Actually the gep scheme is to identify these children n offer them a more challeging environment. That's y there r gep schools, the rest of the schools have different prog n focus. Afterall resources are limited, the schools have to specialise to achieve results.

:congrats: drickymummy!!E3:
:congrats: drickymummy. You've got pm.
So fast talking about BBQ stuff oredi huh? :rotflmao:
This time we have at least 3 (or more) got into GEP, the BBQ can be quite sumptuous, so can dhl some satay sauce or otah otah over here anot? I cannot find even the frozen ones here.

...arh..why happymama so quiet arh? -
Drickymummy,
Could it be that since MOE’s plan is for all GEP qualified students to accept the offer, PH should not/could not do anything to dissuade those students from leaving. After all, MOE is the boss and one shouldn’t go against the boss.
If you agree with my point, then you’ll see that it’s not that the sch doesn’t want to keep her best students. It’s ‘bo bian’. -
drickymummy:
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!First of all :congrats: to all those who got into GEP , especially E3 n Lingzhi!
Secondly, I guessed I have to help organize the BBQ Liao ....unexpectedly n still a shock to me, Ds got in too!
But hor not sure if the other GEP kids got tell u parents that T told them if u stay put in PH...they r only guaranteed to go 1st or 2nd class next yr only... Is that all sch is gg to offer us? -
:congrats: :congrats: to E3, Lizhi and drickymummy and their kids! Well done! :rahrah: :rahrah: See my 3 predictions came true!
5 from DD's class cleared round 2, but fortunately DD wasn't one of them. Like I mentioned, I'm already very proud of her for clearing round 1 and never expected her to clear round 2. In fact we were surprised to learn some top kids were not selected too. A few whom we thought were clear cut GEPpers from the top class didn't clear round 2. :?
DD was disappointed but I told her whatever happens, happens for a reason and if it wasn't meant for her, it wasn't. Staying on in the mainstream doesn't mean she's outcast or less smart. It's not the end of the world... It simply means she's not gifted. Having said that, with 16 of them leaving PH, it means DD has a high chance of getting into the \"heavenly\" class next year? :evil: :evil:
So when is the BBQ? -
Schools with only mainstream kids do not have resources (especially teachers) to teach these kids. For GEP, they need trained teachers to handle them. Thus, the best that PH can do is to put kids who choose to stay into the top 2 classes and offer them TTLT. Not possible to have tailored program for them due to limited resources. Also, if they have tailored program, won't they be separated from their friends? This doesn't make sense since this is most probably one of the reasons that they choose to stay behind.Drickymummy,
Could it be that since MOE's plan is for all GEP qualified students to accept the offer, PH should not/could not do anything to dissuade those students from leaving. After all, MOE is the boss and one shouldn't go against the boss.
If you agree with my point, then you'll see that it's not that the sch doesn't want to keep her best students. It's 'bo bian'. -
Happy Mama,:congrats: :congrats: to E3, Lizhi and drickymummy and their kids! Well done! :rahrah: :rahrah: See my 3 predictions came true!
5 from DD's class cleared round 2, but fortunately DD wasn't one of them. Like I mentioned, I'm already very proud of her for clearing round 1 and never expected her to clear round 2. In fact we were surprised to learn some top kids were not selected too. A few whom we thought were clear cut GEPpers from the top class didn't clear round 2. :?
DD was disappointed but I told her whatever happens, happens for a reason and if it wasn't meant for her, it wasn't. Staying on in the mainstream doesn't mean she's outcast or less smart. It's not the end of the world... It simply means she's not gifted. Having said that, with 16 of them leaving PH, it means DD has a high chance of getting into the \"heavenly\" class next year? :evil: :evil:
So when is the BBQ?
It's already 了不起of her to clear round 1. Haha. .. I didn't even clear it last time. Plus, we need kids like her to stay in PH to do us proud 3 yrs down the road. -
drickymummy:
drickymummy,First of all :congrats: to all those who got into GEP , especially E3 n Lingzhi!
Secondly, I guessed I have to help organize the BBQ Liao ....unexpectedly n still a shock to me, Ds got in too!
But hor not sure if the other GEP kids got tell u parents that T told them if u stay put in PH...they r only guaranteed to go 1st or 2nd class next yr only... Is that all sch is gg to offer us?
:congrats: :udawoman: -
IJJ:
This reminds me of my DS's K1 Maths teacher. DS was very bored in class last yr during her lessons. Instead of discouraging us in teaching him higher Maths, she encouraged DS in bringing some books that he loves to read/do.I am going to share something from my personal experience. Before I go ahead, I want to disclaim that my sharing has absolutely no intention of brag. Well, all gifts are given by the Lord.
Last year my eldest did not get into GEP. We were totally cool about it. Although we know that she is advanced in some areas, but well, there are always mountains higher.
This year, in Twk9, she did good for both CA1 and SA1 without any tuition (not much from my coaching). In her M1 maths classes, she ran into some boredom, too much that it is hard to be ignored. She could sleep through the classes and came alive during TTLT maths in the later afternoon. Of course, that did not go well with her maths teacher (also her FT). :roll:
I even was asked by the FT to stop teaching her higher maths (P5/6), the thing is, I never taught her. She figured the concepts through the old texts given by my churchmates. She soon find working on loads of maths worksheets meaningless. Her work was always in a mess (no heart to do lah). :slapshead:
This year, for some personal reasons, we sent her for a comprehensive assessment. The test result put her maths abilities in the 99.9 percentile and english (most components) at 99.0 percentile. Her intelligence scale well qualified for mensa membership. We were advised that such assessments could be recognised by MOE (please, don't pm me which institute or what test, check with moe directly what standard is accepted by them) to move her to a GEP class (with the psychiatrist's recommendation & assessment report). The psychiatrist advised us to do so in order to kill her boredom lest the boredom kills off her interest. We did not since we were moving.
If you intent to stay put a GEP child, please ask PH what can they do to accomodate such kid? They should work out a good plan not just sweep you away with a simple statement like, \"hey, we got TTLT!\" Get what I mean? :idea:
Knowing this, I actually slow down my pace in teaching DS. His K2 Maths teacher didn't say anything about him being more advanced this yr. Thus, I guess he is now on par with his peers.
One question, if a kid is more advanced in English and Maths and moved to GEP, how about Chinese and Science? These are important too as all the 4 subjects are graded during PSLE and we know some kids are not good in Chinese. -
Since, we are the topics of GEP, I just want to share that not all GEP kids selected are suitable for GEP. I heard of two kids from PHPPS have left GEP. One of them is a girl that I knew was a very talented one and always in the top 3 position in PHPPS. I don’t really know the reasons why she left except that she has a very ‘trying’ time in that GEP school. Actually, I was very shocked to hear this as I never thought that she will have problem in GEP. One of the reasons I guess is that she might have difficult finding friends. You see, in some popular GEP school, it could be a whole class consists of their own students and it might be difficult to click with them. Couple with tough academic subjects/projects/assignments, it might be really lonely for her.
The other one is a boy who I don’t know much except he is not the top scorer type but a very bright one.
My dd still misses PHPPS very much and keeps on saying how she wished that PHPPS has GEP. My dd is very blessed in the sense that one of her GEP best friends now is from PHPPS. Bec of this, it has made her GEP journey more enjoyable.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.