Review Underway of the Educational System
I always opt out of stuff I dun agree with... including compulsory supplementary classes.
Just wondering, is that happening a lot? Where schools shove activities down the throats of parents? Can parents opt not to go for these 'holistic' schools?jedamum:
at a point in time, i feel that the term 'holistic education' is just a nice phrase.
sometimes what kids need are not programmes after programmes in school. they want the free time at home to do stuff that they like.
i just hope that in implementing additional activities in the name of 'holistic education', schools should not shove down their activities down the throats of parents who do not share the same views. -
I think it is compulsory to join a CCA but I suppose you could join one and not show up! :evil:[/quote]
Oh dear! I always make my son skip swimming because he already can swim 40 lengths of the pool without stopping and they keep wanting him to get those metallic medals... bronze and silver and gold things. He would like to do competitive swimming but it is not something his school wins at so, no opportunity.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]
CCA is compulsory, but not sports CCA.
He skips so that he has time play with his chemistry set... and now he is teaching himself to draw. It's just pottering around the house but sometimes kids just wanna have time to do what they wanna do. He's a nerd. I have to enforce mandatory daily jogging because his father is worried about Army Days.
I didn't know CCA was compulsory!!
kekekekekeke -
Pr Schools will encourage every students to have a CCA but I don;t think they care if u donch!Oh dear! I always make my son skip swimming because he already can swim 40 lengths of the pool without stopping and they keep wanting him to get those metallic medals... bronze and silver and gold things. He would like to do competitive swimming but it is not something his school wins at so, no opportunity.
He skips so that he has time play with his chemistry set... and now he is teaching himself to draw. It's just pottering around the house but sometimes kids just wanna have time to do what they wanna do. He's a nerd. I have to enforce mandatory daily jogging because his father is worried about Army Days.
I didn't know CCA was compulsory!!
If u have your own (inhouse) CCA, donch think u missed much. But people like myself will make use of the school resources and expose my kids to diff type of CCAs, sports or otherwise.
That's true. And not every parent wants the same thing for their kids.jtoh:
I guess it's just a difference of opinion. I prefer that my kids be active and sporty and still do alright in academics, than excel in academics and nothing more.
Yeah, sometimes we do get carried away think that every child is born the same.
I always opt out of stuff I dun agree with... including compulsory supplementary classes.[/quote] :rahrah:
Just wondering, is that happening a lot? Where schools shove activities down the throats of parents? Can parents opt not to go for these 'holistic' schools?jtoh:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]at a point in time, i feel that the term 'holistic education' is just a nice phrase.
sometimes what kids need are not programmes after programmes in school. they want the free time at home to do stuff that they like.
i just hope that in implementing additional activities in the name of 'holistic education', schools should not shove down their activities down the throats of parents who do not share the same views. -
Must be a top tier school, ya? Coz my friend who transferred kid from neighbourhood school to premium BT Timah brand school complained that there's a lot more activities after school hours.
I always opt out of stuff I dun agree with... including compulsory supplementary classes. -
i was referring to preschools wrt 'holistic education' (they like to use this term a lot). i am hoping that such will not slowly creep into primary school system.
Just wondering, is that happening a lot? Where schools shove activities down the throats of parents? Can parents opt not to go for these 'holistic' schools?jedamum:
at a point in time, i feel that the term 'holistic education' is just a nice phrase.
i just hope that in implementing additional activities in the name of 'holistic education', schools should not shove down their activities down the throats of parents who do not share the same views.
they should implement opt-in system instead.
of course can opt out, but kid has to agree too (got peer pressure, worry blacklist and what not). or course can choose to ignore but don't we all have times that we agree to stuff reluctantly due to whatever circumstances?
anyway, back to the topic....OT liao. :oops: -
scrape off school ranking, and GEP, segregate all the teachers teaching top notch school to neighbourhood sch.. so our children will not be so stressful!
Its hard to change parents mentality, everyone wants the best for their children. If there is no comparison then there wouldnt be any kiasu mentality.EllaEmma:
We kiasu parents have a part in this scene too.. we formed the demand.. the schools became supply (being top school)Chenonceau:
EllaEmma, there is hope... see here... http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2011/09/reviewing-system-of-assessing-schools.html
So long parents mentality do not change, there will be rank-chasing principals, not easy to change...
My 2 cents.. -
:goodpost: :udawoman:
This is another way of saying that parents are kiasu because we want our kids to all be academically good. But I very much agree with you. Some people are not meant to take the academic path because their greater talents lie elsewhere.Jennifer:
Every child is different. No one system will work for everyone. Hence, the Govt has been working towards providing diff avenues for diff segments.
We need to realise that there are more than one way. It is no use if the Govt puts in all efforts but we ignore the many other possibilities and then in the end, complain abt the obstacles of attaining academic success when in the 1st place, it is not meant for our child to undertake. Just my 2cts worth.
However, this should not be a way for MOE to push away responsibility and be an excuse for the inadequate teaching (that arose because Teachers have been appreciated/rewarded/promoted for doing OD work... and teaching has become secondary). Such inadequate teaching takes place in many many schools across our nation... where Teachers test... but don't teach enough to meet test standards.
Students fail even when they DO have an aptitude for scholastic achievement. All I did was give my son 2 well chosen Math enrichment books, and his grades went from Fail to top. All I did was provide my son well-chosen material for Chinese Language and his compo grades went from 18/40 to 28/40 (under exam conditions) within 6 months. Clearly, my son has scholastic aptitude, but his school gave him neither the material nor the instruction required to cope with his exams.
That is currently what is happening. It is not the parents' fault. MOE must take responsibility for change. I am happy that it has chosen to free up Teacher's time from chasing awards that only PARTLY define what education is all about. -
i was referring to preschools wrt 'holistic education' (they like to use this term a lot). i am hoping that such will not slowly creep into primary school system.
Just wondering, is that happening a lot? Where schools shove activities down the throats of parents? Can parents opt not to go for these 'holistic' schools?jtoh:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]at a point in time, i feel that the term 'holistic education' is just a nice phrase.
i just hope that in implementing additional activities in the name of 'holistic education', schools should not shove down their activities down the throats of parents who do not share the same views.
they should implement opt-in system instead.
of course can opt out, but kid has to agree too (got peer pressure, worry blacklist and what not). or course can choose to ignore but don't we all have times that we agree to stuff reluctantly due to whatever circumstances?
anyway, back to the topic....OT liao. :oops:[/quote]OIC. Yah OT.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.