Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level
I wasn't upset lah... No need sorry lah... I was just tired of explaining... and well, I guessed as much that personal experience is what stands between us. Sob!
Alamak dahling.. I love u too n I do want really to support your cause n other good causes. The two schools I always lovingly mention n my frenz kids' schools (another 2) though not perfect cause still got bad apples...are almost problem free. Hence what I'm trying to say is honestly from the bottom of my heart that I cannot feel the same frustrations (yet)
as yourself n many others. I do close one eye to small stuff tt I dun find worth sweating about but I do care if there are big things tt needs change.
As a school n moe itself are made up of many diff depts n many many people working the ground where to begin?
I do still hv chubs gg to school in six years time u noe n as with other worthy causes I do want to support yours.
I hope I'm better understood this time.
Sorry if I made you upset with the initial post. :imsorry:
There will ever exist a gap neither of us can bridge. Sob! Sniff! Bawl! We can only blow kisses to each other across the wide chasm of misunderstanding. Sob! Sniff! Bawl! -
-deleted-
I delete. You oso delete ok?
:rotflmao: Wah, Chen! :bewaremod: -
How come suddenly so many deleted posts?
Sori, accidentally selected 'report this post' LOL! Anyway, now it's gone.
I delete. You oso delete ok?concern2:
:rotflmao: Wah, Chen! :bewaremod: -
Mods on overdrive?
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
:rotflmao: Sh...girl-talk, girl-talk... We auto-MOD -
Personal experiences are what separates many n I am trying to grasp the frustrations of many from the small not-so-pleasant experiences we’ve had. Just that most times issues of whatever kind have been resolved quickly n positively btwn teachers and/or HODs/Principal.
But I do agree tt our system is not world class.
With the kind of Science textbooks we have, far from it I say… -
A revolution also begins with small steps... sweeping changes may not occur in our lifetime or our children's lifetime.... We can begin to act by refusing to give in to what we consider as unreasonable demands.
Give us a chance. When gentle autumnbronze surfaces as her wintersteel alter ego, I wouldn't pick a fight with her. It doesn't take much. Just speak to people. Talk about it. Explain. Chat. Post your thoughts. Every one you talk to and convince is one more voice. Write in Facebook, those who know how.doodbug:
I am afraid, many of us, who are less verbose, and less determined, will succumb to accepting the system as it is, and expending whatever strength we have left to help our kids through the system.
I salute you though, Chenonceau :udawoman:
After I started sharing with friends that I got DS to withdraw from supplementary classes, they followed suit not because they are doing copy-cat but they thought through their own reasons and stood up to the school. School gave them a very hard time. They then had to still pick up their courage and follow-through with their decision.
Each of us needs to take small actions of courage in a system that has been well-oiled to get compliance from not just students but parents as well. The word \"compulsory\" is already enough to trigger fears of even the smartest parent. When we are afraid, we comply. When we are afraid, we stop thinking.
When we speak up or act to move against the tide, we are also standing up against our own fears. -
beanbear:
:goodpost:
Each of us needs to take small actions of courage in a system that has been well-oiled to get compliance from not just students but parents as well. The word \"compulsory\" is already enough to trigger fears of even the smartest parent. When we are afraid, we comply. When we are afraid, we stop thinking.
When we speak up or act to move against the tide, we are also standing up against our own fears.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.