Ministerial Salary Review

396 Posts 47 Posters 74.3k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

Strparent:

Yes Chenonceau, you are right ....................................................................................................................you have no sense of humour :evil: :evil: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
      :nunchuk: :nunchuk: :nunchuk: :nunchuk: :nunchuk:

Wanna step outside? Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeya!

• 3 Offline
        3Boys

Nopie Ksi-rie... he likes it. Said so himself up there...

He just doesn't approve of monks in government. Maybe he'll like Proustian nuns ya think?

A bit of both lah......

Dear... you CAN'T have half a monk and half a nun. That's a travesty of nature.[/quote]

How about a monk AND a nun.........?

concern2

When I read it, I saw Mr. Brown, I didn't see Grace Fu, so I thought it was funny.

It IS funny. :hugs: I was just being prickly. I didn't mean to crash into your feelings either. Forgive.

No worries. :hugs:

Actually, I like MrBrown, so I think anything he says I will think it is funny. Yeah, I know, I am THAT superficial.

Chenonceau

How about a monk AND a nun.........?
            But you dun like monks!!

concern2

Strparent:

personally, I like this paragraph from http://alvinology.com/

http://i41.tinypic.com/afagc0.jpg\">
              Drums! Drums! :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

I really don't understand your beef here. Do you or do you not agree with the recommendations?

u r beginning to sound like d Minister (who was moved to look after floods n mosquitoes) when he demanded of d lovely MP Dr Lily Neo \"Wat do u want? u want to eat at a restaurant, foodcourt or HC?\" ๐Ÿ˜„
                Will the PM know what's going on in the committee? Of course he would! If he did not, it would be the height of incompetence and I would vote him out tomorrow.

So now having known what the comm is thinking, did he seek to influence it? Who knows? Perhaps yes, perhaps no. At the end of the day, he needs to live with the financial and political fall-out from the decision, so what's the big deal either way?
                Ok let me put it in another way. It makes a great difference in d final outcome if d committee start with a blank piece of paper compared with one having restrictive terms of references.
                IMV, it would hv been better dat d committee review d problem without any encumbrances or restrictive terms of reference, they can still debate on d recommendations in parliament n decide.
                D way dis was done is dat d signal has already been sent dat itโ€™s a done deal before any parliamentary debate.
                I agree dat dis review is a step in d right direction. But d way dis was done will raise some questions.

Let me throw you a wild card. Perhaps, just perhaps, he was afraid the comm would be too timid in making the cuts, and personally intervened to get the benchmark lower. How about that? My guess, completely unsubstantiated.....
                How about dis? It was LKY who first advocated d hefty pay increases in 1994 citing attracting talent n preventing graft as strong justifications. Dis was reinforced by SME GCT when he was PM. Is PM LHL now going to say his predecessors were wrong? Too deep a cut would make those earlier justifications indefensible. There has to be a political compromise.

But what you are saying is completely speculative leh....but you insist that there is more than a modicum of truth. Aren't you twisting the facts to fit your view....?

concern2

Strparent:

personally, I like this paragraph from http://alvinology.com/

http://i41.tinypic.com/afagc0.jpg\">

Drums! Drums! :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

Actually, the first thing that hit me when I read GF's comment was \"Oh, come on, it's not like you are going to join the oppositions, what privacy was she talking about? (actually, I didn't even knew who she was until then :oops: )

Way2GO

I donโ€™t really see what is wrong with Grace Fuโ€™s comments on her considerations to become an MP n her view on d Ministerial Salary review dat drew all dis mockery.

Her father was James Fu.
                    An interesting snippet is dat James Fu was left leaning, but he was spared detention during Operation Cold Store, n subsequently became press secretary to then PM LKY.

Strparent

actually, I didn't even knew who she was until then :oops:

concern2,

apart from about 14,100 voters living in Yuhua, I think majority also dunno who was graceful. ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://i44.tinypic.com/28kj4hw.jpg\">

concern2

I don't really see what is wrong with Grace Fu's comments on her considerations to become an MP n her view on d Ministerial Salary review dat drew all dis mockery.

Her father was James Fu.
                        An interesting snippet is dat James Fu was left leaning, but he was spared detention during Operation Cold Store, n subsequently became press secretary to then PM LKY.
                        Hm..I don't know GF's background. But I think the MPs need to be in touch with the ground to be able to gauge better what and how things should and can be said to be on the safe side - learn from the successful oppositions.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 20 / 40