Net rumour that Yaw Shin Leong having extra-maritial affair
Lilac66:
Pls see my post on p26 reproduce here:
Well, how do you know that if there is no revelation on this and YSL is given more powers in future, he would not be lured with a \"woman bait\" in exchange for favours? If that really happens, then the conflict of interest will come in, and the stakes are going to be greater. So I'm glad that now being an MP only, we see the test of his character and whether he can withstand the temptation (be it of any kind.), and 5 years down the road I'll use my vote even more carefully for the best candidate (regardless of party).
Curious why u say dis.
u hear some rustlings in d wind?
If latest 'revelations' from msm tabloids r to be believed,
it shows a pattern of behaviour dat is worrisome which
IMO, wld start to affect his proper functioning as an MP.
In dat case, WP has to act.Lilac66:
Agree. Dat's why constant vigilance is necessary.Don't forget, alot of people enter politics, charity organisations (think NKF, Ren Ci, Youth Challenge) with very noble intentions. But along the way, greed overtakes and the lure of money and fame is too much for them to take.
Lilac66:
concern2 makes a valid point on dis about d disparity n I agree with her.As for the ruling party, I take the same stand if any \"rumor\" generates so much heat like YSL's case and yet the person involved does not come out to address the allegations.
One additional point, other parties do not hv d resources of PAP (eg GLCs, ambassadorships etc) to farm out those who hv committed indiscretions -
Lilac66:
Steven Tan's case, as alleged, was a sexual harrassment case.Yes, how about Steven Tan's case (as mentioned in my earlier post), which was circulated online?.
http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/unionist_paps_steve_344784_2.html
The PAP dropped him like a hot potato in the May elections. Well, maybe you're going to say he's not minister material yet, so he does not have a deep enough pocket to sue. Better back out.
If the argument is going along that line, then I will rest my case, as I see it not going anywhere, not because I'm convinced private matters should be kept private even for public fig.
I still see that morality isssues like that may affect how the public fig functions in future at the expense of the people.
Dat's a chargeable offence if proven.
Diff fr YSL's case as it stands. -
We can't help link the 2 together; they are not both mutually exclusive. Can u imagine the husband of the lady involved in this, Shaking YSL's hands & saying : I support U & ur Party, regardless of what U did to my wife , me & my family, because we dun mix politics with personal affairs. I still believe that, even tho u hv cheated me & my family on this acct, u will not cheat us on other matters, political or private. Famous quotes: \"Leopard will not change its spots\" & \"Once a Thief, Always a Thief\". This not to say tt they are not able to turn over a new leaf... But, as wise a voter as we all shd be, shouldn't we do some in-depth analysis with whatever limited info we hv on a candidate before casting our vote & be forever comitted(well, till the next GE), like it or not, to our choice...?concern2,
Good questions to ponder.
It was a political issue fr day one,
but some chose to get stuck with only d moral right or wrong question. -
Not baiting u lah. Why u take it so personally...? Whether I win this argument or u lose this argument, it's not gonna move YSL. Remember, it's never personal. Just talk abt the topic @ hand & how it's gonna impact or not impact our lives, our attitudes & impressions of the candidate / party we wish to be ruling our constituency / country, & how's that gonna help us, as Singaporean to achieve our dreams. Capable Leaders have brought us prosperity & from 3rd world to 1st world, from high unemployment to record low unemployment this year. But, because we are living in comfort, let us not be complacent in our present situation to think that we will not be in danger of losing all.
u baiting me?Vote PAP:
Since u have rumor(s) on some unnamed individual, why not start a forum on this and u may find me there..?
U said u wld seek full disclosure if an MP has strayed morally,
regardless which side of d fence he/she is on.
So I gave u two leads.
These two chaps r still ard n d incidents r not too far back in history
dat u canβt verify with d right sources if u know them n they care to divulge to u.
Not going to pursue?
Then let's not talk about objectivity, shall we?
ps I see no good purpose in starting a topic on those two.
I know who they r.
Regarding the 2 individuals that u have highlighted, if u will start a new topic & if it needs objective inputs, & if they are named & u hv accusations against them during their tenures as MPs, that may be potential conflicts, & that they hv not responded either way, I say bring it up for discussion. We all shd hv a look @ it & form our opinions & discuss it... -
Lilac66:
Lilac66, u r absolutely right. How can we separate private from politics...? They r not mutually exclusive. Will political act impact us on a private level..? Let me site a hypothetical: if a housewife A goes to MP YSL's meet the people seeking help in her predicament, saying that her husband is hvg EMA with a WP member, a party tt she happens to support. What is going to be YSL's wise advice? I guess we cannot refute the potential conflict here. YSLYes, how about Steven Tan's case (as mentioned in my earlier post), which was circulated online?.
