Raffles Institution (Year 1-4)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    7.2k Posts 652 Posters 2.6m Views 2 Watching
      Paddy Field

Hi Justmewayne,

My boy will be joining the RI family next year. Some questions I hope u can help clarify …

1) Is it possible for a pupil to take only 1 core CCA?
      2) what is e diff between PE Shirt n CCA shirt? When can a pupil wear them? How many sets of each does one need?
      3) do u happen to know e book list for the Year 1? Is the booklist the same across e broad or will the gep classes have separate list?
      4) I heard that RI year 1s study 三国演义 for HCL. Is it true?

Thank you for your help …

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
        PiggyLalala

Paddy Field:
        Hi Justmewayne,

My boy will be joining the RI family next year. Some questions I hope u can help clarify ..

2) what is e diff between PE Shirt n CCA shirt? When can a pupil wear them? How many sets of each does one need?
        3) do u happen to know e book list for the Year 1? Is the booklist the same across e broad or will the gep classes have separate list?

Thank you for your help ..
        Maybe i can help to answer some of the questions:
        1) Yes, many students in fact have only one core CCA, if i am not wrong.
        2) My ds only wears PE attire for his PE lessons. Not too sure whether you can wear the CCA or class t-shirt for PE.
        3) I think the booklist is same across the level.
        4) Yes, the year 1 is given a few chinese classics, san guo and liao zai are 2 of them to read. Just need to buy one and read it during the june holidays. To check on their understanding, the boys have to sit for a chinese test based on the books that they have bought.

Paddy Field

PiggyLalala:
          Paddy Field:

Hi Justmewayne,

My boy will be joining the RI family next year. Some questions I hope u can help clarify ..

2) My ds only wears PE attire for his PE lessons. Not too sure whether you can wear the CCA or class t-shirt for PE.
          4) Yes, the year 1 is given a few chinese classics, san guo and liao zai are 2 of them to read. Just need to buy one and read it during the june holidays. To check on their understanding, the boys have to sit for a chinese test based on the books that they have bought.

Thanks PiggyLalala.

I am very confused over the shirts they have. How many diff kinds of shirts do they require. I heard of PE, CCA n now u mentioned class t-shirt? Are all PE shirts e same or do they have house? What about CCA shirt? Each CCA has their own shirt or it is e same across e broad?

Do u happen to know the booklist? I m hoping to get e books first as my hubby cannot go w me on reporting day due to work. If can get first, it will reduce my load n stress that day.

As for the Chinese classic, u mean e school will provide e books or we have to get it on our own? So during the HCL lessons, they will be using the same text as all other schools?

Sorry for e many questions .. Pardon this first time sec school mummy ..

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
            PiggyLalala

Paddy Field:
            PiggyLalala:

[quote=\"Paddy Field\"]Hi Justmewayne,

Thanks PiggyLalala.

I am very confused over the shirts they have. How many diff kinds of shirts do they require. I heard of PE, CCA n now u mentioned class t-shirt? Are all PE shirts e same or do they have house? What about CCA shirt? Each CCA has their own shirt or it is e same across e broad?

Do u happen to know the booklist? I m hoping to get e books first as my hubby cannot go w me on reporting day due to work. If can get first, it will reduce my load n stress that day.

As for the Chinese classic, u mean e school will provide e books or we have to get it on our own? So during the HCL lessons, they will be using the same text as all other schools?

Sorry for e many questions .. Pardon this first time sec school mummy ..[/quote]ds said you can only wear PE or house Tshirt for PE. CCA and class-tshirt are not allowed during PE lessons. Each CCA has their own t-shirt.

Not too sure if I still have the booklist.

The chinese teacher will ask the boys to pick the book that they would like to read and they can purchase it from the school. Yes, during the HCL lesson, they will be using the normal chinese HCL textbook and workbooks.

justmewayne

MandyMummy:
              Heard some RI year 1-4 students kenna retained. Anybody knows and can confirm? :scared:

Yes it was announced that a few Year 4s were retained this year, not that I know any names.
              The school has become stricter in allowing Year 4s to move on to the JC section because those who scored badly in Year 4 continued to fare badly even in the 'A' levels.
              I have one classmate who almost didn't manage to move on to JC (his GPA was exactly 2.0). For the past two years, form/subject teachers have been helping him. The teachers also kept constant communication with his parents too. Basically, what I'm saying is that there will be warning signs and you shouldn't be too worried.
              Personally, the worst cases would be those students who aren't weak enough to warrant attention, but not scoring high enough too (i.e. those below-average). I think for these cases it would be up to the parents/student to really get the teacher's attention and guidance. One way to tell if your son falls in this category would be to check the report cards. Alot of parents only care about the GPA and whether its a 4.0 or a 3.6. However, its more important to look at the Percentile, as that would be a more accurate gauge of your son's results (e.g. I scored a 4.0/85% for Biology, but I am in the 50-59th Percentile, meaning I am only slightly above average for this subject.), and see whether your son needs any more help in the subject. Case in point: My Math results were below-average in Year 1/2, and my math teacher didn't really pinpoint me as a weak student. Only when my Math results continued to drop in Year 3 did my new Math teacher start paying attention. Luckily for me I managed to pull up my results, but for some students it may be too late.

justmewayne

Maybe I can answer the question regarding the various T-shirts.

