PSLE 2012 - child has no interest to study
gulp...reading all these comments are
making me quesy..my DS is doing PSLE in 2012 too!! -
The TV is not the demon here. It’s self-restraint. LJas’ son can’t see the consequences of his lack of self-restraint and lack of motivation. He’s watching useless shows for the sake of watching. Perhaps he’s using the TV to escape from the stress of his real world - the exams. He doesn’t know any other way to manage this stress.
Parents must thus try to find ways to motivate him (go ask professionals like MindChamps etc), instead of focusing on his weak studies and trying to scare him into submission. Sometimes, getting outside help may turn the situation around. Some kids rather listen to a teacher than his own parents. -
For children who refuse to study, u can try what my old neighbour did. He caned his son so hard until the next block can hear him crying. Can also try chasing him out of the house.
Hi!
I don’t know can beat a P5/P6 child.I heard some kids so sensitive.
My son is going to P4 next year.
I tried all soft method with my son.didn’t work for long time.Then I strict with him, sometimes I caned him.He just lazy.One day I saw his laziness and beat him with my hand and told him that if I saw ur laziness I will beat u.After that his laziness reduced. -
I am of the view that frequent caning will have a negative impact in the long run. Parents should refrain from caning, unless the child has done something very, very bad. Wikipedia has some info on the possible negative effects of corporal punishment on the child. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corporal_punishment_in_the_home#Differing_views_about_parental_spanking
For kids who loves tv & computer, maybe can try those online websites activities? I bought the etutor chinese for my girl (her chinese is very poor).. they go according to the textbooks syllabus.. so i asked my girl to do her learning online, then learn to read & write the \"new words\" etc.. and do the 'practise' online.. once she finishes, she can do other online games for maybe 30-60mins..
Checkout some of interesting online websites and asked your child if he/she is interested and can try subscribing them.
Hope this helps
HoSayLiao:
For children who refuse to study, u can try what my old neighbour did. He caned his son so hard until the next block can hear him crying. Can also try chasing him out of the house.
Oh dear. What type of parenting style is this? Your old neighbour just want an easy way. Which usually won't works. -
mummy so kiasu:
The child deserves it. Parenting is not stylish lah. Everyone is entitled to our own way. Is there a right or wrong?HoSayLiao:
Oh dear. What type of parenting style is this? Your old neighbour just want an easy way. Which usually won't works. -
cherrygal:
The TV is not the demon here. It's self-restraint. LJas' son can't see the consequences of his lack of self-restraint and lack of motivation. He's watching useless shows for the sake of watching. Perhaps he's using the TV to escape from the stress of his real world - the exams. He doesn't know any other way to manage this stress.
Parents must thus try to find ways to motivate him (go ask professionals like MindChamps etc), instead of focusing on his weak studies and trying to scare him into submission. Sometimes, getting outside help may turn the situation around. Some kids rather listen to a teacher than his own parents.
Totally agreed ! Reasons why a child loses his motivation could be he is discouraged for getting poor grades after trying so hard ... That is why parents need to step in to help build his confidence by either coaching or engaging help in his studies. -
Hi Ljas1370
I think, at this point, you may want to try to motivate your son from another angle. As parents we'll naturally want to explain to kids how impt PSLE is and how they should be more responsible etc, in the hope that they WAKE UP :evil:
But to many kids, the more they hear this, the more they're put off. 12yos are still young and they don't all have the maturity to deal with something so big, scary... looming over their head, getting closer and closer... and worse... NO ESCAPE. Schools, parents, tutors, remind them again and again and again of the consequences of not doing well. They're made to feel they hold their future in their hands. So, better not screw up! Even I feel super sian typing that
It can be difficult to motivate kids this way. I think, you may want to focus on making him feel good about sitting down to studying first. And to do that, don't remind him about being responsible... the big deadline... the goal... the ultimate prize etc. Just set smaller, easier to achieve objectives (two pgs? one pg? one section?), so he can feel accomplished. That can go a long way in helping him to feel positive about studying.
I also want to suggest not scolding him about watching TV, and, try to refrain from criticisms and labels such as lazy when you're concerned and yelling :evil:. You want to be his champion and not his enemy right now, yeah? It's easier for both of you if he doesn't feel that he has to fight you. Your relationship with your son is not worth sacrificing over a *ahem* silly little exam. :siam:
Perhaps the TV is his escape mechanism and he can avoid the worried feelings every time he thinks about books, worksheets and exams, and the sighs he can predict coming from dad and mum...
I agree that TV is a distraction, but it's not the reason he's not studying. When kids say they'll rather watch TV than hit the books, it's really literally the truth. It's much more fun and a lot less work!
I don't think he'll gravitate to his books even if you remove the TV. If you get him to sit at the table and he tunes his mind out, starts daydreaming or goofing off, you still won't achieve your goal. He will need some form of relaxation: something to take his mind off, something to look forward to. Hmmm. Maybe a sport?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.