Well said, Mark! :goodpost:markfch:
The fact is, we lived in a competitive society. And the school - in an indirect way - is a reflection of society. Ultimately, it's up to us parents to teach our kids that their worthiness in life is not measured by how well they do in exams. Who's to say that just because so-and-so is in the bottom strata, he will not make it in life? This only happens if we as parents allow our children to think this way, which is very wrong.
A child with very average results but with an abundance of confidence will do better in life than a child with good results but always worried about failing. This, I've no doubt.
I would also like to highlight that different kids 开窍 at different pace. Take DD for example. She wasn't as good when she first entered Pri 1, but now, she has made a quantum leap and progressed on to top 20 position in standard (based on our findings). So parents, don't despair and don't give up if your kids have not 开窍. 继续加油!!!
Hi Happymama,
It's encouraging to know that there is still hope to be able to make good progress later on.
Do they stream every year now ? Top 20 - that would mean in the top class I suppose (Charity).
For a P3 kid, how long can we expect a kid to sit down and do the assigned task (assessment) assuming say 10 pages of math ? -
hl124273:
Well said, Mark! :goodpost:Happy Mama:
[quote=\"markfch\"]The fact is, we lived in a competitive society. And the school - in an indirect way - is a reflection of society. Ultimately, it's up to us parents to teach our kids that their worthiness in life is not measured by how well they do in exams. Who's to say that just because so-and-so is in the bottom strata, he will not make it in life? This only happens if we as parents allow our children to think this way, which is very wrong.
A child with very average results but with an abundance of confidence will do better in life than a child with good results but always worried about failing. This, I've no doubt.
I would also like to highlight that different kids 开窍 at different pace. Take DD for example. She wasn't as good when she first entered Pri 1, but now, she has made a quantum leap and progressed on to top 20 position in standard (based on our findings). So parents, don't despair and don't give up if your kids have not 开窍. 继续加油!!!
Hi Happymama,
It's encouraging to know that there is still hope to be able to make good progress later on.
Do they stream every year now ? Top 20 - that would mean in the top class I suppose (Charity).
For a P3 kid, how long can we expect a kid to sit down and do the assigned task (assessment) assuming say 10 pages of math ?[/quote]Hi, you shd focus on quality work rather than quantity work...kid must know the concept and techniques in solving them...every assigned task must have an objective and whether the objective is achieved at the end of the task. once he/she understands the concept and the techniques, then comes perfection...expose them to as many types of questions as possible....focus on speed and accuracy......meaning be careful and doing right at the first attempt.....
so, parents play a part in assigning the task....not just throw the assessment book to the kid and telling him/her to finish 10/20 pages daily.....
this is just my thought and other parents may have different views..... -
Brota Mark ....
Not bad leh. I typed in a post and 3 people - including my bro php who likes to suan me - said good post. :imcool:
Maybe I should type less nonsensical and more solemn posts ........ hahaha ....... just kidding.
Really Easy ....
Tear A Page from Brota Trap's Chapter,
And Start Writing ....
Reflections!
Year End is Here Again!
It's still early for any reflection, right Bro Trap ?Trapwithin:
[quote=\"IJJ\"]Talking about reflection, eh..where is Uncl....Bro trap?
Coming coming
Very busy at work .. just returned from overseas trip ... still suffering from jetlag. Maybe in Dec.
After Christmas, that would be a better time. For now, it's work and play.[/quote]Yea ... now relax :imcool: -
Can can .. but remember to pay me royalty ... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Brota Mark ....markfch:
Not bad leh. I typed in a post and 3 people - including my bro php who likes to suan me - said good post. :imcool:
Maybe I should type less nonsensical and more solemn posts ........ hahaha ....... just kidding.
Really Easy ....
And Start Writing ....
Reflections!
Year End is Here Again!

Trapwithin:
Wow that's rocket leap ... Congrats.Happy Mama:
[quote=\"IJJ\"] :congrats: to happymama! Top 20 in PH is 'dun play play' catergory hor!
:thankyou: IJJ.
Next year would be Top 10 liao .... Jia you :rahrah: :rahrah:[/quote]Yes, quite possible.
加油! :rahrah:
IJJ:
Bro Mark, you should write a reflection too. Talking about reflection, eh..where is Uncl....Bro trap?Funx3:
Soli, reflection is bro Trap's job. My job is to create silly little humour mingled with the occasional serious posts to remind people that I'm an adult.Brota Mark ....
Really Easy ....
And Start Writing ....
Reflections!
Year End is Here Again!

Trapwithin:
Pay using KS points can ornot? I still got 2,000 over points and don't know what to do with it.Can can .. but remember to pay me royalty ... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
IJJ:
Yalor yalor, top 20 in PH is minimally T-score 260+ and above. What about we hold the next gathering in Happy Mama's house. I want to see how does a top 20 student look like? :siam::congrats: to happymama! Top 20 in PH is 'dun play play' catergory hor!
drickymummy:
I recalled you mentioning that your ds STAR grading was 4.x at P1. That's P4 reading standard at P1 rite? Considering that he reads independently only in 2nd half of K2, that's very fast progress. No wonder he's in GEP.
He can barely read independent till almost 2nd half of K2 with v simple books..but he just picked up in improved by the time he is in P1.. Read alot with your kid to encourage reading habits, introduce variety of books..I made a big mistake of doing almost all genre in English except Chinese! -
hl124273:
Hi hl124273, yes she will be in the top class next year, but they now call it 4 Teamwork 9 instead of Charity 4. During DD's time, they were streamed when they were in Pri 1. The kids now are luckier, streamed at Pri 2.Hi Happymama, It's encouraging to know that there is still hope to be able to make good progress later on.
For a P3 kid, how long can we expect a kid to sit down and do the assigned task (assessment) assuming say 10 pages of math ?
As for your other question, I share the same sentiments as php.
E3:
Yes, quite possible.
加油! :rahrah:
Thanks for your encouragement and 加油, E3.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.