Ministerial Salary Review
Sun_2010:
Cant resist saying this , but dun take it personally ok? :please: Case of the Grass is greener on the other side?
Tell me about it ,boy. Or better still, tell my husband about it! -
I was a bit surprised that they reported that the PM accepted the recommendations readily being reported at the same time, on the same page as the recommendations were made public. Thought the timing a bit odd. But then again I have the feeling that the good PM is eager to show that he willingly accepts the recommendations without challenging it at all. Once it goes public, thatβs it, he accepts. I am incline to take this positively. Also, most probably he would have already seen the final recommendations and is agreeable to it. Remember Big Brother has already implemented the Big Re-shuffle. He is unlikely to go backwards with the ministerial review now ya?
I like Lee Hsien Loong, my Proustian nun.
Lee Hsien Loong, hurray, hurray!
Ang Mo Kio, hurray, hurray!
:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: -
when the measure was first implemented, there had been warning bells, like what 3Boys is trying to do, but people have ignored...perhaps.
We were sleeping and not so politically aware mah.
:snooze: -
DesertWind:
we were not sleeping la, but we kay tio, cant do anything anyway. Maybe you missed the video earlier, I attached again for u.concern2:
when the measure was first implemented, there had been warning bells, like what 3Boys is trying to do, but people have ignored...perhaps.
We were sleeping and not so politically aware mah.
:snooze:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7ZJz0dxBJ4][/youtube]
also last time , boh internet social media, boh 6 WP opposition MPs, etc -
No lah... let the Auntie tell you lah... Grace Fu was MOLE planted by FBI (in cahoots with Kim Jong Il) to destabilise Singapore so that North Korea can bypass South Korea and stage a hegemonic takeover of the region. With Kim Jong Il's death, this plan needs to be urgently implemented because... ok... who can continue the story...
Wah piang ooi...I wanna peng san liow.....
:faint: -
so 3 Boys and a nun ..... :rotflmao: :siam:
But you dun like monks!!3Boys:
How about a monk AND a nun.........? -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: but I like thisReality
(1) PM appointed Committee.
(2) Committee make recommendation.
(3) PM take recommendation of Committee.
People say Committee in cahoots with PM because PM is boss. So people not happy.
Alternative Reality 1
(1) PM appointed Foreign Committee.
(2) Foreign Committee make recommendation.
(3) PM take recommendation of Foreign Committee.
People say Foreign Committee in cahoots with PM because they fren-fren. People not happy.
Alternative Reality 2
(1) PM appointed Alien Committee
(2) Alien Committee make recommendation.
(3) PM take recommendation of Alien Committee.
People say Aliens and PM do intergalactic golf together so cannot trust. People not happy.
Alternative Reality 3
(1) PM appointed Tan Jee Say Committee
(2) Tan Jee Say Committee make recommendation.
(3) PM take Tan Jee Say recommendation.
People say something wrong and maybe Tan Jee Say is a MOLE planted by PM to pretend to be opposition (after all Tan Jee Say used to be civil servant). People not happy.
If no trust is no trust. Sure can find reason to find bones in eggs.
How is the poor PM gonna get anyone to review the salary then? However he does it, he is still THE boss in Singapore... and he is still THE one to do the asking. No one is gonna come in guns-a-firing and force a committee on him ... and force him to beggarize himself. No Singaporean has the muscle to do that to PM. Only foreigners. If foreigners do that to our PM, they infringe on OUR rights as sovereign nation.
Where is the conspiracy? :? -
Or if she is really so easily misunderstood, then there is room for improvement in public communication skills for a minister. Perhaps some may feel that it is demanding on them but I always feel that politicians should always think 3 steps ahead before they share their thoughts to the public. It is a necessary skill and it requires both experience and brainpower so they are paid good package for a good reason
Because her comments sounded trite and trivial in light of the national issues that she's in charge of. :oops: As a Senior Minister of State, I don't think she should treat her public Facebook account like her personal blog.Mdm Koh:
[quote=\"Way2GO\"]I don't really see what is wrong with Grace Fu's comments on her considerations to become an MP n her view on d Ministerial Salary review dat drew all dis mockery.
Her father was James Fu.
An interesting snippet is dat James Fu was left leaning, but he was spared detention during Operation Cold Store, n subsequently became press secretary to then PM LKY.
.....this skill is more important than damage control which is the next skill required if they continue to create \"damages\" to themselves.
For us commoner, we can afford to think 3 steps behind.... :rotflmao:[/quote]Well said!
I think there is recognition that things have changed, and the incumbent have to react quickly. Unfortunately, \"for some reasons\", some ministers are not following closely, or fully awake yet, cos they were not in Aljunied GRC, or not under more intense competition of the hammer. (That's why I said Politics in Singapore is a booming industry - someone should start offering public relations courses, esp dealing with new media, or even traditional media as in SHT's case.)
I think PM has sat up. My gut feel is he has already had his mind set on the cut, the question is only how much, and he needed a good panel for the final confirmation.
Perhaps his quick reply was due to the fact that it wasn't peanuts to him? \"Heng Ah!!\" So better quickly say accept. Haha.
Just came across this video to share:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OI2xDx-fa8&NR=1&feature=endscreen -
Yours was a speculative wild card to suss me out, I knew dat.
No, your contention from the beginning is that 1) The quickness of the acceptance by political leaders is evidence of fore-knowledge of the outcome, and 2) That 1) implies that there was influence in the matter.Way2GO:
u threw me a wild card, I threw u one. Which is closer to d truth?
Neither of us at dis moment know d outline of dat brief.
1) is probably true, but you imply 2) also, which is completely speculative. I threw the wild card (which I never believed for a single minute) to show you how one can completely pull a theory out of the air, completely unsubstantiated and suddenly there is truth in it. Just because you don't know, doesn't mean it is the truth. Truth needs burden of proof. What you are proposing is innuendo, innuendo is not truth, some type of innuendo is in fact defamation. And what constitutes defamation is whether one intends to cause harm or cast doubt on one's reputation.
Are you trying to cast doubt on PM's integrity, that he had influenced the outcome by subterfuge, pulling wool over the eyes of the population? You don't have to answer that question.
I threw u a wild card in return n u replied thus?
I will answer ur question.
I never in any of my posts cast a doubt on LHL's integrity, nor said he influenced d outcome by subterfuge, I was simply telling u dat's how d game is played.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.