Q&A - P1 Chinese

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    235 Posts 46 Posters 129.8k Views 1 Watching
      Daddy D

Encountered this when doing 听写...

How to explain to a P1 why 蚂蚁 的 蚂 is 第三声?
      Ma3 yi3
      I managed to google...
      两个第三声的字连在一起时前面那个字要变音.
      but all throw back to teacher liao :razz:

bakebean

Daddy 😧

Ma3 yi3
        I managed to google...
        两个第三声的字连在一起时前面那个字要变音.
        some sharing ...

If we go in depth, topic on 变音/变调 can be a chapter by itself 😄.

Your mentioned example is classified under “上声的变调”。 “上声” (上read as shang'3 and not shang'4) = 第三声, and within 1 tone, it consists of a few different degree of notes, like learning music.

But for Primary, maybe even Secondary, they are are not introduced to this level of pinyin. Usually they will be asked to remember there is a need to \"tune\" the tone without asking why :whut:

extracted from 高等学校文科教材 《现代汉语》 上册 , Pg 102
        在语流中,有些音节的声调起了一定的变化,与单读时调值不同,这种变化叫做变调。音节变调多数是受后一个音节声调的影响引起的。

两个上声相连,前一个上声调值变35,这叫逆行异化;在原为上声改读轻声的字音前,则有两种不同的变调,有的变35,有的变21。

例如:
        在上声前
        1、水果 (变35)

在轻声前
        1、想起 (变35)
        2、姐姐 (变21)

micollh

Daddy 😧

Ma3 yi3
          I managed to google...
          两个第三声的字连在一起时前面那个字要变音.
          if two 第三声together.. we should red the first as Ma2 yi3.. this is what i remembered my chinese teacher taught me donkey years back..

Daddy D

bakebean:

some sharing ...
            If we go in depth, topic on 变音/变调 can be a chapter...
            Thanks for sharing.
            Sibei chim...
            Think I'll just ask dd to memorize bah...
            Save my time :razz:

Daddy D

micollh:
              Daddy 😧

Ma3 yi3
              I managed to google...
              两个第三声的字连在一起时前面那个字要变音.

if two 第三声together.. we should red the first as Ma2 yi3.. this is what i remembered my chinese teacher taught me donkey years back..

Ya... My Chinese teacher also taught that donkey years back.
              But I think the Chinese teachings nowadays diluted liao...

Daddy 😧

Ya... My Chinese teacher also taught that donkey years back.
                But I think the Chinese teachings nowadays diluted liao...
                ? Or is it the standard of chinese teachers nowadays are... :censored: :evil:

• drwhoD Offline
                  drwho

anyone has good Chinese home tutor to recommend around tampines area please?

i tried coaching my P1 kid but vomit blood.. :imdrowning:
                  :imdrowning:

Daddy D

What's the correct meaning for \"我今天好不开心啊\"

Means very happy, or very sad?
                    Dd's chinese enrichment teacher told them it means very happy.
                    I googled... Some say happy... 好不 is to emphasize...
                    While most would say it means sad...

I think not commonly used bah...
                    Duh... 🤷

bakebean

直白来说,“好不开心”就是指“非常开心”。

在中学生的文章中我不时能看见“好不”的运用。而对小学生而言,这显然是“新鲜”词。很多时候就得看小孩的词量的吸收,语法的掌握还是离不开多阅读、多用。

Again, if we going to go in depth, we need to learn about the history and fundamental of 《汉语语法与修辞》, which is similar to grammar. This is going to be tough (in local context) for teacher to explain to a Primary level student, hence the \"best way\" is to get them to memorize instead of deriving them. Just like building vocabulary.

In brief ... ...

语法就是语言的结构规则。语法是语言的要素之一,没有语法,语言便无法形成。语法作为规则限制着人们的语言行为,同时也为话语的生成提供了依据。人们掌握了一定数量的词汇之后,利用有限的语法规则就可以造出无限多的句子。从听读者的角度看,语法又是理解话语意思的认知规则。

修辞在多数情况下可以看作是一种选择活动。在语言运用中,一个意思、一个思想内容往往可以用不同的语言形式来表达,这些表达形式有着自己的特点和表达效果。

Daddy D

bakebean:
                        直白来说,“好不开心”就是指“非常开心”。

在中学生的文章中我不时能看见“好不”的运用。而对小学生而言,这显然是“新鲜”词。很多时候就得看小孩的词量的吸收,语法的掌握还是离不开多阅读、多用。

Again, if we going to go in depth, we need to learn about the history and fundamental of 《汉语语法与修辞》, which is similar to grammar. This is going to be tough (in local context) for teacher to explain to a Primary level student, hence the \"best way\" is to get them to memorize instead of deriving them. Just like building vocabulary.

In brief ... ...

语法就是语言的结构规则。语法是语言的要素之一,没有语法,语言便无法形成。语法作为规则限制着人们的语言行为,同时也为话语的生成提供了依据。人们掌握了一定数量的词汇之后,利用有限的语法规则就可以造出无限多的句子。从听读者的角度看,语法又是理解话语意思的认知规则。

修辞在多数情况下可以看作是一种选择活动。在语言运用中,一个意思、一个思想内容往往可以用不同的语言形式来表达,这些表达形式有着自己的特点和表达效果。
                        Thanks for enlightening... still very chim... and my kid only P1... cannot imagine what's next?
                        :faint:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 24

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        wfrabbitW
                        wfrabbit
                        EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring