Ministerial Salary Review

396 Posts 47 Posters 79.4k Views 1 Watching
      schweppes

Strparent:

You bery jahat leh ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

anyway, KIONG HEE HUAT ZAI to you and yr 3 boys :celebrate:

CNY coming, relax enjoy, be happy. KONG XI FA ZAI to you too :celebrate:

Ha ha!

What's 'jahat' ar?

Kong Xi Fa Cai!

naughty ๐Ÿ˜‰

HVR

Getting fatigue already. Our ministers deserve the compensation commensurate with the heavy responsibilities they shouldered. Donโ€™t need to argue whether passion or not, public service or not, donโ€™t care about the intense scrutiny by public, 24/7 nature of their job, no privacy, etc. No matter how, we cannot agree and can never agree how much is enough. However, can we at least agree it is a thankless job to begin with?

Are we ignoring the facts that many people approached have turned down the offer to become minister? Hero and leader emerges from chaotic time and if they know they can change the world, they would even do it for free. The time is different now. The economic is stable, the world has shrink and the world is the oyster. If I know I can make money easily all over the world and I know I can be a good minister, I also know I am willing to do public service but it is a thankless job, shouldnโ€™t I deserve not too shabby the compensation before I take on the offer? Or since it is for good cause I should accept token sum? Or should I continue to stay in public service if I know I can easily join a MNC and earn big bucks? All this knowing full well it is a thankless job?

concern2

If there is one thing I take away from this series of exchanges, is that WP is scary good.....at politicking. Much better than the PAP.
          Really, really? I didn't noticed...what did I miss ah? Share leh, 3Boys...

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

If there is one thing I take away from this series of exchanges, is that WP is scary good.....at politicking. Much better than the PAP.

Really, really? I didn't noticed...what did I miss ah? Share leh, 3Boys...

Just read Pritam, CSM, Yaw lor....sensible comments mixed in with stuff calculated to score political points only. e.g. \"Money saved can be distributed....\" yada yada yada....

Old as the hills......

The much admired WP not so pure as snow or heroic as imagined hor...?

limlim

Strparent:

CNY coming, relax enjoy, be happy. KONG XI FA ZAI to you too :celebrate:
              same to you too ๐Ÿ˜‰ :celebrate:

guess we're having a field day in cyberspace.. shooting letters and alphabets all over the place..

whatever it is.. there's no hard feelings..

After all.. it's not as if our comments or opinions is going to affect the outcome in any way..

I just take it like a friendly match ๐Ÿ˜‰ and try to have fun while at it

limlim

Your case B is more grounded in hope than reality. Its not about whether we have a touchy-feely leader who walks around and kisses a lot of babies. The advent of mediocre leadership will be the END of our standard of living for ALL Singaporeans, rich or poor.

The leadership is no just about parlaying subsidies to the poor, pouring mountains of money into public transport and healthcare. Any half-wit with access to a cheque book can do that. Its about keeping our country afloat in an increasingly competitive and complex world. Its not about playing in the M-league, its the World Cup. If we accept mediocre leadership, 'with a heart for the people', and we fall down competitive rankings, I guarantee you our standards of living will suffer, FOR ALL, not just the low income.

Not true?

Just check out Greece and Italy. They are in for at least a decade of pain due to mismanagement. And, oh yeah, they gave out plenty of subsidies, ran huge deficits, so presumably had 'a lot of heart' for the people.
                First of all, I don't believe in welfare state, and I don't feel that govt should freely give handouts either.. just to set the record straight.

However, I do not agree with some of the policies..

GST 7%?

PR and EP lelong? (note: EP, Not WP)

CPF minimum sum increase?

Lower corporate tax?

What is TH doing?

How they choose the TH CEO?

How they choose the SMRT CEO? What is transport minister doing?

etc etc... and the list goes on..

Where is TRANSPARENCY & ACCOUNTABILITY?

Your line of argument is that if they are not highly paid, they are not talents, which is Not true. CSM is one example. How about the past extra-ordinary ministers.. like GKS, OTC etc.. were they paid obscene salaries? But they delivered, didn't they?

My line of argument is that if we attracted the wrong pple with the wrong attribute, the country can Grow, as well as a few individuals or groups BUT the pple suffers. If you use MONEY as a lure, what do kind of pple would you expect to get?

My line of argument is that even if you pay top dollar you may not get top talents.

Look at the well being of majority of citizens.. were they better than they were 10 years ago? even in mist of increasing GDP.. which was used as a basis to pay obscene bonuses.. is it FAIR to the pple?

Look at the mistakes that they have made while drawing obscene salaries.

Look at the facts.. not theories or beliefs..

Joule

Can I kaypoh pls.

[quote=\"limlim\"]The perspective is extra-ordinary high pay does not imply extra-ordinary talent. (that is separate issue from the right \"character\" )

And likewise, low pay does not imply commitment to a cause.

Case A
                  High pay -> Maybe he's in for the money, maybe he's not.

This is 10 dollar carrot cake with XO sauce

Case B
                  Low pay -> Maybe he's take it as a calling ,a privilege, to serve. Maybe he's not.

This is 1.50 carrot cake with black sauce

Case A, if he's in for the money, too bad. The people WILL suffer. If not, fine.

10 dollar carrot cake may not be that tasty if chef don't fry it well

Case B, if he's committed, great, the people benefits. If not, well at worst he's a mediocre performer.. But, no matter what, he is in a position closer to the average citizen, and not isolated in some ivory towers.

likewise, 1.50 carrot cake if not tasty, ppl also dowan to eat if chef is committed but don't know how to fry / no skill to fry

limlim

HVR:

Are we ignoring the facts that many people approached have turned down the offer to become minister?
                    If they did find, they would have scored a goal. It depends on the charisma and charm of the current leaderships to attract the right talents to the cause, isn't it? That's what makes a hero..

Cannot find the right pple, so use Money to entice?

Just to borrow a quote
                    Any half-wit with access to a cheque book can do that.
                    What's extra-ordinary about the current leadership then? ok, maybe's there's nothing extra-ordinary then..

But perhaps LTK did managed to score a goal.. with CSM..

Oh.. btw.. just a mention.. somehow.. a few talented or well-liked MPs left the white camp in the past.... isn't it? and probably it is not related to low pay.... but due to disagreements? but these are just speculations.. so can disregard them..

limlim

Joule:
                      Can I kaypoh pls.
                      But you left out the verdict leh..

you're ordering $1.50 carrot cake or $10 carrot cake? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Joule

Ohhh yarh horโ€ฆ

my opinion

$10 carrot cake may not be that good. overrated due to lack of competition from other hawker store.

$1.50 carrot cake needs to improve skill a bit, or else less ppl will not eat from them

therefore

there need to be 2 carrot cake store in the same hawker centre

the $10 dollar carrot cake need to decrease price as there is competition. They need to be cheaper, better, faster, yummier and dun need free wifi

likewise, the $1.50 carrot cake need to get more quality chef and ingredients over time, if they cannot improve quality, ppl also dowan to eat from them

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 35 / 40

FranceeF
                        Francee