Cedar VS St Nicholas
St Nick new Principal come on board
http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/schoolnews/877352/Old_school_new_role.html
Nice that she's an old girl! I wonder if she's Catholic, bc not easy to find suitable catholic principals. Anyway, all principals for CHIJ schools have to also be chosen/approved by the CHIJ board. -
good that she's ex IJ.
once an IJ girl, always an IJ girl
now she's back as an IJ girl, in a different role to scale St Nick, to greater heights.
:rahrah: 
*hehe* I guess. I saw my dd has a cute t-shirt recently \"Old Girl\". hah.good that she's ex IJ.
I heard from a friend whose girls are there that she was the top scorer of her year in Singapore in the O levels. :udawoman:good that she's ex IJ.
now she's back as an IJ girl, in a different role to scale St Nick, to greater heights.
less kiasu liao:
I attended St Nicks Sec 1 'meet-the-parents' session last night. The principal gave a brief intro of herself. She was from First Toa Payoh Pri, then St Nicks, Hwa Chong JC, Oxford and did her Master degree at Harvard. She also held positions like VP, Principal, Deputy Director and Superintendent in MOE.
I heard from a friend whose girls are there that she was the top scorer of her year in Singapore in the O levels. :udawoman:phtthp:
good that she's ex IJ.
She came across as an approachable and caring Principal. She was there with the S1 girls after the 'meet-the-parents' session, mingled with them and even step on to a bench in the canteen to give a speech to the girls. Today, she was at the CCA fair, did the St Nicks family dance with staff and students. I was touched when she asked the S1 girls to thank parents, seniors, teachers aloud so that they can 'feel the love' and be appreciated.
I felt the St Nicks spirit! -
Marriage of 'convenience'.phtthp:
your sister school SCGS girls and brother school Catholic High boys will join St Nick sisters and all study together for A level, university bound.
Don't know how SCGS can be considered a \"sister\" school to SNGS and CHS. So different in environment. *Haiz*. Strange marriage.
O level results:-
Crescent Girls, CHIJ St.Nicholas Girls top GCE O-Level Exam
Top three spots for the cohort all went to girls.
Three students have topped 2011 GCE O-Level examinations, with 10 A1s each.
They are Lim Min from Crescent Girls' School, and Zhong Yingyi and Chai Yung Ci - both from CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1175621/1/.html
this is St Nick 4th year in running:-
http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/news/889624/Three_top_scorers_in_the_O_levels.html
Catholic High 2011 breakdown:-
http://www.catholichigh.moe.edu.sg/
L1B5 Aggregate:\t9.2
School Band:\tBand 1
Passed 5 O-Level subjects:\t100%
At least 5 distinctions:\t81.40%
Eligible for JC:\t99.70%
Cohort size:\t335
\t
Number of Students with A1s
===========================
\t
10 A1\t 2
9 A1\t10
8 A1\t34
7 A1\t26
6 A1\t36
Top Performers with 10 A1s: Name, Results
=======================================
1 CHEN QIWEI 10 A1s
2 AN SITONG 10 A1s
Excellent Performers with 10 Distinctions (9 A1s), Name, Results
===================================================
1 JOSHUA LEE JUN WEI 9 A1s, 1 A2
2 TAN JIA LIANG 9 A1s, 1 A2
3 CRAIGTON LIAN EE 9 A1s, 1 A2
4 TAN JIA WEI 9 A1s, 1 A2
5 XIA QIRAN 9 A1s, 1 A2
how did (Victoria, Cedar), (SCGS and St Nick) cohort of 2011 O level students perform overall ? any detailed breakdown ? -
St Nicholas is a better school
portal:
St Nicholas is a better school
St Nicks produced stellar results. Abt 72 pupils scored L1R5 of 6 points. 77% of girls scored L1R5 of 10 points or less. 98.2% eligible for Junior College.
Taking into account it has it's own affiliated girls from Pri section( lower PSLE T scores),SNG indeed is a Value-Added Sch! -
Both schools are good. Choose something which you DD likes. All the best!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.