"… more words… if she can read most words(except the new words), i dun have to re-vist the 1a/1b & 2a/2b right? she is still keen… but i have to slow on, as almost every page has 2 new words now…
Mine is also at 3a now, getting new words NAND I also hv to slow down. She more like to read the previous two books loudly cos no new words mah
then I just let her read lor , no harm. But for the new pages, a bit headache. Dun want push her cos afraid she will lose interest, I hope learning is funfor her. , but if not push , her progress is slow,
dun know what level need reach before she be in pri 1? -
Serendipity:
I found the Usborne Reading Programme very good. They have entry level books Very First Reading then First Reading series for children starting to read, although I didn't use those.Hi all,
Other than the Peter & Jane series, are there any other English readers that are useful for helping young children learn to read, hopefully in a fun and interesting manner? I'm worried that the P&J series might be too boring after a while... Or are my worries unfounded?
After my DS finished book 4 or so of P&J series and with phonics training in his school, he could jump straight to the Young Reading Series 1. The stories cover wide range of subject matter including fairy tales, Greek mythology and non fiction such as how toilets were invented etc. In the last one year, he has covered most of the books in the Young Reading Series 1 and 2.
I find these books a bridge between picture books and long chapter books since it has very beautiful illustrations but yet the vocabulary and sentence structure is rather complex. He can't read a whole book at one sitting but he reads about 2 chapters each time. -
bingjun.g:
Mine is also at 3a now, getting new words NAND I also hv to slow down. She more like to read the previous two books loudly cos no new words mah
then I just let her read lor , no harm. But for the new pages, a bit headache. Dun want push her cos afraid she will lose interest, I hope learning is funfor her. , but if not push , her progress is slow,
dun know what level need reach before she be in pri 1?
how old is ur child now? mine still have 2 years to P1.. still have time i hope. -
Thanks hquek!
There's the oxford tree reading series. I hear that's fairly pricey. One thing why I don't go for readers (except the one that I bought before I know) is that we won't revisit those. Good books, we may.
I think once you've gotten through the P&J series, it'll be nice to supplement that with books - no need to buy, just go borrow. there are tonnes of good books waiting to be loaned at NLB.
Most recently, I found Kazuo Iwamura books (eg 'hurray for spring') - beautiful pictures, short stories.
I don't have the P&J series yet though. Only have hand-me-downs of 2a and 3a. Not sure if i should get the rest of the series or if there are better, more interesting options around.
Will check out the Oxford series you mentioned.
actually if you want to buy, I have one set (not oxford tree). It was recommended to me and comes in 3 sets - A, B, C (in increasing levels of difficulty). Can’t remember the name but I don’t mind to post it. Kids are not touching it so the condition is good as new.
And the reason why my kids dun touch is becos I have way too many books at home and also borrow like mad. Previously when I had time/energy, we can even finish 15 small booklets in a single sitting. -
Musings:
Hi Musings,
I found the Usborne Reading Programme very good. They have entry level books Very First Reading then First Reading series for children starting to read, although I didn't use those.Serendipity:
Hi all,
After my DS finished book 4 or so of P&J series and with phonics training in his school, he could jump straight to the Young Reading Series 1. The stories cover wide range of subject matter including fairy tales, Greek mythology and non fiction such as how toilets were invented etc. In the last one year, he has covered most of the books in the Young Reading Series 1 and 2.
I find these books a bridge between picture books and long chapter books since it has very beautiful illustrations but yet the vocabulary and sentence structure is rather complex. He can't read a whole book at one sitting but he reads about 2 chapters each time.
Thanks much for the heads up on the Usborne series! I looked up the series online and it looks very interesting!
Where did you get your Usborne books from? If you ever want to let go of your books, do let me know? :evil: -
Hi hquek,actually if you want to buy, I have one set (not oxford tree). It was recommended to me and comes in 3 sets - A, B, C (in increasing levels of difficulty). Can't remember the name but I don't mind to post it. Kids are not touching it so the condition is good as new.
And the reason why my kids dun touch is becos I have way too many books at home and also borrow like mad. Previously when I had time/energy, we can even finish 15 small booklets in a single sitting.
Would you mind sharing more info on this set of books?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.