The PAP dropped him like a hot potato in the May elections. Well, maybe you're going to say he's not minister material yet, so he does not have a deep enough pocket to sue. Better back out.
If the argument is going along that line, then I will rest my case, as I see it not going anywhere, not because I'm convinced private matters should be kept private even for public fig.
I still see that morality isssues like that may affect how the public fig functions in future at the expense of the people.
Is no longer able to give credible advice either way...right...? -
Steven Tan's case, as alleged, was a sexual harrassment case.Lilac66:
Yes, how about Steven Tan's case (as mentioned in my earlier post), which was circulated online?.
Diff fr YSL's case as it stands.
The reason for this earlier post is when the WP and YSL kept mum on this, and no action was taken. (bef YSL's resignation).
The pt I'm trying to drive at is that the sexual harrassment was only \"rumoured\", circulating online. Yet, this candidate came out in the open to refute the allegations . At least ,with this, some that were sitting on the fence , might be won over that he may be innocent.
See the glaring contrast with YSL's ? Assuming he's innocent (by now I'm sure he's not), by coming out to face the allegations squarely will win him alot of new converts. Get my point?
Lilac66:
Steven Tan's case, as alleged, was a sexual harrassment case.Way2GO:
[quote=\"Lilac66\"]Yes, how about Steven Tan's case (as mentioned in my earlier post), which was circulated online?.
Diff fr YSL's case as it stands.
The reason for this earlier post is when the WP and YSL kept mum on this, and no action was taken. (bef YSL's resignation).
The pt I'm trying to drive at is that the sexual harrassment was only \"rumoured\", circulating online. Yet, this candidate came out in the open to refute the allegations . At least ,with this, some that were sitting on the fence , might be won over that he may be innocent.
See the glaring contrast with YSL's ? Assuming he's innocent (by now I'm sure he's not), by coming out to face the allegations squarely will win him alot of new converts. Get my point?
[/quote]I'm with u on this, Lilac66. I think it's important for us to know. Ass I've mentioned b4. We all can rightly call this a 'Rumor', but certainly not right for YSL to call this a 'Rumor'. He is in the position of the 1st person in this allegation. To YSL, it's either a total refutation, or a total admission. YSL cannot & shd not call this a 'Rumor'. It a wrong terminology, because, he, of all people here, knows the truth...so YSL shd either come out strongly to threaten a law suit for defamation, because it's all a fabricated lie. Else, admit it & apologize to all aggrieved parties, & he may in the process win some sympathies, but not mine lah...
Vote PAP:
YSL: thank u for d good lead? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Lilac66, u r absolutely right. How can we separate private from politics...? They r not mutually exclusive. Will political act impact us on a private level..? Let me site a hypothetical: if a housewife A goes to MP YSL's meet the people seeking help in her predicament, saying that her husband is hvg EMA with a WP member, a party tt she happens to support. What is going to be YSL's wise advice? I guess we cannot refute the potential conflict here. YSL
Is no longer able to give credible advice either way...right...? -
Lilac66:
No action/no comment is one course of action.
Don't want to go into details on Steve Tan's case.
Suffice to say he n party took d best course of least risk n PAP can afford not to field him.
I got ur point but I don't agree with d comparison.
Diff situations call for diff response.
Don't wanna go over old ground dat I hv covered
(but those points r in dis forum if u care to read). :celebrate: -
Anyways, I guess, WP is really caught up in this predicament lah hor. Damned if they do, & damned if they don't. I guess LTK wld be fielding a candidate more carefully the next time & choosing his successor more wisely the next time...? Well, whoever & whichever party we vote for, shd hv the voters' best interest at heart. We are all born with self control. Thus, when we encounter temptation that we hv no weapons against, it's wise to flee, so that we dun hurt our loved ones & the ones who entrusted us with their well being, the ppl in the constituency...
YSL: thank u for d good lead? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Vote PAP:
Lilac66, u r absolutely right. How can we separate private from politics...? They r not mutually exclusive. Will political act impact us on a private level..? Let me site a hypothetical: if a housewife A goes to MP YSL's meet the people seeking help in her predicament, saying that her husband is hvg EMA with a WP member, a party tt she happens to support. What is going to be YSL's wise advice? I guess we cannot refute the potential conflict here. YSL
Is no longer able to give credible advice either way...right...?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.