[Seng Kang] Primary Schools
Hi Larkspur, Thank you for your info and advice. Guess there's nothing much I can do about getting into P2B in NCPS...can only pray lor. If situation not so good in P2C, think I'll just go for AGPS.
:thankyou: -
Not going for Mee Toh cos not comfortable with the religion affiliation. (no offense to anyone).
timtim:
Why don't you try Mee Toh? I heard it's good too. I heard not all SHHK members get recommended for P2B, as they also look at whether they are active members.
Hi ,
Can anyone advice why mee toh is also good as compare to NCP ?
Thanks
Desmond -
Im AA
new to This Forum
But Can anyone shown the last p1 (2012) ballot result for Primary school in SK?
Much appreciated.
AA -
:welcome:
wiser:
Here you are: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/seng-kangBut Can anyone shown the last p1 (2012) ballot result for Primary school in SK?
2011 phase 2C balloting results:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=490&start=560 -
Straits Times, March 17, 2012:-
http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_778406.html
Pace of paper chase too stressful for pupils
RECENTLY, my nephew woke up his parents in the middle of the night, worried that he had forgotten to complete one assignment that had to be submitted in the morning.
He is only a Primary 2 pupil of Seng Kang Primary School, and yet has trouble sleeping because of schoolwork. It was not like this when he started Primary 1, which he enjoyed.
Overloaded with assignments and projects, he spends four hours a day doing schoolwork, and more on weekends. As both his parents work, they do not have much time to supervise or tutor him.
At his age, acquiring knowledge should be a pleasure as he explores every step of his learning journey.
When we checked with the school, we were told that it is working towards achieving top school status. We were shocked that a school that aspires to be among the top pushes its pupils so hard at the expense of their personal development.
At the pace the school is setting, the pupils' interest and enthusiasm for learning will be lost.
Many parents who enrol their children in neighbourhood schools hope that their young ones will enjoy their learning journeys, which will help them throughout their lives.
As much as we appreciate a good education, there are other values that the school should not ignore, especially when it comes to the well-being of a child.
What we fear most is the psychological impact on the children as a result of being pushed so hard at such a young age. -
Straits Times, July 24, 2008
http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_260714.html
Newer schools in a class of their own
North Vista Primary
At NORTH Vista Primary in Sengkang, teachers do not have a set lesson plan.
Instead, the children decide what they want to learn and the teachers shape lessons around their suggestions.
The method is based on a famous Italian approach called Reggio Emilia, which is named after a northern city admired for its preschools. The free rein is said to encourage creativity and help children absorb lessons they might otherwise find dry.
North Vista Primary, which opened in January, is one of many new neighbourhood schools experimenting with revolutionary teaching methods that rival those of established schools.
Even though the well-known schools get all the attention during the rush for Primary 1 registration, there is a quiet revolution going on in these neighbourhood schools, which are eager to attract pupils.
North Vista's principal, Mr Phua Kia Wang, said he was intrigued by the Italian approach after seeing it applied first-hand.
Teachers in his school have set topics to teach, but personalise them to suit each class.
The school's Reggio Emilia approach is not limited to the classroom. When the school was designing its library, it asked the pupils to draw their 'dream library'.
The exercise yielded suggestions such as 'submarine', 'ship', 'jungle', 'aquarium' and 'ice-cream parlour'.
Save for the ice-cream parlour, which is still in the works, all other elements have been incorporated into the impressive-looking library.
Among other things, it includes a shipwreck model with bookshelves and a submarine-themed room where the children can view videos.
Mr Phua said his aim is to make North Vista Primary a fun place for its 200 pupils 'so that they love coming to school'.
So, while a typical schoolday is 90 minutes longer at North Vista than most other primary schools - it runs from 8am to 2.20pm - pupils get two recesses.
'Children need to play, to interact and pick up social skills,' said Mr Phua.
In Punggol, another new school, Greendale Primary, is also taking a novel approach. It has introduced science from Primary 1, a subject that is usually taught only from Primary 3.
During the hour-long lesson once a week, pupils learn to use their five senses, picking up skills such as observation, comparison and classification.
Teachers said the hands-on activities help to keep pupils, who have short attention spans, interested.
Moses Low, eight, who is in Primary 2, said he enjoyed the science classes.
'I smelled a powder and guessed that it was pepper, and felt for numbers inside a bag to match them,' he said.
Meanwhile, Innova Primary in Woodlands is placing heavy emphasis on sports and fitness. All Primary 1 to 3 pupils get four periods - or two hours - of physical education lessons a week.
The school has hired coaches to teach sports like fencing, swimming and badminton during curriculum time.
Principal Michel Saw said he hopes to groom the pupils so that they can make it to the nearby Singapore Sports School.
'It's part of holistic development of children and if they are talented, this would give them a headstart.
He also hopes to teach his pupils values through sports.
'If the children can bounce back from defeat, this would put them in good stead.
'I hope they will be humble as a winner, and learn that you are only as good as your last victory,' he said.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4488&start=220
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33393 -
Anybody notice the new \"advertising\" banner on its fence recently?
Supposedly to congratulate its current batch of PSLE achievers w the students' names listed under top sec sch headings, such as RI, Hwa Chong Int'l, RGS, Dunman etc.
Need to b so balantly KS meh? :evil:
Only 2-3 names under each heading what..
Straits Times, March 17, 2012:-
http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_778406.html
Pace of paper chase too stressful for pupils
RECENTLY, my nephew woke up his parents in the middle of the night, worried that he had forgotten to complete one assignment that had to be submitted in the morning.
He is only a Primary 2 pupil of Seng Kang Primary School, and yet has trouble sleeping because of schoolwork. It was not like this when he started Primary 1, which he enjoyed.
Overloaded with assignments and projects, he spends four hours a day doing schoolwork, and more on weekends. As both his parents work, they do not have much time to supervise or tutor him.
At his age, acquiring knowledge should be a pleasure as he explores every step of his learning journey.
When we checked with the school, we were told that it is working towards achieving top school status. We were shocked that a school that aspires to be among the top pushes its pupils so hard at the expense of their personal development.
At the pace the school is setting, the pupils' interest and enthusiasm for learning will be lost.
Many parents who enrol their children in neighbourhood schools hope that their young ones will enjoy their learning journeys, which will help them throughout their lives.
As much as we appreciate a good education, there are other values that the school should not ignore, especially when it comes to the well-being of a child.
What we fear most is the psychological impact on the children as a result of being pushed so hard at such a young age. -
Seng Kang primary 2011 PSLE results
LYNN HTET AUNG 272 (Top student)
KOH CHEE HENG ANDY 269
BRYAN NG KAI JUN 265
CHUA XIN YI, CINDY 265
CHLOE SEE JING NING 263
WIN TUN KYAW 263
REN WEILIN 260
HOU YUNHAN 259
LEE SHI YUAN 256
LIU CHEN EN 256
TAN JIN XIAN CYRUS 256
LIM LECARL 255
POH XUE QI 254
THAM YAO CI 254
GOH YI JING, JAIME 253
IGNATIUS LEE SI WEI 252
PEH WEI TING, JESLYN 252
MIRA NATASHA BTE MOHD EMRAN 251
http://www.sengkangpri.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=1130895
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.