All these hw loads varies fr class to class n teachers to teachers...some T just dump hw on kids cos cannot finish in class ..reasons ranges fr spending too much time scolding kids, talking abt their own life stories, or always out on mc lor..
Stuff like 小书 shd have been spread out thru the Yr so that kids have sufficient time to complete them..ds's P2 chi T v nice to do that and encourage them to do it cos there's a competition for it which many parents n even kids know abt it.. Only some T choose to do it which I dun understand why cos all of these shd be encouraged n introduced to all kids equal..
this Yr his t asked to do a few but stopped after mid Yr.. Dunno wats her problem also..
Btw, can check hor for parents whose kids had done the reading cards for the past 2 Yr n got 20 stars n above, do your kids get any badge or certs for that? Tot they promised some badge but 2 yrs Liao n this Yr 3rd time still see no badges leh.. :scratchhead:
Hopefully, this Yr will get our science badge lor.. Ds gets v excited over collecting these certs n badges ... It's big motivation for him to put in effort in all his projects..
drickymummy:
Stuff like 小书 shd have been spread out thru the Yr so that kids have sufficient time to complete them..
Sorry what's 小书? I only know 好朋友, 知识画报, 知识报, 小拇指, 大拇指. -
drickymummy:
Do you mean parents and kids don't know about it? Last year, we didn't know the kids would be awarded until my dd came home with a trophy. Her P2 teacher didn't inform the kids that it would be a competition.
Stuff like 小书 shd have been spread out thru the Yr so that kids have sufficient time to complete them..ds's P2 chi T v nice to do that and encourage them to do it cos there's a competition for it which many parents n even kids know abt it..
For the Sept hols, they were asked to write a 阅读报告, that's all, nothing on 小书.drickymummy:
I asked this question some time back cos we also didn't see the badges. Parents told me it's the Avid Reader badge but I thought that was earned from the English book reviews, not from the Reading Activity cards. I was expecting a different badge for the cards. As for the Science card, their projects had been chucked into the cupboard, don't know when her teacher will review them, hopefully the seeds don't turn mouldy although they were thoroughly dried.Btw, can check hor for parents whose kids had done the reading cards for the past 2 Yr n got 20 stars n above, do your kids get any badge or certs for that? Tot they promised some badge but 2 yrs Liao n this Yr 3rd time still see no badges leh.. :scratchhead:
It's a 8-page (inclusive of book title page) little storybook that each student are supposed to create based on a theme. I am not sure whether type-written ones are acceptable There will be instructions given on how to fold/create the 8-page book. Every year, my dd will draw the pictures, colour and write the words for each page.Sorry what's 小书?
E3:
Thanks E3. So far ds haven't got that kind of assignment yet.
It's a 8-page (inclusive of book title page) little storybook that each student are supposed to create based on a theme. I am not sure whether type-written ones are acceptable There will be instructions given on how to fold/create the 8-page book. Every year, my dd will draw the pictures, colour and write the words for each page. -
Hi E3,
Typo mistake! :oops:
I mean parents and kids dunno abt it.. I also didn't know till T asked Ds to improvised on one of his booklet and told him that his booklets are selected for competition then I got to know abt it..
For science, after a lot of efforts spent on it with Ds...finally T told him that his is best in class and had been presented to HOD for viewing. DS was so trilled abt it.. Tot this time round his was just ok cos he used computer to do most of his projects.. But I find that using computer was a great way to train his IT skills...he is now pretty good with PowerPoint for different presentations n looking for great pictures and info online.. -
Bro Mark, be patient...your turn to get busy with booklets will come soon..
Thanks E3. So far ds haven't got that kind of assignment yet.E3:
It's a 8-page (inclusive of book title page) little storybook that each student are supposed to create based on a theme. I am not sure whether type-written ones are acceptable There will be instructions given on how to fold/create the 8-page book. Every year, my dd will draw the pictures, colour and write the words for each page.
Material used n presentation methods affects the chances of making a nice booklet.. Maybe I m v niao abt presentations .. I expects quite a bit fr Ds's projects though it can be time consuming.. I believed that thru the process he learns something different fr regular sch work.. -
Got a question for parents for upper pri class… How do u build the portfolio for your child? I know we need to put together all his credits n certs fr all competitions or assessments like ICAS n MO Etc… Wat else is impt too?
Fir those whose kids had volunteered fr services in sch, do u ever tried asking fir a letter of recognition? Funny lor, they ask fr out kids help n time commitment but never commend them for that… -
drickymummy:
That's true; there's always something useful to learn in all work if we look hard enough. How true. Thanks for the reminder.
Material used n presentation methods affects the chances of making a nice booklet.. Maybe I m v niao abt presentations .. I expects quite a bit fr Ds's projects though it can be time consuming.. I believed that thru the process he learns something different fr regular sch work..
Your ds seems to be in the top league. Looks like you've trained him well. -
I agree with Markfch that for this term, the Chinese seems to have sped up.... first was those pages to memorise... then this week we have to memorise and recite 2 poems... but I know that they only have 1 last chapter to cover this term, so maybe the teacher is getting them to revise since there's time. There was also quite abit of writing for English last week too.. haven't had much time for assessment books
DS is quite bochap over those reading charts etc.. he only reads comics, which do not qualify, so he told me he is not keen
at least he is finishing a book a week... already an improvement... as for chinese, we will still carry on reading the text book everynight... I also got him to 'supervise' ds2's chinese reading.. so he gets to 'learn' what ds2 is learning too.. :evil: hahaha
Anyone have good chinese learning apps to recommend? I'm using doodle chinese, but I find it may be too simple... hoping to find those which teach strokes as well.. thanks!! -
You parents are Good ...
Thanks E3. So far ds haven't got that kind of assignment yet.E3:
It's a 8-page (inclusive of book title page) little storybook that each student are supposed to create based on a theme. I am not sure whether type-written ones are acceptable There will be instructions given on how to fold/create the 8-page book. Every year, my dd will draw the pictures, colour and write the words for each page.
I can never remember these projects ..... fortunately I have my dw to reply on ..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.