Ministerial Salary Review
I agree that the old PAP is good. But that impression stopped since the last 5~10 years..
I am a Singaporean too, I've lived here almost all my life. I think the PAP is best thing since sliced bread, that the only reason we are where are, instead of a sleepy fishing village. You think our workforce is so great? Mediocre as hell....
Yes, they have gotten complacent, yes, they have made quite a lot of mistakes recently, yes, their politics stink, yes, they deserved to get their behinds kicked at the last GE. But they do not deserve to be treated unfairly.... -
well.. some sources on the internet pointed out that ard the period when TH lose billions.. CPF min sum was increased.. and there seems to be quite a few \"coincidences\".... of when TH lose money, somehow CPF amt or age limit changes (unfavourably to members)..
And how many of you actually think the CPF minimum sum is going to get you through retirement? Ad if they don't take action now, when the silver tsunami hits, and inflation erodes savings then how? More old ladies collecting cardboard boxes in the streets, more opposition tear-jerker videos claiming non-compassionate g'ment, taxes raised for the younger generation, low economic growth as a result.....
Maybe these are false information on the internet.. I'm not sure.. you hv any comments on this? -
SMRT is listed company.. yes sure..
SMRT is listed company, whilst Temasek was possibly represented on the board (do they hold a seat?), the decision is a private one not dictated by the g'ment.
Really befuddles me how anyone can attribute SPH's appointment to the the g'ment and blame them for any fall out.
So limlim, you have someone you'd like to nominate to SMRT board as their next CEO, since you have a strong opinion about the previous one?
Now.. the Important point is, SMRT is the core/heart of the public transportation system for THE COUNTRY. The govt has a responsibility to ensure that it serves the public and the country in the most reliable and dependable way.
if bcoz it its listed company that's why they hv no control, then WHY is it a listed privatised company in the first place? The govt caused it to be in this \"uncontrollable\" state, isn't it?
of coz it's the govt's responsibility.. If they cannot have influence over who runs such a critical organ of the country, they should not privatise it. If they felt that it is best to privatise it, they should retain critical control. If they feel that it is best that they do not retain critical control... well, I hv nothing to say..
Same principle for TH.
As for who should run it, I am in no position to suggest as I'm not drawing those salaries.. Let the persons who are paid to do the job, do the job properly. -
HVR:
That, is far from the truth. In fact, there are many real proposals.. but until the ruling party is willing to accept them, they will forever remain as \"criticism only\" instead of concrete actions.
Yes. We should move on and see how both PAP and opposition can contribute. Frankly thus far opposition is doing what many netizens are doing, criticising only but of course their arguments are more refined than netizens.
The ball is in the MIW's court. As long as they do not accept other's proposals, they can always say the other party is NATO.
Is is very easy to criticise others that they only can complain but cannot contribute.
The reality is, how do you expect those who criticise to produce a solid plan when they do not have access to all the necessary information/authorities etc..?
Hence, netizens can only criticise.. not that they choose to.. -
CPF Minimum Sun is YOUR retirement money. Has anyone to date, who has tried to withdraw his CPF monies upon reaching retirement, EVER been denied his rightful due?
well.. some sources on the internet pointed out that ard the period when TH lose billions.. CPF min sum was increased.. and there seems to be quite a few \"coincidences\".... of when TH lose money, somehow CPF amt or age limit changes (unfavourably to members)..3Boys:
And how many of you actually think the CPF minimum sum is going to get you through retirement? Ad if they don't take action now, when the silver tsunami hits, and inflation erodes savings then how? More old ladies collecting cardboard boxes in the streets, more opposition tear-jerker videos claiming non-compassionate g'ment, taxes raised for the younger generation, low economic growth as a result.....
Maybe these are false information on the internet.. I'm not sure.. you hv any comments on this?
Yah, people will make connections, but at the end of the day, Temasek will make money some years, they will lose money some years, but as long as there is inflation, and people live longer and longer, CPF, if it stays as a cornerstone of retirement funds, will keep having its minimum sum raised. Its straightforward numbers.
I really scratch my head when people say that CPF is 'unfavourable' to members. I stuff as much as I am allowed into my SRS every year to max out on tax savings and earned interest. -
Strparent:
Ha Ha!man,...... you ladies just keep adding charcoal to the campfire, feeding 3Boys' thirst for a good challenge, a good 'fight' :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: - in a good sense of course.
3Boys, come on.... dont do the white paper black paper on these leh.
I love his posts as well :salute: , his strong stand to challenge the majority, the prove-it-to-me attitude.
wish we were army buddies, man
ksi, dunno why u are surprised. Am sure chen was just kidding about it.
if you really read carefully, he is candid, frank, direct - maybe he is challenging just to prove his choice was correct
but seriously, you should know by now, most of the active forumers in 'these sort of threads' are more likely to have voted for opposition.
Those that voted for ruling party are not errrr....'agitated' enough to be too active here, imho.
But I agree with 3Boys on the 7% GST, it is good and need to be there. The only greivance is the lack of clear obvious subsidy from this GST for the truly needy, eg zero rate on pure necessities ( rice, sugar, etc ).3Boys:
SMRT is listed company, whilst Temasek was possibly represented on the board (do they hold a seat?), the decision is a private one not dictated by the g'ment.
Chartered SM? Singtel ? SPH ? DBS ? F&N ? all also public listed.
.......................... :imconstipated: :sick: :censored:
think we should leave it as it is. :siam:
kar kee chai doh ho liao :oops:
I really have to check myself here. As Chenon says, no one has a monopoly on wisdom, and in the heat of battle, one can certainly take that posture.
I've also been trawling through insider's posts, although it hurts my potato eyes to read so many chinese characters at one go, its all coming back
Yes, I did go over to the dark side, because they needed a big kick up the behind. I don't mind the MIW policies, its their politics and condescension I can't take. And they need fix the latter, so that they can keep doing the former.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.