Who opened the floodgates to immigrants?

85 Posts 32 Posters 16.5k Views 1 Watching
      pinky

By Lin Wenjian

The Manpower Ministry (MOM) has scrapped a scheme that gave foreign university graduates up to one year to land a job in Singapore, saying it has not met its aim of helping companies recruit good-calibre candidates.

With the discontinuation of the Employment Pass Eligibility Certificate (Epec) scheme, foreigners now have only three months - the duration of a visit pass they can apply for - to try to secure a job.

The move, which took effect from Dec 1, comes ahead of stricter requirements for Employment Pass (EP) applicants which will kick in on Jan 1.

Labour experts say the move is timely in the light of the global economic uncertainty. Singaporeans may now stand a better chance of getting a job with the reduced competition.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_742123.html

the person who introduced the above policy was responsible for opening the flood gate to immigrants
      this scheme has been around for almost 20 years already :evil:

dingdongrc

Actually... I hate to say this because I've never thought of myself as xenophobic but I get REALLY upset when I see PRC children peeing on grass verges outside the mall when all the parents need to do is to bring the child INTO the mall. It hardly takes 3 minutes. Firstly, the child bares his privates for all to see. Secondly, it is unhygienic for every passerby who needs to smell urine for the next 2 days.

?
        Op :oops: :oops: ps...I am a Singaporean and yes I am also guilty occassionally of allowing my 4 YO DS pee at the grass....

pinky:

By Lin Wenjian

The Manpower Ministry (MOM) has scrapped a scheme that gave foreign university graduates up to one year to land a job in Singapore, saying it has not met its aim of helping companies recruit good-calibre candidates.

With the discontinuation of the Employment Pass Eligibility Certificate (Epec) scheme, foreigners now have only three months - the duration of a visit pass they can apply for - to try to secure a job.

The move, which took effect from Dec 1, comes ahead of stricter requirements for Employment Pass (EP) applicants which will kick in on Jan 1.

Labour experts say the move is timely in the light of the global economic uncertainty. Singaporeans may now stand a better chance of getting a job with the reduced competition.

the person who introduced the above policy was responsible for opening the flood gate to immigrants

sure or not ? not to be mistaken with the foreigners who graduate from local uni hor

dovetail

These days, there are many prc's serving in food court stores. Once I ordered Chendol but that woman put so much ice until it was more like ice- kachang. :slapshead: Tasted lousy too. Another time, ordered Korean BBQ chicken set for my dd but it looked like it has chili. Told the woman perhaps she got it wrong, that I wanted BBQ version. She stared at me and asked me what is BBQ. :stupid:

Why do you think they don't quite like to integrate with the local Chinese? I often feel that they are quite aloof and tend to put on their guard when they talk to the locals. We are after all, the same race, right?

pinky

pinky:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]By Lin Wenjian

sure or not ? not to be mistaken with the foreigners who graduate from local uni hor[/quote]of course, this scheme started in 1992 and foreign graduates from an approved list of about 700 universities around the world are allowed to stay here for 1 year while looking for a job. A foreign graduate was taken aback by the change because he bought a one-way ticket here thinking that he can stay here for 1 year while attending job interviews. :evil:

pinky:

of course, this scheme started in 1992 and foreign graduates from an approved list of about 700 universities around the world are allowed to stay here for 1 year while looking for a job. A foreign graduate was taken aback by the change because he bought a one-way ticket here thinking that he can stay here for 1 year while attending job interviews. :evil:
                so we have been selling ourselves for the last 20 years

where to get the list of the 700 uni ?

peterch

pinky:

of course, this scheme started in 1992 and foreign graduates from an approved list of about 700 universities around the world are allowed to stay here for 1 year while looking for a job. A foreign graduate was taken aback by the change because he bought a one-way ticket here thinking that he can stay here for 1 year while attending job interviews. :evil:

so we have been selling ourselves for the last 20 years

where to get the list of the 700 uni ?

You can get the list from ICA website according to the country

Joule

dovetail:
                    These days, there are many prc's serving in food court stores. Once I ordered Chendol but that woman put so much ice until it was more like ice- kachang. :slapshead: Tasted lousy too. Another time, ordered Korean BBQ chicken set for my dd but it looked like it has chili. Told the woman perhaps she got it wrong, that I wanted BBQ version. She stared at me and asked me what is BBQ. :stupid:

Why do you think they don't quite like to integrate with the local Chinese? I often feel that they are quite aloof and tend to put on their guard when they talk to the locals. We are after all, the same race, right?
                    Hai yah. like that oso want to complain.

Lao Goh says that if there is no PRC serving at food court then food court prices go up because local don't want to do this job...

I don't want 2.50 ice kachang leh...

pepper spice

I was at a bank. The customer in the next counter is a PRC youth (22 years old). He wanted to apply for some debit card, I think, but could not understand a word of English. Naturally, he could not fill in the application form. The teller kindly helped him to fill in his particulars of name, birth date etc, using his passport. But when the teller reached the part on “highest educational level”, she did not know how to translate that into Chinese and so asked PRC youth in English “你的highest educational level是什么?The PRC youth shook his head. The teller look left, look right for help, so I ventured to help translate into “最高学历“。 The PRC man replied “大专”. Later I heard the teller asking the PRC youth very softly, 为什么你读到大专却不会英语,那你怎么在这里工作?

On another occasion, on a bus, a PRC woman asked another passenger (a local) where to alight to get to the community hospital in Toa Payoh. The passenger was not sure, so she suggested that the PRC woman ask the bus driver, but the PRC woman said she couldn’t speak English and the bus driver is a Malay.
                      Yesterday, I had my lunch at a small eatery in Chinatown. The next table was a big group of PRC uncles, talking loudly in their Beijing accent. The stallholder who made my bowl of laksa is also a PRC. Next to the eatery were 2 other stalls selling 麻辣面, 刀削面。
                      I believe I am not alone in this feeling, that I am a foreigner in this country that I had fondly called home in the past. It is now quite an alien home, no wonder, many of my friends are making plans to retire overseas.

blueblue

talking abt food courts…I think it is good Kopitiam tried to hire more Singaporeans instead of PRC.

The cleaners aunties at Kopitiam Compass Point are very hardworking and fast. Their culteries are well washed too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 9

Wonder-fulW
                        Wonder-ful
                        AllysmumA
                        Allysmum