School Uniform (White Short-sleeve Shirt + White Short Pants): Worn in school during lessons, when reporting for school, after school.

PE Uniform (Green/White Dri-Fit T-Shirt + Black PE Pants): Worn during PE lessons, and during CCA if your son is in Sports/Uniformed Group. Note: some primary schools allow students to report to school in PE uniform if there is PE that day. However, in RI, students will change into/out of their PE uniforms before/after PE lessons.

House T-Shirt (varied colours, has the house name below the school crest infront.): Worn during inter-house events. Can be paired with the Black PE Pants and worn during PE/CCA. Note: Do not buy during Orientation/Registration Day, as your son has not been allocated a house yet. Only buy in mid-January next year.

Class T-shirt: A class may choose to make their own class t-shirt, and they design and send the shirt for manufacturing themselves. Cannot be worn during PE lessons/CCA. Only can be worn during inter-class competitions. Some classes may not have the class spirit to work together to make the shirt though. Though if your son’s class is making a shirt, its best to let him buy and feel like part of the class. Its like a sort of memento.

CCA T-shirt: Similar to Class T-shirt, each CCA will design and make their own. Like a memento, and helps CCA mates to bond together, and gives them a sense of belonging. Cannot be worn during PE. Different CCAs have their own rules on when to wear the shirt.

As such, you only need to purchase PE and School Uniform. The rest of the shirts will take care of themselves as time passes. There are two PE lessons a week, so minimum two sets of PE uniform. If your son is joining a Sports/Uniformed Group CCA, you may need to purchase more PE uniform. However also take into account that the PE uniform dries very fast and as such you may be able to wear the same set twice a week if you do some planning.
                School Uniform is worn 5 times a week, so decision is yours.

justmewayne

Also, regarding your worry about book purchasing on Registration Day, I really suggest you don’t purchase books/uniform on that day. There’s always a long queue and its really tiring to purchase everything and squeeze with all the other kiasu parents (pun intended). It’ll definitely be better for you to just register, and come back another day to purchase.

Paddy Field

Your explanation n clarification certainly helps a great deal …

Do u know if e booklist for Yr 1 will be out on RI website or do the pupils get it only on registration?

All e best to you in JC section.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                      PiggyLalala

Paddy Field:
                      Your explanation n clarification certainly helps a great deal ...

Do u know if e booklist for Yr 1 will be out on RI website or do the pupils get it only on registration?

All e best to you in JC section.
                      Hi paddy field,
                      have sent you a pm. Please check.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                        PiggyLalala

justmewayne:
                        MandyMummy:

Heard some RI year 1-4 students kenna retained. Anybody knows and can confirm? :scared:

Yes it was announced that a few Year 4s were retained this year, not that I know any names.
                        The school has become stricter in allowing Year 4s to move on to the JC section because those who scored badly in Year 4 continued to fare badly even in the 'A' levels.
                        I have one classmate who almost didn't manage to move on to JC (his GPA was exactly 2.0). For the past two years, form/subject teachers have been helping him. The teachers also kept constant communication with his parents too. Basically, what I'm saying is that there will be warning signs and you shouldn't be too worried.
                        Personally, the worst cases would be those students who aren't weak enough to warrant attention, but not scoring high enough too (i.e. those below-average). I think for these cases it would be up to the parents/student to really get the teacher's attention and guidance. One way to tell if your son falls in this category would be to check the report cards. Alot of parents only care about the GPA and whether its a 4.0 or a 3.6. However, its more important to look at the Percentile, as that would be a more accurate gauge of your son's results (e.g. I scored a 4.0/85% for Biology, but I am in the 50-59th Percentile, meaning I am only slightly above average for this subject.), and see whether your son needs any more help in the subject. Case in point: My Math results were below-average in Year 1/2, and my math teacher didn't really pinpoint me as a weak student. Only when my Math results continued to drop in Year 3 did my new Math teacher start paying attention. Luckily for me I managed to pull up my results, but for some students it may be too late.

Agree with you that, beside looking at the gpa score, we have to look at the percentile too. Any suggestions on how to improve chinese. I think my ds is in 40th - 49th percentile . 😞

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 120 / 722

chenlaoshiC
                        chenlaoshi
                        Amber2018A
                        Amber2018