Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 216.6k Views 1 Watching
      metz

insider:

I shared before about PSLE is really not that bad a monster. 'Regular' kids should not have big issues getting their As in all subjects (T score around 220), even for those who are weak in Chinese (like my son with horrible Chinese and still managed an A and so the standard is real LOW). The papers are manageable. If a 'regular' child is looking at getting all A*s, then another totally different story...(need to do like what Chamonix is doing with 'chimmer' external guide books).
      chimmer guide books? You mean Maths Olympaid Books? I don't think Maths Olympiad books alone will help much in getting A*.

Insider, there is some misunderstanding. I don't advocate any special or chim Maths guide books. Rather, I emphaszie on horning the skill of applying concepts for Maths. I have always encouraged my kids to think of various ways to solve a question, be it simple or difficult, based on their knowledge and understanding. For instance, my six year old figured out division by herself. She told me it's simply the number of times a big number can be subtracted by the smaller number. šŸ™‚

metz

insider:
        chamonix:

chimmer guide books? You mean Maths Olympaid Books? I don't think Maths Olympiad books alone will help much in getting A*.

I picked up MOB in Popular, browsed through, and then kwai kwai put it back.

This book will probably help a child to score an additional 2 or 3 points in PSLE and so I feel not worth the time and efforts (unless a child is really interested in Maths but my kids not that type that enjoys MOB questions).

It's this type of 'extra-ordinary' points that put a 'bester' child above a 'best' child... (experience from my second sister who is a guru in assessment books...)

No free lunch, if want to be the 'bestest' child, need to work the BEST!

Really? My kids haven't taken the PSLE yet, so I won't know. But based on the experience we have with school test papers, it doesn't really help much. Maybe, we haven't touched the chimmer MOB you mentioned, that's why.

chamonix:
          insider:

I shared before about PSLE is really not that bad a monster. 'Regular' kids should not have big issues getting their As in all subjects (T score around 220), even for those who are weak in Chinese (like my son with horrible Chinese and still managed an A and so the standard is real LOW). The papers are manageable. If a 'regular' child is looking at getting all A*s, then another totally different story...(need to do like what Chamonix is doing with 'chimmer' external guide books).

Insider, there is some misunderstanding. I don't advocate any special or chim Maths guide books. Rather, I emphaszie on horning the skill of applying concepts for Maths. I have always encouraged my kids to think of various ways to solve a question, be it simple or difficult, based on their knowledge and understanding.

This is what I have been advocating.
          Btw, Math is not about Math only, it forms the basis for the development of a problem-solving mind which is required in the real world.

metz

insider:

No worry, I don't mean you are advocating 'chimmer' books. I was trying to say if want that extra so-difficult-to-get marks, then may need to look at 'chimmer' books. This you have also stated clearly that formed only a small % of marks.

I know you are not that 'type' lah!

Cheers!
            You know, I am also very kiasu. That's why I am here. :evil:

Some of the questions that I encountered in Maths Olympiad books are already found in the Maths threads. No need to go through Maths Olympiad books nowadays. Thanks to KSP.

Perhaps, one way to score well in PSLE or school exams is combing through the various Maths threads. :imcool:

metz

insider:
              chamonix:

Perhaps, one way to score well in PSLE or school exams is combing through the various Maths threads. :imcool:

Maybe I have the privilege of personally seeing three kids (now age 25, 19, and 17) and other friends' kids through PSLE and so I can see 'patterns' in PSLE clearly and so not being 'intimidated' at all. Those 'extra-ordinary' IQ question/s aside, main bulk of the questions are quite 'predictable'.

First time parents maybe more anxious coz not sure what to expect and hence over-preparing is better than under-preparing. Therefore their subsequent kids, if any, tend to enjoy lesser stress as compared to their elder sibling... (qualifier: not if parents are eyeing at all A*s...)

Have fun!!

We are certainly having fun with Maths now. (Maybe too much.) Otherwise, I wouldn't be teaching my gal roman numerals (as per her request). Should be making her learn her multiplication tables instead ... hehe

If it's within the child's reach with some hard work, aiming for A* is not really something bad too.

metz

chamonix:

Insider, there is some misunderstanding. I don't advocate any special or chim Maths guide books. Rather, I emphaszie on horning the skill of applying concepts for Maths. I have always encouraged my kids to think of various ways to solve a question, be it simple or difficult, based on their knowledge and understanding.

This is what I have been advocating.
                Btw, Math is not about Math only, it forms the basis for the development of a problem-solving mind which is required in the real world.

Certainly agree with you on that. :celebrate:

metz

insider:
                  chamonix:

If it's within the child's reach with some hard work, aiming for A* is not really something bad too.

Definitely!

For regular kids, if they are accurate and careful enough in their computations with good understanding of concepts and completing diligently those past year papers that teachers piling on them, getting an A* actually is quite probable...

My kindergarteners are using this to have some basic concepts of tens and ones. Our schools use it as a game when introducing this concept... (Egyptian number system). Quite fun that you may want to take a look...

http://www.math.wichita.edu/history/topics/num-sys.html

Thanks! We are actually using the book 'Exploring Ancient Number Systems\". Supposed to be for Grades 5-8. She'll probably be lost along the way. But what the heck, we are just having fun with ancient systems here.

cheers!

chamonix:

My kindergarteners are using this to have some basic concepts of tens and ones. Our schools use it as a game when introducing this concept... (Egyptian number system). Quite fun that you may want to take a look...

i know we have seriously OT-ed, but just to add that a simple version of this (ancient numbering system) was shared in P1 MathVenture Learning magazine for fun learning. šŸ˜‰

metz

chamonix:

i know we have seriously OT-ed, but just to add that a simple version of this (ancient numbering system) was shared in P1 MathVenture Learning magazine for fun learning. šŸ˜‰

:offtopic:
                      Oops, but it's good to lighten the mood here a little, isn't it? :boogie:

chamonix:

[quote=\"chamonix\"]

:offtopic:
                        Oops, but it's good to lighten the mood here a little, isn't it? :boogie:[/quote] šŸ•ŗ šŸ•ŗ
                        :boogie: :boogie:
                        ok..time for me to :siam: first before i get šŸ¦†
                        šŸ˜“

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 99