GEP 2011 - Screening & Selection
Stinkybomb:
Are you referring to those enrichment courses conducted by external vendor thru' the school that you need to pay out of your own pocket?Michecplow:
for NH , the EL & CL test is selection test for BEP , the GEPPER has to be good in both language
Unlike NY ,which only send the talents for Olympiad competition, HPPS welcome all students to take part in the competition , and external vendor are hired to conduct the training in the school for those that are keen .
Not really. NY also have external vendor coming to sch to conduct training. Such trainings r not compulsory though. I m still thinking of signing Ds up if I can find a way to get him home after class. -
dagong99:
I can understand why the p4 geppers have to sit for el,cl and math tests as they come from different schools. But p5 geppers still have to sit for el and cl diagnostic tests in the 1st week of school, really :siao: . Unless they expect some of the kids have improved their el and or cl within the 6 weeks of holiday. Perhaps this el or cl tests different things? I wonder whether other gep schools also have such tests.toxic118:
today they got math test....don't know what for again. Anybody got any idea?
Huh ? Again ? I am so confused, poor kids, one test after another....1st day chinese & english test, 2nd day, chinese again, today, maths, dun know what next .... DS said totally unexpected & unprepared, dun know how he fares today
clayman:
clayman, just saw this! Thank you so much! so far it has been good
Shalomger and ezmummy,shalomger:
Ezmummy- Finally got a call from the bus driver today. He said K's pickup time is 0620 which isn't too bad.
3 more days to go....all the best to you and your sons in ACSP and Happy New Year!!
But I wonder if they do start with the syllabus
everyday son like say didn't do anything leh 
shalomger, I wish I have that kind of timing! -
comfy:
I can understand why the p4 geppers have to sit for el,cl and math tests as they come from different schools. But p5 geppers still have to sit for el and cl diagnostic tests in the 1st week of school, really :siao: . Unless they expect some of the kids have improved their el and or cl within the 6 weeks of holiday. Perhaps this el or cl tests different things? I wonder whether other gep schools also have such tests.[/quote]Yes, DS was tested in Cl and Math so far. Like what comfy said - believe it's just a diagnostic test. Ds simply treat it as a class assignment. He was still in the honeymoon stage as RS had a series of ice-breakers and team building games planned out for the children last week. :grphug: Actual work will probably start this week.dagong99:
[quote=\"toxic118\"]today they got math test....don't know what for again. Anybody got any idea?
Huh ? Again ? I am so confused, poor kids, one test after another....1st day chinese & english test, 2nd day, chinese again, today, maths, dun know what next .... DS said totally unexpected & unprepared, dun know how he fares today
The total number of 2011 Gep students are 566. The total number of GEP classes are 23, the capacity is 23X25 = 575. Now I knew, SHPS has 41 (-9) geppers (20,21), Rosyth has 73(-2) (25,24,24). How about the other schools. Last year TaoNan has less than 60 geppers even it has three classes. It means either many students give up GEP or NYPS got 100+++ geppers, who can provide the information of other schools
MrBin:
The total number of 2011 Gep students are 566. The total number of GEP classes are 23, the capacity is 23X25 = 575. Now I knew, SHPS has 41 (-9) geppers (20,21), Rosyth has 73(-2) (25,24,24). How about the other schools. Last year TaoNan has less than 60 geppers even it has three classes. It means either many students give up GEP or NYPS got 100+++ geppers, who can provide the information of other schools
FYI , DS in CHS, there are 2 GEP classes, he said his class size (with HMT) is 24 and the other class 22. A friend whose DD is in NY, said that total intake for GEP is 102 class sizes between 28 and 30 plus/minus. -
OrangeJuice:
Just kpo, if NY has 4 GEP classes n total 102 kids, mathematically not possible each class size 28-30, more like 25-26.
FYI , DS in CHS, there are 2 GEP classes, he said his class size (with HMT) is 24 and the other class 22. A friend whose DD is in NY, said that total intake for GEP is 102 class sizes between 28 and 30 plus/minus. -
oops apologies maybe friend included high ability students at NY who join the GEP classes for subjects like CL, Art, PE etc ...perhaps other parents with NY kids can give a better pic
Just kpo, if NY has 4 GEP classes n total 102 kids, mathematically not possible each class size 28-30, more like 25-26.OrangeJuice:
FYI , DS in CHS, there are 2 GEP classes, he said his class size (with HMT) is 24 and the other class 22. A friend whose DD is in NY, said that total intake for GEP is 102 class sizes between 28 and 30 plus/minus.
ACSP, 2 classes, 26 and 25 pupils.
OrangeJuice:
Yes, NY got 102 Geppers, so the \"Expert\" class size is 25-26.MrBin:
FYI , DS in CHS, there are 2 GEP classes, he said his class size (with HMT) is 24 and the other class 22. A friend whose DD is in NY, said that total intake for GEP is 102 class sizes between 28 and 30 plus/minus.
However, NY also has \"Home\" class, the size is \"17Ge+10/11Ha\" ppls. The Home class is mixed class that 63 HA mainstream students join into GEP students for non-core subjects such as Music, P.E. Art, Health Ed. etc.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.