Dunman High School (Junior High)
carebear:
I also wonder how they assign for COMy dd, small size, has been assigned the bassoon :scared: .
She finds it so heavy.
Which instruments in band do not require a lot of air to blw
HappieNewbie123:
Which instruments in band do not require a lot of air to blw
Clarinet? Flute?
And definitely there is one that does not even need air / blowing - percussion instruments!!!
Big Octopus:
CO usually the instrument that needs the most people, and without experience, is the δΊθ‘. Other instruments usually much smaller number needed.
I also wonder how they assign for COcarebear:
My dd, small size, has been assigned the bassoon :scared: .
She finds it so heavy.
Hi how is everyone and their ds and dd?
My DD got into CO, though it was not her 1st choice. They were given 3 choices to fill up for CO instruments. We had to do some search online as we were not really familiar with some of the instruments.
Wah, it was an eye opener for me! All the instruments sound so good in competent hands. In the end, we picked yang qin,er hu (such lovely and soulful tones) and da gu ji (the one on youtube featuring DHS students had us tapping our feet). Even if DD does not get any of these choices, I told her it is a golden opportunity to learn to play an instrument, which not everyone can have, so she must be thankful for it.
The pace of work is really picking up, right? DD says some of her friends stay up till past 12 to "chiong" their homework. Looks like they are all slowly adjusting :-). -
less kiasu liao:
The pace of work is really picking up, right? DD says some of her friends stay up till past 12 to \"chiong\" their homework. Looks like they are all slowly adjusting :-).
For the past few nights, dd has been sleeping so late between 12 midnight to 2 am! She said she is given lots of homework to be completed within a short span. What is going on?
carebear:
Really!? My DD seem to be very free and relaxed......a bit scary leh :nailbite: ! She even has the time to read story books and follow TV drama series and she's always sleeping early @ nine plus :siao: !! When I nagged at her she says her teachers fixed deadlines within manageable time and the assignments are not too difficult. Dunno whether to be worried or not....less kiasu liao:
The pace of work is really picking up, right? DD says some of her friends stay up till past 12 to \"chiong\" their homework. Looks like they are all slowly adjusting :-).
For the past few nights, dd has been sleeping so late between 12 midnight to 2 am! She said she is given lots of homework to be completed within a short span. What is going on?
She is also in CO! -
coral:
Really!? My DD seem to be very free and relaxed......a bit scary leh :nailbite: ! She even has the time to read story books and follow TV drama series and she's always sleeping early @ nine plus :siao: !! When I nagged at her she says her teachers fixed deadlines within manageable time and the assignments are not too difficult. Dunno whether to be worried or not....carebear:
[quote=\"less kiasu liao\"]The pace of work is really picking up, right? DD says some of her friends stay up till past 12 to \"chiong\" their homework. Looks like they are all slowly adjusting :-).
She is also in CO![/quote]Coral,
My DS seems to be in the same camp as your dd. Everyday no homework... I'm kinda worried as well. He claims that everything is completed in school. -
For my DD, she is still very relaxed despite the amount of work, just like in primary school. Like you say, still following drama series. When she cannot finish her work, she will still go to bed @ around 10, but wake up an hour before leaving for school to do her work. I feel stressed looking at her carefree attitude and started nagging too! Wonder how she will manage when CO starts!
My DS has some homework, but still manageable. I know there are some with later deadlines that he is planning to complete only this weekend (about 4 pieces this week) - said he should not rush through as these are graded assignments. I have been receiving only his graded Maths assignments for signing. Nothing else from other subjects. Has any parents sign / seen other graded assignments from your kids?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.