Parents, not enrichment centres, are key to result

990 Posts 93 Posters 217.2k Views 1 Watching
      metz

insider:

No worry, I don't mean you are advocating 'chimmer' books. I was trying to say if want that extra so-difficult-to-get marks, then may need to look at 'chimmer' books. This you have also stated clearly that formed only a small % of marks.

I know you are not that 'type' lah!

Cheers!
      You know, I am also very kiasu. That's why I am here. :evil:

Some of the questions that I encountered in Maths Olympiad books are already found in the Maths threads. No need to go through Maths Olympiad books nowadays. Thanks to KSP.

Perhaps, one way to score well in PSLE or school exams is combing through the various Maths threads. :imcool:

metz

insider:
        chamonix:

Perhaps, one way to score well in PSLE or school exams is combing through the various Maths threads. :imcool:

Maybe I have the privilege of personally seeing three kids (now age 25, 19, and 17) and other friends' kids through PSLE and so I can see 'patterns' in PSLE clearly and so not being 'intimidated' at all. Those 'extra-ordinary' IQ question/s aside, main bulk of the questions are quite 'predictable'.

First time parents maybe more anxious coz not sure what to expect and hence over-preparing is better than under-preparing. Therefore their subsequent kids, if any, tend to enjoy lesser stress as compared to their elder sibling... (qualifier: not if parents are eyeing at all A*s...)

Have fun!!

We are certainly having fun with Maths now. (Maybe too much.) Otherwise, I wouldn't be teaching my gal roman numerals (as per her request). Should be making her learn her multiplication tables instead ... hehe

If it's within the child's reach with some hard work, aiming for A* is not really something bad too.

metz

chamonix:

Insider, there is some misunderstanding. I don't advocate any special or chim Maths guide books. Rather, I emphaszie on horning the skill of applying concepts for Maths. I have always encouraged my kids to think of various ways to solve a question, be it simple or difficult, based on their knowledge and understanding.

This is what I have been advocating.
          Btw, Math is not about Math only, it forms the basis for the development of a problem-solving mind which is required in the real world.

Certainly agree with you on that. :celebrate:

metz

insider:
            chamonix:

If it's within the child's reach with some hard work, aiming for A* is not really something bad too.

Definitely!

For regular kids, if they are accurate and careful enough in their computations with good understanding of concepts and completing diligently those past year papers that teachers piling on them, getting an A* actually is quite probable...

My kindergarteners are using this to have some basic concepts of tens and ones. Our schools use it as a game when introducing this concept... (Egyptian number system). Quite fun that you may want to take a look...

http://www.math.wichita.edu/history/topics/num-sys.html

Thanks! We are actually using the book 'Exploring Ancient Number Systems\". Supposed to be for Grades 5-8. She'll probably be lost along the way. But what the heck, we are just having fun with ancient systems here.

cheers!

chamonix:

My kindergarteners are using this to have some basic concepts of tens and ones. Our schools use it as a game when introducing this concept... (Egyptian number system). Quite fun that you may want to take a look...

i know we have seriously OT-ed, but just to add that a simple version of this (ancient numbering system) was shared in P1 MathVenture Learning magazine for fun learning. 😉

metz

chamonix:

i know we have seriously OT-ed, but just to add that a simple version of this (ancient numbering system) was shared in P1 MathVenture Learning magazine for fun learning. 😉

:offtopic:
                Oops, but it's good to lighten the mood here a little, isn't it? :boogie:

chamonix:

[quote=\"chamonix\"]

:offtopic:
                  Oops, but it's good to lighten the mood here a little, isn't it? :boogie:[/quote] 🕺 🕺
                  :boogie: :boogie:
                  ok..time for me to :siam: first before i get 🦆
                  😓

metz

Riding on the solution from PiggyLalala’s ds, we can work out the solution in another way -

A: shaded: unshaded = 1u:1u
                    😄 shaded: unshaded = 1p:4p

Since only ¼B is shaded,
                    ¼B = 1u+1p
                    B = 4u+4p

Given area A+B = 125% tt of C,

=> 2u + 4u + 4p = (5/4)(5p)

6u + 4p = 25p/4
                    2¼p = 6 u
                    p = 8u/3

B = 4u+4p
                    = 4u + 4(8u/3 )
                    = 4u + 32u/3
                    = 44u/3

A : B = 2u : 44u/3
                    = 6u : 44u
                    = 3 : 22

A/B = 3/22

alternatively,

A/B = 2u / (44u/3)
                    = 3/22

Chenonceau

chamonix:

My kiddos are not yet at the PSLE stage yet so all is still kinda rosy right now. Just trying to understand what I might be heading in for so don't shoot me hor.

But I am just wondering, all these talk about testing beyond what is taught or beyond the abilities of kids this age, is it really so? Of the entire exam paper, are all the questions beyond what is taught in the syllabus? Or just a small percentage of the questions to sniff out those with higher order thinking?

Is it the paper that is forcing the parents to need all these tuition and enrichment or is it the parents who refuse let their children stumble on these questions that led to this 'tuition culture'?

A strong understanding of concepts and exposure to various application-type qestions (i.e practising beyond the textbooks and workbooks) should help in solving most of the P5 & P6 questions. However, some acceleration may be required when one reaches P5. For instance, the topic on Ratio. The P5 school syllabus touches briefly on Ratio. But to solve higher level questions at P5, one needs the knowledge from P6 ratio topics, ie. Ratio & Fraction, Changing Ratios. These are covered in P5 Onsponge Book. However, it is possible to tackle P5 & P6 papers without going through the Onsponge books. Tried and tested.

For me, the school syllabus does not include all the topics one may encounter in the school test papers or assessment books. We picked up some 'new Maths' from Maths Olympiad books. But I must confess these form a small percentage in most test papers. What stumble most students would be the application of concepts learnt in problem solving. From the question that PiggyLalala posed, we see that one can arrive at the same answer via different methods. In fact, a number of the questions posed in the maths threads can also be solved using various methods. It is not so much the depth but the skill in applying concepts learnt that makes Maths seemingly difficult.

Just my 2 cents - from someone whose kids have no school teachers/materials but textbooks & assessment books to rely on ...

The words in red describe my experience to a T.

Especially this sentence...
                      It is not so much the depth but the skill in applying concepts learnt that makes Maths seemingly difficult.

Skill comes with practice. The children need a lot of practice with the questions of the right difficulty. First in the fundamentals in lower primary... and then with Paper 2 in Upper Primary. In P5 and P6, Questions in Paper 1 test the fundamental skills. Someone with a strong foundation can easily get full marks there in P5. If you're scoring poorly in Paper 1 in P5, then it is a sign that you need to pay attention to fundamentals. Paper 2 requires the more complex skill of cracking the question and choosing the method.

I am hoping to train some degree of flexibility by getting him familiar with
                      (1) unit approach
                      (2) onsponge
                      (3) models
                      (4) algebra (by extension simultaneous)

At one point last year, he developed 2 solutions for each of the last 4 questions in Paper 2... just for practice. He doesn't have to do that anymore. But I think I can do that with him because he seems to be able to absorb all this and not get confused. If fundamentals are not strong then maybe just stick with units or models since it is clear that one does not need simultaneous equations in their pure forms.

cnimed

Hm, didn’t we learn simultaenous equations in primary school during our time?? I thought we did? In my fading memories, the question doesn’t seem very different from what we were given in P6 and everything was solved using simultaneous equations. I remember I had fun doing them.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 99

qqtang0526Q
                        qqtang0526