Parenting Books

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    29 Posts 23 Posters 11.6k Views 1 Watching
      fussyMummy

Original Title: Books for How to be a Good Mummy / Daddy

Hi All,

Just want to know is there any daddy / mummy search and read those books regarding \"parenting\" ?

I do, but my friends said I am super kiasu... is that so? :roll:

schellen

You’re not. I read and bought many parenting books too when I had DD1 some years back. Since I did most of the sourcing and reading, I would only recommend certain books or techniques to DH if I thought they were worth trying out. The best way is to know your child well enough first so that you can apply the most appropriate techniques. In this way, you spend less time on trial-and-error. Now that I’m expecting DD2, I will probably refresh my memory by re-reading the books that I have. We do expect DD2 to be different from DD1 so we’ll have to observe and go the trial-and-error route until we understand her better.

mummy of 2

I do too. And I don't think it's being kiasu. After all we study for so many years to be employable. Surely you need more preparation to be a good parent, right? Since there are no courses for parenting, we have to turn to books, internet, tap on the experience of other parents. This is called being prepared 😄

hquek

I only started reading when DS2 is 1+ and DS1 3+, and totally regretted not starting earlier. So many mistakes could have been avoided…luckily, it’s still not too late. From time to time, I have to remind myself on what I had read so as not to go back to the same route.

winth

fussyMummy:
              Hi All,

Just want to know is there any daddy / mummy search and read those books regarding \"parenting\" ?

Nope, you are not super kiasu. It's called 'acquisition of parenting knowledge' before venturing into the 'unknown - your child'.

I don't read parenting books lar, most are acquired via website and articles. The parenting books kinda bore me so I prefer to go through Internet for summarised articles and research papers.

Your friends are singles or newly married with no children yet izzit? They dunno what is called 'die' only until they've reached that stage. I have loads of friends who dunno what I was doing then until they've experienced it themselves. So, if they dun understand your frequency and what you're preparing for, just be geared up for laughing session when it's their turn lor. :lol: (kidding la, just try to tell them lor, if they still dun understand, just take it easy but don't doubt yourself)

Up till now, DH and I are still sharing articles (from various sources) on how to be good spouses and good parents.

Don't be discouraged for pre-preparing for the future. You will be rewarded in multiple folds later.

• E Offline
                Eagle-Ladybird

Nothing's wrong . . I read them too, especially on long flights. How else do you improve ?? 😄

fussyMummy:
                  Hi All,

I hoard loads of parenting books and teaching children books
                  till TODAY! So your answer to the 1st question is YES, YES, YES! 😉

Your friends, are they married?
                  Got kids? 😐

buds got a whole closet-ful of
                  em' goodies... good for any
                  time of the day reference and
                  ideas... on top of the wealth on
                  the internet. 😉

So, like how Michael Jackson wud
                  have said/sang it... You are not
                  aloooone... buds is here with you..

Uhm... wait a minute... :idea: If you
                  are already termed super kiasu, then
                  what does that make me? 😐 Kiasu queen?

😐 Kiasu queen?

Kiasu Empress Dowager? :siam:

Anyway, nothing kiasu about wanting to be effective parents. To be conscious and conscientious cannot go very wrong.
                    No doubt at the end of the day, parenting is indeed trial and error as each child is different, the development milestones are vastly different too but still good to know some broad theories.....

Btw, kiasuparents forum has a wealth of knowledge on kids raising and you get all the best KS tips here, not kidding hor. 😄

Personally I only read \"What to expect in the first year\" in a book form(that was a gift), all the rest via Internet, reason being parenting tips also move with times, can expire or new knowledge added... For example, how to deal with H1N1...this is latest and greatest....how to find in books? :lol:

Kiasu Empress Dowager? :siam:

Wah seh!! :!:

Niwae, you said it all in a nutshell ks2me.
                      I couldn't have said it better. :salute:

I agree with all you've mentioned! :celebrate:

mintcc

fussyMummy:
                        Hi All,

no lah, not super kiasu lah...I read those too...must read other wise I totally clueless about lots of things leh... may be we can start shaing our books...may be one day can have book swap :idea:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 3