Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      24hr-mum

she replied me only on monday (i msged on sat nite) saying she stil adjusting

my dh say the new plc must be no gd, that’s why take so long to reply…
      otherwise she will straightaway say good. wont take so long to reply cos she chks her hp every now and then even during the day when i am around, even
      using facebk…during the pockets of time after major tasks are done…
      welll, angmoh is not so easy to serve too. they are not asians, they may not be bothered wf taking care of their maids… its a different culture

autumnbronze

pqy:
        Hi autumnbronze & ZuEn, tks for your assurance. After called the MOM and received your replies. Now i felt not so worry. Tq 🙂

No worries pqy :hugs:

peapot

Actually it’s quite true, I heard alot of cases where the maid only give black face to the wife and not to husband. I wonder why?

LOLMum

hoping to take the place of the wife? happened before.

hquek

no la. in their culture, the man is breadwinner and therefore king mah. So have to get on good books of the breadwinner. My fren kena that and that’s what she told me.

Breadandmuffins

24hr-mum:
                she replied me only on monday (i msged on sat nite) saying she stil adjusting

my dh say the new plc must be no gd, that's why take so long to reply.....
                otherwise she will straightaway say good. wont take so long to reply cos she chks her hp every now and then even during the day when i am around, even
                using facebk.......during the pockets of time after major tasks are done...
                welll, angmoh is not so easy to serve too. they are not asians, they may not be bothered wf taking care of their maids.... its a different culture
                When they start with new employer, they probably do not dare to use the HP as often as now. I doubt mine dare to check her phone when she starts w ith new employer. I think its good for a long time maid to start all over again when they became like the queen of the house.

Not only do I faced the black face, she also does not answer me sometimes. For DH, she dare not black face nor ignore...When she goes over, I see how is she going to \"black face\"or ignore the mam....will get sack straightaway.

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

my ex-maid does not blackface to my dh either

she reply my sat’s msg on a monday 11am morning. wow. must be the mdm not around…

SMH FOREST

Sigh...

Feeling very exasperated already. My helper of 3 mths has been cutting corners, telling white lies for every single thing that she didn't do. I really wonder if i should even try to tahan and keep her longer..

when she first came, i specifically mentioned some key places whereby i'm very particular with in terms of housekeeping. the shower area gotta be scrubbed 2x a week and the shower fittings must be dried with a dry cloth to prevent water marks and stains on the faucet etc. (my place is new so i wanted to keep it new as long as possible) I'm not one who goes ard spot checking every single thing that my helper does... so, after the initial instructions as well as monitoring and check of probably ard 2 times in the first mth.. i didn't check again on how she has been cleaning the shower.

1) yday i noticed that the shower faucet has got water marks that are stuck and cldn't be easily rubbed off... asked her and she insists that it cannot be removed. i used my nails and managed to scratch some off and asked why she didnt clean it properly as told.

2) also, the rain shower head is also not cleaned, has water marks and is all blurry due to dirt. her reply was just that she sometimes cleaned it, but sometimes dont. and the best comment i ever got from her is, if she touches the rain shower head, water will drip on her!! :stompfeet: i replied her, OH? and so u didn't clean it for fear that u will get wet? :mad:

3) today, came home and saw that the rain shower head is still not cleaned (she claimed that she will clean today). before i asked her abt it, i asked if she cleaned today and she says yes. showed her the same dirt on the rain shower, and she says she cleaned... so i asked.. what is that dirt over there? she initially said it cant be removed. then when i said that it looks just like the state from yday, then she agree tat she must have missed that out.

4) found that the wall tiles have mould growing on them today. questioned her and her reply was that she sometimes scrub them only. this is in contrast to my very specific instructions on paper and verbally that the walls must be scrubbed 2x a week. her insolent reply was, if she scrub, she will be late and cannot finish other tasks. i am totally appalled by that because on the 2 weekdays whereby she is doing a BIG wash of the toilets, i have no other major housewk planned for her! *note, her main job is housework and then to learn how to cook. my son is in childcare and i am the main caregiver, so why no time?? i cannot understand.

5) found that the window at the shower area has got dirt running through the window tracks! again, she completely ignores it though i have also specified to clean 2x a week!

the above is the very obvious disregard of my instructions to her... and this is on top of her many white lies told just to cover her mistakes. i am really quite fed up at this point and am thinking of sending her off... but no doubt abt the faults, she knows our schedule after being with us for 3 mths... and the thought of getting a new one, not knowing how she will be, retraining and readjusting is another very daunting thought...

really feeling v distressed with the hiring of maids.. is it so hard to get reasonable help nowadays? :frustrated: i really think its time to let her go.. but i think my other family members would rather live with the issues.. but her main tasks is housework isn't it? and if she isn't doing them, why am i keeping her???

PrincessAriel

SMH Forest, can change maid?

Breadandmuffins

Yesterday, I finally "burst out" at my maid for shouting at my DS2. DS2 needed to get changed after she showered him and DD2 needed to be cleaned up. I was getting ready to send DD1 to class. So she went to cleaned DD2 and ignored DS2 who pestered her to wear clothes for him. She flared up at DS2 ad shouted at him not once but twice. I gathered all 3 of them to the door to get out of the house and b4 I left, I scolded her for the first time (after bearing with her shouting for 1yr plus). I told her even if the kids pestered u and u hv to handle both, u should not shout at him, its your job to handle them. She stared at me with anger and answered back.I told her when u go to new employer, I see how u can shout at the kids when you have to handle both at the same time. Last time, she would just tell them to wait. Last yr or so, its like shouting and nagging at them all the time. The kids were out with me fr 10.30am till 1pm. She had her peaceful time at home to slowly do work. Within an hr after I stepped in , she did this and I was really mad, cos I hate to come back to a house with people shouting at my kids. I then left with 3 kids at 2.30pm till 4pm and then from 4.15 to 5pm with 1kid and the other 2 having tennis lesson , she had the whole house to herself again. So why the frustration, I really cannot understand.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 635 / 1032