In-law problems?
cherrygal:
Alamak, my mil called my son her fave grandson's name twice! Once at the reunion dinner and once at the bainian on first day of CNY. My son is older and has been with them very often so I don't understand how she could replace my son's name with that of a 2yo... except to say now I have proof that she shows favouritism!
Shiok, I am done with my visiting for this year. Had reunion lunch with them on sun...and visited them yest. The old one is haggard bcos she doesn't cook and always eating downstairs...no nutrition at all, plus smoking heavily. Asked her to cook simple soup and a rice since just 2 people, but she said just go downstairs and eat...so troublesome to cook.
Hubby told me he has given up advising her. -
BeContented:
Well then, I believe you must still look like a young, hawt n fresh 18yr old xiao meimei for him to insist that! :salute:cherrygal:
Alamak, my mil called my son her fave grandson's name twice! Once at the reunion dinner and once at the bainian on first day of CNY. My son is older and has been with them very often so I don't understand how she could replace my son's name with that of a 2yo... except to say now I have proof that she shows favouritism!
Sign of old age/dementia perhaps?
Last time my grandfather could not recall who I was & one time when I brought my kids back to Malaysia to visit him, he refused to believe me....thinking I was joking as he insisted I'm still a young gal ie.only 18yo. -
BeContented:
Nope no dementia. She is the most alert woman I know... still working and controlling everything...cherrygal:
Last time my grandfather could not recall who I was & one time when I brought my kids back to Malaysia to visit him, he refused to believe me....thinking I was joking as he insisted I'm still a young gal ie.only 18yo. -
cherrygal:
Nope no dementia. She is the most alert woman I know... still working and controlling everything...[/quote]I'm also not senile but at times, do get my 3 DSs' names mixed up, calling and talking to one while meant the other. Of course always realise my mistake after a while.BeContented:
[quote=\"cherrygal\"]Alamak, my mil called my son her fave grandson's name twice! Once at the reunion dinner and once at the bainian on first day of CNY. My son is older and has been with them very often so I don't understand how she could replace my son's name with that of a 2yo... except to say now I have proof that she shows favouritism!
Last time my grandfather could not recall who I was & one time when I brought my kids back to Malaysia to visit him, he refused to believe me....thinking I was joking as he insisted I'm still a young gal ie.only 18yo.
My MIL did that with her grandchildren. Think it's quite normal tripping over names. :scratchhead:
Definitely not due to favouritism in my case.
Me too tutormum! :faint:
Especially for close sounding names! :oops:
Slip of the tongue.. :politebleah: -
Mine here has slight dementia but strangely not the ‘wire’ regarding MONEY issues…that area is still very alert.
If you don’t like your SIL (ie, your BIL’s wife), and you have not been on talking terms for 14 years. How to start talking ?
I tried a few years back. But realised that she just concentrate on singing praises about her DDs (for eg, her DD still can’t talk at 3yo because she is very smart in her brain, she is quietly absorbing…etc .etc…), so I sian… and decided that I don’t need to listen to her brag…so I went back into my hole again.
But sometimes I do think that my no-talking to her problem may become a problem when my kids grow up…as in the cousins will not be close. But then, do I need them to be close ? But then, my kids will start wondering why I don’t talk to their Aunt…hmm…
Actually MIL is not helping…by playing favouritism towards BIL and her… So add on to the injury. -
Emelyn:
I choked on the part being smart and absorbent.. :faint: Normally it's considered opposite. Guess your SIL is trying to save face if not self-deceived. :? Now the topics with my SILs have moved on to higher level liao. My DS3 has booked his flat which is due to complete in 2 years' time. The 'scholar' mum knew and after checking around, pushed her 2 DS towards that direction a few months back. She wanted her 'scholar' (see other threads) to get married first and stay with her (at least temporary since he has just booked his flat) but he refused which I think his gf is against the idea. Her DS2 which is the same age as my DS1 broke off with his gf at the same time. Now it seems that my DS1 may be the first to get married and she's like :nailbite: She also wanted grandchildren as she's very traditional type but I may be the first to be a granny. :siao: On top of that, DS1 and his gf want me to move in with them and take care of their children so SIL isIf you don't like your SIL (ie, your BIL's wife), and you have not been on talking terms for 14 years. How to start talking ?
I tried a few years back. But realised that she just concentrate on singing praises about her DDs (for eg, her DD still can't talk at 3yo because she is very smart in her brain, she is quietly absorbing...etc .etc..), so I sian.... and decided that I don't need to listen to her brag.....so I went back into my hole again.
But sometimes I do think that my no-talking to her problem may become a problem when my kids grow up....as in the cousins will not be close. But then, do I need them to be close ? But then, my kids will start wondering why I don't talk to their Aunt.....hmm....
Actually MIL is not helping....by playing favouritism towards BIL and her.. So add on to the injury.
:drool: To play down the :oops: :oops: DH sis who is her close chum come to her 'rescue' by saying that having children is not popular with the youngster now. I :siao: :faint: Like that also can :stompfeet: . :stupid:
tutormum:
Aiyoh.... like that also want to compare ?? Really a \"higher\" level....最高境界!
I choked on the part being smart and absorbent.. :faint: Normally it's considered opposite. Guess your SIL is trying to save face if not self-deceived. :? Now the topics with my SILs have moved on to higher level liao. My DS3 has booked his flat which is due to complete in 2 years' time. The 'scholar' mum knew and after checking around, pushed her 2 DS towards that direction a few months back. She wanted her 'scholar' (see other threads) to get married first and stay with her (at least temporary since he has just booked his flat) but he refused which I think his gf is against the idea. Her DS2 which is the same age as my DS1 broke off with his gf at the same time. Now it seems that my DS1 may be the first to get married and she's like :nailbite: She also wanted grandchildren as she's very traditional type but I may be the first to be a granny. :siao: On top of that, DS1 and his gf want me to move in with them and take care of their children so SIL isEmelyn:
If you don't like your SIL (ie, your BIL's wife), and you have not been on talking terms for 14 years. How to start talking ?
I tried a few years back. But realised that she just concentrate on singing praises about her DDs (for eg, her DD still can't talk at 3yo because she is very smart in her brain, she is quietly absorbing...etc .etc..), so I sian.... and decided that I don't need to listen to her brag.....so I went back into my hole again.
But sometimes I do think that my no-talking to her problem may become a problem when my kids grow up....as in the cousins will not be close. But then, do I need them to be close ? But then, my kids will start wondering why I don't talk to their Aunt.....hmm....
Actually MIL is not helping....by playing favouritism towards BIL and her.. So add on to the injury.
:drool: To play down the :oops: :oops: DH sis who is her close chum come to her 'rescue' by saying that having children is not popular with the youngster now. I :siao: :faint: Like that also can :stompfeet: . :stupid: -
My MIL's idea of filling up the house is calling her non-chinese 'friends'.. ..
At least five families with min two to three kids each.. ...We have to gather in one area to 'pau' more angpows... Really a funny sight..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.