2009 GEP Screening And Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    2.0k Posts 151 Posters 472.3k Views 1 Watching
      david59

Merlion:
      david59, what you said here is correct. GEP students do not have to take HCL if they do not feel like it. BUT I think your student did not explain in details to you. For those who are taking HCL, their chinese test paper is not the same as the mainstream HCL.

Yup, you are right. Tougher than the normal HCL. In fact, all subjects are more difficult than the normal schools; and esp. for Maths and Science are a few notches up. So when it came to PSLE, it was just a piece of cake for him.
      In fact, he is already offered a place to study in RI, Hwa Chong and NUS High. Others got stress whether can get to their dream school, he got stress which is the best choice to make. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

MdmKS

watmekiasu:

No leh. Don't want to raise hopes. Realise that chances of being selected is not high for my dd. First there's the unspoken 1:3 girl:boy quota. Then dd's only an above average student, not like some of her super-duper smart whizz kid friends - they scare the pants off me with their 98% average in every single exam since P1.
        Hard to say and you will never know ... in my school there were those who perceived as only above average in their academic performance, some even got filter out for P3 high-ability class at yr-end P2 screening, got selected. There were also those who perceived as super-duper and top top in their exam did not get in.

vlim

david59:
          Merlion:

david59, what you said here is correct. GEP students do not have to take HCL if they do not feel like it. BUT I think your student did not explain in details to you. For those who are taking HCL, their chinese test paper is not the same as the mainstream HCL.

Yup, you are right. Tougher than the normal HCL. In fact, all subjects are more difficult than the normal schools; and esp. for Maths and Science are a few notches up. So when it came to PSLE, it was just a piece of cake for him.
          In fact, he is already offered a place to study in RI, Hwa Chong and NUS High. Others got stress whether can get to their dream school, he got stress which is the best choice to make. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

oh congratulations!!! Keep us update of where he goes .. I hope my son can go RI in future.. :celebrate:

turquoise

MdmKS:
            watmekiasu:

No leh. Don't want to raise hopes. Realise that chances of being selected is not high for my dd. First there's the unspoken 1:3 girl:boy quota. Then dd's only an above average student, not like some of her super-duper smart whizz kid friends - they scare the pants off me with their 98% average in every single exam since P1.

Hard to say and you will never know ... in my school there were those who perceived as only above average in their academic performance, some even got filter out for P3 high-ability class at yr-end P2 screening, got selected. There were also those who perceived as super-duper and top top in their exam did not get in.

It's not surprising because in P1 & P2, and even in P3, so long as you are hardworking, even if you're not very smart, you can score very well during the exams.

On the other hand, someone with a high IQ may attain only average scores during the exams if that person doesn't bother to put in the effort to study for it. So this person will not have demonstrated his full ability.

The GEP test incorporates a general ability test and therefore students with higher IQs will score better. Your hardworking top student may not do as well because he may have an above average, but not high IQ.

kittybank

In fact, he is already offered a place to study in RI, Hwa Chong and NUS High. Others got stress whether can get to their dream school, he got stress which is the best choice to make. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:[/quote]

So how are you or him going to decide which school he's going to?

vlim

p4 gep students just finished their exams .. my son found the science exam very difficult as some question were not taught at all... would like to have feedback from parents of current p4 gep students. He found the chinese compre very difficult too πŸ™

Rosie

[quote]p4 gep students just finished their exams .. my son found the science exam very difficult as some question were not taught at all... would like to have feedback from parents of current p4 gep students. He found the chinese compre very difficult too [/quote]
                  My DD found the P4 GEP English, HML and Science papers manageable while Math was tough for her. She does not expect herself to meet the 70% passing mark for math. I told her if she has already done her best, then don't worry about the rest just relax and enjoy all the after-exam activities organised by her school. It has been a real challenging year for her...

Pita

My son found P4 GEP English, Science and Social Studies manageable, HML 1 compre passage was tough, Math tough. He is weak in HCL, not too bad with Math... :xedfingers:

cluelessmom

My DD found the the papers to be manageable..... but she is a born optimist....hahaha... she did comment that quite a handful of her classmates are not able to complete the maths paper and she could only jus complete in the nick of time so no time to check the answers :nailbite: ..... Think she like social studies the least cuz too many names, events, dates to memorize, feel bad for her...I am really no good with history too sia.... hahaha :xedfingers:

david59

wormy:

So how are you or him going to decide which school he's going to?[/quote]

I can't decide for him since he is just a student in my student care centre. But I did give him some advice lor. I asked him what drives him in studies? Is it the drive to compete and be amongst the best? If yes, then narrow down to RI or Hwa Chong. More Chinese cultural environment? Then HC.
                        As for NUS High, the system allows you to excel and accelerate as high up as you can any particular subject/s at your own pace. So a secondary school student can be studying a subject at A - level equivalent.
                        I guess he is more suitable for NUS High cos he is a very relax kind of guy. 😎 πŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 196

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring