Ministerial Salary Review

396 Posts 47 Posters 74.5k Views 1 Watching
      BeContented

DesertWind:
      Sun_2010:

For me the status of mrt is a greater concern - The hdb/property issues, economic stability, flooding (sorry ponding), immigration these seem outcome of some bad forecast, shortsightedness and complacency....something systemic which I sincerely hope is being addressed behind the scenes.

Fully agree! Now that they have actually cut the salary, can we move on and talk about the cost of living? How they can help common folks to cope with it? By building more hawker centres and charging reasonable rental etc?

Yes, time to move on 😄
      Dun keep scolding Ah-Gong lah, like an earlier post mentioned, it IS a thankless job & it does involves sacrifices. Imagine have to face people & criticism day-in day-out & lose a lot of privacy, money alone will not attract, I choose to believe that there IS some 'calling/willingness to serve' in them when they choose to enter. And this applies to both MIW & opposition. All deserves credit for their willingness to stand out in the public & face all the citizens.

Happy New Year & let the govt start working good stuff & dun waste more time trying to answer all the salary issues.

• O Offline
        Oppsgal

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120120-0000170/Reflections-on-the-salary-debate

Still about debate? Thought the salary range already confirm :?

Chenonceau

Haha! PAP needs to develop some skill in cutting short an unproductive debate. Some debates lead nowhere (because they don’t deepen the appreciation of the issue and doesn’t lead to practical and informed action) and are just for posturing or proving a one upmanship. Recognise this debate for what it is and find a way to cut it short even if it means conceding 1 or 2 unimportant points, and ignoring others. In effect, WP agrees with the broad strokes… and if they want the last word, let them have it.

I tell you… our politicians are not street smart.

• O Offline
            Oppsgal

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=5790372

Saturday, repeated on Sunday, Monday on the pay :? :shock:

What's the point of showing this? Can we have a say on this matter? 🤷

hquek

Yes, I also a bit sian on this topic. All the talk but not sure where we are headed.

I rather they talk on how to reduce rentals paid by businesses, especially hawkers, and that could go some way to helping common folks deal with inflation. But PLEASE subsidized rental only to those who are actually selling the food. I know of some people who buy up stalls like property and then resell at a nice profit, or sublet to others at another nice margin. No guesses as to which sheep get sheared in the end.

Sorry if I OT.

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

Perhaps we are headed this way then --> http://www.economist.com/node/21543178?fsrc=scn/fb/wl/ar/whoexactlyarethe1

Rich businessmen and financial gurus who take on politics as a second career.

I suppose they are better able to relate to the man in the street than a 'highly' paid minister.

Belle2011

This topic is NOT going anywhere.

Come on, let us move on because this is something we can’t change but have to accept.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Belle2011:
                    This topic is NOT going anywhere.
                    I think there is plenty of mileage left. Just wait 5 years for the next GE.

warriortemujin

wow…long review on salary

limlim

I am a Singaporean too, I've lived here almost all my life. I think the PAP is best thing since sliced bread, that the only reason we are where are, instead of a sleepy fishing village. You think our workforce is so great? Mediocre as hell....

Yes, they have gotten complacent, yes, they have made quite a lot of mistakes recently, yes, their politics stink, yes, they deserved to get their behinds kicked at the last GE. But they do not deserve to be treated unfairly....
                        I agree that the old PAP is good. But that impression stopped since the last 5~10 years..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 40