All About Home Addresses

2.4k Posts 538 Posters 838.8k Views 1 Watching
    • mum2bM Offline
      mum2b

Anyone can advise, i have a noob question ..

If I'm buying a resale flat, when is the latest date of 2nd appointment with HDB, so that we can use the address for 2012 P1 reg (starts P1 in 2013)? I understand the total processing time is ard 3 months (from sign agreement with seller to make 1st appoinment w/ hdb to 2nd appointment n collecting key), pls advise if this is correct?
      If it's 3 months, say if we starts lookin in feb 2012 n found the flat at end of mar 2012, i should have enough time to finish the buying process by end of june, thus can use the address in p1 reg in july 2012?
      (and yes, we will stay in the resale flat permanently, not just for registering only :))

Secondly, if it's private property, how does the timeline like?

Many many thanks in advance 🙂

mum2b:
        Anyone can advise, i have a noob question ..

If I'm buying a resale flat, when is the latest date of 2nd appointment with HDB, so that we can use the address for 2012 P1 reg (starts P1 in 2013)? I understand the total processing time is ard 3 months (from sign agreement with seller to make 1st appoinment w/ hdb to 2nd appointment n collecting key), pls advise if this is correct?
        If it's 3 months, say if we starts lookin in feb 2012 n found the flat at end of mar 2012, i should have enough time to finish the buying process by end of june, thus can use the address in p1 reg in july 2012?
        (and yes, we will stay in the resale flat permanently, not just for registering only :))

Secondly, if it's private property, how does the timeline like?

Many many thanks in advance 🙂
        you need to show the address on your NRIC, so work backward from there

private ppty around 12 weeks from option date to completion, assuming no hiccup, loan approval, searches return etc

for resale HDB - to me is more risky - may not find a suitable unit within the time frame based on processing date etc.....market is fickle...if you can get one now, why delay ?

• mum2bM Offline
          mum2b

Hi Verykiasu2010,

Dd’s cc is in the west (near our current place), the area we are aiming to move is near central n i prefer her to stay in her current cc as she likes it n the cc is good. Furthermore, she’s almost k2 so i think it’s better not to start a new environnent at this stage, especially dd always takes more than a few months to adjust to new environment each time. She also has best friends there, loves the teachers, etc.
          So i’d like to put up the move till the latest possible.
          I know this sounds stupid… Sigh.

Btw, if we are in the middle of waiting for 2nd appt with hdb, can we use this document to register for P1 using the new address?

mum2b:
            Hi Verykiasu2010,

Dd's cc is in the west (near our current place), the area we are aiming to move is near central n i prefer her to stay in her current cc as she likes it n the cc is good. Furthermore, she's almost k2 so i think it's better not to start a new environnent at this stage, especially dd always takes more than a few months to adjust to new environment each time. She also has best friends there, loves the teachers, etc.
            So i'd like to put up the move till the latest possible.
            I know this sounds stupid... Sigh.

Btw, if we are in the middle of waiting for 2nd appt with hdb, can we use this document to register for P1 using the new address?
            don't think so. you don't own the place till you get the keys

anything can happen before the final completion, seller can back out, no ?

kids do adapt very well. if you move early you can still use the current c.c., just more inconvenient on daily commuting for the time being

looks like you are going by distance.....be aware of the balloting statistics of the school you are aiming for

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

hi mum2b

The new home address can be used provided that you are able to produce evidence from the relevant authority that you have committed to the purchase of this property.

In the case of private property, you must produce the original copy of the Sales and Purchase Agreement. The date of commitment by the developer in the Temporary Occupation Permit (T.O.P) must not be later than 31 Dec of P2 year.

In the case of HDB flat, the Agreement for Lease is required.

Parents must move into the new property within two years of the child’s entry into Primary One otherwise the child will be transferred out of the school.

• mum2bM Offline
                mum2b

Hi tankee,

Agreement for Lease for resale hdb is obtained after finished 2nd appt n collecting key?

Verykiasu2010,
                Ya lor, the daily commuting will b a nightmare if we move in early.
                Thanks for the reminder.

dorisp

mum2b:
                  Agreement for Lease for resale hdb is obtained after finished 2nd appt n collecting key?
                  You could perhaps check this with your agent or HDB.

😄

my friend seeks advice here ...

can she do the following ?
                    ========================

her son entering P1 2013 soon.

suppose she first rent a house < 1 km from ACS (nearest condo) & manage to ballot, get in successfully under phase 2C < 1 km, stay there 6 months.

but 6 months later (can't tahan the expensive condo rental $ after 6 months) - give up rental place, shift back to her original house > 2km (in Jurong).

will MOE duty officer do random spot check - on all parents renting houses ?

6 months later - if officer discover that she had shifted back to original house > 2km, will they expel her son from ACS?

or is there a minimum period like must stay in that rented place for at least 1 year - before can shift house again ? Then you won't be caught.

jtoh

========================

suppose she first rent a house < 1 km from ACS (nearest condo) & manage to ballot, get in successfully under phase 2C < 1 km, stay there 6 months.

but 6 months later (can't tahan the expensive condo rental $ after 6 months) - give up rental place, shift back to her original house > 2km (in Jurong).

6 months later - if officer discover that she had shifted back to original house > 2km, will they expel her son from ACS?

or is there a minimum period like must stay in that rented place for at least 1 year - before can shift house again ? Then you won't be caught.
                      Well... you're supposed to register with the permanent address you intend to stay at. In your friend's case, I'm sure they would have calculated in advance whether they can afford to rent a place near ACS for the duration of the kids' primary education. Rents there are very expensive and no one takes it likely. To suddenly realize that you can't upkeep the rent after 6 months will raise eyebrows.

There have been cases in the past where they've asked kids to leave the school because of false declarations.

========================

the shift there 6 months find too expensive then shift back to original place sounds very hollow and sounds like a scam

what was the purpose of shifting to within 1 km ? to be near to school, right ? then why shift back to original place ? surely there are places less expensive but may be just between 1 km to 2 km of the school to shift too ? Wouldn't the original place tenanted out liao ? wah, suka suka shift there shift back does not hold water lah .... if got whistle blower - sure kena investigate and the child kena transfer out

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 78 / 238

RenevaAcademyR
                        RenevaAcademy
                        jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo
                        PPBearP
                        PPBear