Net rumour that Yaw Shin Leong having extra-maritial affair
Pardon my ignorance - only Men in white can send candidate is it for by election against WP? Can Nicole Seah be fielded for this by election?
HVR:
Agree with your view. From WP's action we all know it is no longer a rumor. Why would WP expel him otherwise? You think WP did not tell him of the consequences if he had 'no comment'?[/quote]Angelight:
Yeah, just saw the news headline on CNA. And chairman SL apologies to Hougang residents for putting them thru a by-election. No reason was given for his sack, but we all know what it is.
I'm disappointed that it has taken WP so long to do the right thing - asked YSL to come clean with the EMA allegation and removed him from the party. This is the 'transparency' and 'accountability' they have been trumpeting during the GE to the ruling party.
I guess LTK and SL were trying to avoid a by-election, so they rather covered up the whole mess YSL had created, hence 'condoning' his actions. But they probably realised this is doing more harm than good to their party.
[quote=\"concern2\"]BREAKING NEWS: YSL SACKED FROM WP!!!
From what I understand, SL claimed they asked YSL to address the allegations but he refused. I think that's why WP took some time to respond as they are the 3rd party, not first party. So they cannot refute on his behalf.
By sacking him, they must think he's definitely guilty.
ok, my respect and support for WP has gone up a couple of notches liao.
HVR:
mebbe it's not angela? :evil: :evil:
Pls lah it is still a rumor? Don't be technical lah. 1 + 1 is 2 and 3 - 1 is not 2? 2 is 2 right?
There may be truth that he got character flaw.. if that is what matters to you.
But the TR article itself may not be 100% true.. there could be other stories..
So.. while it is safe to assume that YSL is not so \"innocent\".. the article, in itself, is still a rumour.. until proven or ack by the involved parties.
I would consider YSL as \"questionable\" or got character flaw.. but will not believe in the article yet..
Impossible/difficult to find evidence does not equate to justifying a rumour as \"fact\".
Maybe it's just me.. oh well..... so be it..
I only believe in hard facts and evidences..
Just recalled this particular article I read recently.. A boy claimed that while making ice-cream, the hot milk freezes faster than cold milk. It is convenient to assume that cold liquid freeze faster, yes/no? It is natural to assume that he muz be seeing things or lying.. yes/no?
But, w/o actually having seeing the evidence, his teachers and friends all dismiss him as nut case and laugh at him.
It is just so \"unbelievable\" that he is speaking the truth, that hot liquid can freeze faster than cold ones.. Just like it is so unlikely that the rumor is not true, given that he was sacked, keep quiet etc.. isn't it?
So.. was the boy lying? those interested can google or read up on \"The Mpemba effect\".
I donโt quite understand the term by-election. By-election within WP? Or any other party to contest for hougang?
By election means WP and another party (most probably PAP) will contest for the MP seat in Hougang. Correct me if Iโm wrong?
HVR:
Breaking News: WP did the right thing by giving Yaw the Boot...!
limlim, I give you credit for posting the link. I don't think msm carry the denial story as well, I stand corrected.limlim:
something to read.. not sure if it is OT in your opinion.
http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/comment-about-k-shanmugam-withdrawn/
Question.. is.. it is stated that they can't trace the person who made the allegation.. what's your views? can't trace or not interested to trace?
any comments?
In my view, can trace or cannot trace the accuser is secondary. It's simple and striaghtforward, now that the accused party had threatened to sue, the accuser can come forward to identify himself if he can substantiate his allegation. Anything less just reinforce the notion that some people are out to smear and damage other with malicious rumours just because they are anti govt.
We didn't hear YSL or WP threaten to sue anyone, which I think they should if the allegation is not true. However, they chose to have no comment. -
Vote PAP:
Breaking News: WP did the right thing by giving Yaw the Boot...![/quote]Just read ST and it was indeed reported in the paper regarding the intention to sue. From the same report it also appears that a few individuals who made the defamatory posts could end up being traced. It will not be the end of the matter anytime soon.
limlim, I give you credit for posting the link. I don't think msm carry the denial story as well, I stand corrected.HVR:
[quote=\"limlim\"]something to read.. not sure if it is OT in your opinion.
http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/comment-about-k-shanmugam-withdrawn/
Question.. is.. it is stated that they can't trace the person who made the allegation.. what's your views? can't trace or not interested to trace?
any comments?
In my view, can trace or cannot trace the accuser is secondary. It's simple and striaghtforward, now that the accused party had threatened to sue, the accuser can come forward to identify himself if he can substantiate his allegation. Anything less just reinforce the notion that some people are out to smear and damage other with malicious rumours just because they are anti govt.
We didn't hear YSL or WP threaten to sue anyone, which I think they should if the allegation is not true. However, they chose to have no comment. -
VotePaP, u start new thread on this by election leh... Sounds more apt
:razz:
This YSL news can take a backseat. -
I had a lump in my throat when I heard d news.
A bold move.
Harsh but necessary to win d hearts of SGreans n regain d faith.
This decision came just one day after a Minister moved to suppress netizensโ
sharing of an alleged affair by threatening to sue.
Wat a contrast in style n accountability.
WP has just up d ante on morality in political figures.
Kudos to WP.
I salute u. :salute: :salute: :salute: -
There is this thing called reasonable inference. Since the PRC tuition teacher Did in fact confirm their EMA, we can safely infer that all other allegations to be true, as well. In addition, pls analyse the fact that YSL did not even fight to stay on, if in fact all allegations are false, speaks volumes. Rational men would expect YSL to protest vigorously, if he is innocent of the allegations. Rational men would also realize that if WP wrongly sacks YSL, YSL can sue for wrongful termination of membership. So, please add them all up & we can see only one rational conclusion...
mebbe it's not angela? :evil: :evil:HVR:
Pls lah it is still a rumor? Don't be technical lah. 1 + 1 is 2 and 3 - 1 is not 2? 2 is 2 right?
There may be truth that he got character flaw.. if that is what matters to you.
But the TR article itself may not be 100% true.. there could be other stories..
So.. while it is safe to assume that YSL is not so \"innocent\".. the article, in itself, is still a rumour.. until proven or ack by the involved parties.
I would consider YSL as \"questionable\" or got character flaw.. but will not believe in the article yet..
Impossible/difficult to find evidence does not equate to justifying a rumour as \"fact\".
Maybe it's just me.. oh well..... so be it..
I only believe in hard facts and evidences..
Just recalled this particular article I read recently.. A boy claimed that while making ice-cream, the hot milk freezes faster than cold milk. It is convenient to assume that cold liquid freeze faster, yes/no? It is natural to assume that he muz be seeing things or lying.. yes/no?
But, w/o actually having seeing the evidence, his teachers and friends all dismiss him as nut case and laugh at him.
It is just so \"unbelievable\" that he is speaking the truth, that hot liquid can freeze faster than cold ones.. Just like it is so unlikely that the rumor is not true, given that he was sacked, keep quiet etc.. isn't it?
So.. was the boy lying? those interested can google or read up on \"The Mpemba effect\".
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.