In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      mummy of 2

mummy of 2:

What I hate most is sil brings her over when she's sick, especially when DS is very prone to cough.

ungracious :slapshead:

You are so polite - I call it plain selfish. Especially when I will keep my kids away from her gal if either is unwell. I ever told my mil to inform sil that DS is unwell. Both think it's no big deal and mil even say we trying to stop sil from coming.

Mamo

Or invest in Ipad like my SIL. She will watch her korean drama with her earphone on. This is really bochap. We must learn from the younger generation.

Mamo

The ONE time I entertained her in the kitchen, I've had enough of her 2-faced nonsense...that's it ! Told hubby NOT to disappear into the room. Stay in the kitchen and TALK to his mother...this way, I get to :siam:

What I'll do is seriously watch TV. I really cannot bring myself to do any PR.

My mil likes to follow my DH into the kitchen and then start whispering away ... really can't stand her doing that all the time.

Chenonceau

One of my friends was so gutsy. Her niece threw a tantrum at her place. The Mom did not do anything. So, she took the girl by the hand and brought her to the door… gave her her shoes and said "If you cry, you cannot stay in my house. Your Mommy will bring you home. Bye. Bye."

Her SIL had to bring her daughter home. The next time, the SIL made sure she did something.

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

Mamo:

My mil likes to follow my DH into the kitchen and then start whispering away ... really can't stand her doing that all the time.

Oh yeah same here.... when I am in the kitchen DH will come and talk to me over there... then MIL will just follow him and then she will just talk to him as if i am invisible... then will try to become tired then take him out to the living to talk more :stupid:

Oh yah, this whispering thing used to irk me as well. Don't understand why she has to be so secretive. MIL will monopolise DH's time whenever we meet up last time. If it is at their house, she will pull him into the room and they will be there for ages while I basically entertain myself in the living room. If we are out, she will cling on to DH's arm and pull him away from me. That use to irritate me to no end as well. Best part was she will start whispering to my helper as well and my helper will ask me why granma behave so secretive, want a cup of tea also must pull me aside and whisper. Haha.

These days, I cannot be bothered.

mummy of 2

One of my friends was so gutsy. Her niece threw a tantrum at her place. The Mom did not do anything. So, she took the girl by the hand and brought her to the door... gave her her shoes and said \"If you cry, you cannot stay in my house. Your Mommy will bring you home. Bye. Bye.\"

Her SIL had to bring her daughter home. The next time, the SIL made sure she did something.
                If I do that DH and mil will interfere so I just ask my kids if they can behave the same way as their cousin, right after it happens. Sometimes without me saying anything my kids will come and report to me that the cousin is doing something wrong.

Chenonceau

mummy of 2:

One of my friends was so gutsy. Her niece threw a tantrum at her place. The Mom did not do anything. So, she took the girl by the hand and brought her to the door... gave her her shoes and said \"If you cry, you cannot stay in my house. Your Mommy will bring you home. Bye. Bye.\"

If I do that DH and mil will interfere so I just ask my kids if they can behave the same way as their cousin, right after it happens. Sometimes without me saying anything my kids will come and report to me that the cousin is doing something wrong.

I also can't do that. I wish I could though. It is nice to dream. Kekekekeke!

auntieM

Mine rattles away in their dialect… at dinners and gathering when she didn’t want me to ‘hear’ the gossip… …

The fun part is …I can fully comprehend her lingo, I just act blur…

Chenonceau

Soooooooo... Angelight... it seems that lotsa people go for the strategy Laugh and Think Them Silly!! :rotflmao:

BeContented

- Watch TV/play iPhone and ignore them.

- Go in room, close door & sometimes lock (cos' MIL may still barge in)
                        - Act blur, dun understand what she say
                        - MIL likes to 'test' if I sweep her room by throwing tissue on the floor. Sometimes I'll sweep but leave the tissue behind so that she think I din and sweep herself. Sometimes, I'll just pick up the tissue and dun sweep her room.
                        Childish & Cheap thrill but shiok leh. 😆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 349 / 529

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo