Looking for better 2nd & 3rd tier Secondary Schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    116 Posts 35 Posters 42.4k Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

znzyzyzx:
      Pen88n:

[quote=\"leow\"]yes, that's a good point, to check 4 yrs ago's PSLE COP and the resulting banding 4 yrs later. Because the banding is just the results of the school per se and not relative to other schools or PSLE results. Another indicator is the school's MOE value added awards. But this does not tell us how much is the value add though, i believe, only the numbers of times / yrs the school gets the value add award.

If anybody knows of a measurement of the quality of value add, especially if compiled by MOE, pls share.

Where will we be able to check the PSLE COP 4 years ago? What we are given is S1 posting booklet for this year, so it is based on last year's COP only. Wonder if anyone really bother to keep booklet 4 years ago ๐Ÿ˜‰

No, it is 3 years ago.

Hm, my dd1 is in sec 3 this year , so the booklet that she received was 4 years ago ? I think I still have it somewhere in my storeroom ๐Ÿ˜„[/quote]Numbers doesn't add up ๐Ÿ˜†

Ok, this years booklet has banding which is based on last year 2010 \"O\" level results. If the kid is Sec 4 and taking \"O\" Level in 2010, he will be in the P6 batch batch in 2006, and his PSLE COP will be published in the 2007 S1 posting booklet (for admission to sec sch in 2008). So, I've worked out which booklet, but not sure if anyone has that \"antique\" (or should I say outdated?) booklet now :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

leow

we are all the kiasu parents right, if we look hard enough sure can find !

Nevertheless, somebody already compiled the last 3 yrs COP. u can see the trend from here even if not exactly 4yrs ago.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/3-year-official-psle-cop-2009-2011-secondary-1-intake

Also if we have shorlisted a few schools, can always ask the school. To do the final assessment on which school to go.

ppnqq

leow:
          we are all the kiasu parents right, if we look hard enough sure can find !

Sorry, I am more on the left. ๐Ÿ˜†

pixiedust

Can I clarify about the โ€˜bandingโ€™ ?

Is this Secondary school banding based on O levels results ?

I checked the MOE School Information System but I canโ€™t find this banding for the schools. Only the COPs (2008/2009/2010) and MOE Awards are listed.

leow

chrisu:
              May I ask if a school is Band 1, does that mean on the average the express stream students in the school scored <11 for their L1B5? So for 6 subjects, each subject is not more than A2? Thank you.

Yes that's my understanding.

• phankaoP Offline
                phankao

h530251:

Wa.. what so good with this anderson sec ah.. why needs so high marks to get in ??? ... ๐Ÿ˜“
                Yes, it can be surprising how neighbourhood-sounding names have rather high COP. Eg. Yishun Town Secondary School, Xinmin(in hougang), etc. Anyway, Anderson sec has always been a good school lah.

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

teh_oh:

How different are the curriculum to 'mainstream' schools? Any DSA via CCA options?
                  Thanks in advance.
                  If you child has special skill or leadership, it is possible to apply for DSA to these 2nd or 3rd tier schools. These schools' DSA exercise will never be as big a deal as those premier schools like those in the Raffles groups, NYGH, HCI, etc, etc. Afterall, they are limited to taking in only maximum 10% of their intake. eg. schools like CHS will take in only around 30 students under DSA each year as such, mostly under sports(many) or chinese orchestra (very few). Go to individual schools' websites for more info, especially during the May to June period when the schools put up their DSA info.

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

Pen88n:

Where will we be able to check the PSLE COP 4 years ago? What we are given is S1 posting booklet for this year, so it is based on last year's COP only. Wonder if anyone really bother to keep booklet 4 years ago ๐Ÿ˜‰
                    Check it online from MOE website \"School information service\"
                    http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_index.asp

eg. for Ang Mo Kio Secondary, you can see COP stats from year 2008 to 2010.
                    http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_SearchDtls.asp?strCode=3026&snm=ANG%20MO%20KIO%20SECONDARY%20SCHOOL

Hope that helps.

Mamo

I canโ€™t find the banding information on Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Sec Sch. Anyone knows?

• Z Offline
                        zeemimi

h530251:

Wa.. what so good with this anderson sec ah.. why needs so high marks to get in ??? ... ๐Ÿ˜“

Yes, it can be surprising how neighbourhood-sounding names have rather high COP. Eg. Yishun Town Secondary School, Xinmin(in hougang), etc. Anyway, Anderson sec has always been a good school lah.

yeah, i don't think that anderson belongs to 2nd or 3rd tier sec schs. Their express classes has been producing very good o level results.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 8 / 12