Child Underperforms Because Tested Above Cognitive Level

526 Posts 47 Posters 114.7k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

If not, enough people must know about this so that in 2016 we have a voice.

Come on. We are Mothers. Ours are the hands that rule the world because we rock the cradle.

Speak gently. Speak softly. Speak clearly. Speak with strength. Speak with dignity. Till 2016.
      :salute: :salute:

I do think the system has been thus for too long. It takes someone with guts and will, and a strong conviction that something has to be done - not just intelligence - to make changes. I don't think we'll see this in the next 5 years.

• doodbugD Offline
        doodbug

If not, enough people must know about this so that in 2016 we have a voice.

Come on. We are Mothers. Ours are the hands that rule the world because we rock the cradle.

Speak gently. Speak softly. Speak clearly. Speak with strength. Speak with dignity. Till 2016.

:salute: :salute:

I do think the system has been thus for too long. It takes someone with guts and will, and a strong conviction that something has to be done - not just intelligence - to make changes. I don't think we'll see this in the next 5 years.

I'm also pessimistic. Because overhauling the system involves killing too many sacred cows šŸ™‚ Fundamentally, I think the root of the problem likes with how much is at stake at the PSLE. Must the PSLE be such a deterministic examination? Unfortunately, it is. Because we have a clear hierarchy of secondary schools.

There is nothing wrong with the PSLE per se as a national examinations. It's how much it counts for that is causing the entire frenzy. Even with good textbooks and resources, if the PSLE is a streaming examination, it will still evoke stress and frenzy.

And because PSLE is so much of a streaming examination, it is a means by which our society is stratified. It streams, so it stratifies. And our kids are all banded into schools of students with similar capabilities, mindsets, interests. Hmm don't we learn alot more from diversity and the richness that diversity brings?

I dunno abt other schools but the teachers in both schools my girls were/are in share resources with one another all the children benefit from it. They are the schools during my DD's registration phase which were the least popular... schools nobody wanted to be in. 🤷

Aaaaaaaaaaargh... we are back to talking about individual schools/trees again... *hyperventilate*

Never mind, my love... still love you. šŸ’‹ We dun have to agree to love each other :snuggles:

Alamak dahling.. I love u too n I do want really to support your cause n other good causes. The two schools I always lovingly mention n my frenz kids' schools (another 2) though not perfect cause still got bad apples...are almost problem free. Hence what I'm trying to say is honestly from the bottom of my heart that I cannot feel the same frustrations (yet) šŸ˜“ as yourself n many others. I do close one eye to small stuff tt I dun find worth sweating about but I do care if there are big things tt needs change.

As a school n moe itself are made up of many diff depts n many many people working the ground where to begin?

I do still hv chubs gg to school in six years time u noe n as with other worthy causes I do want to support yours.

I hope I'm better understood this time.

Sorry if I made you upset with the initial post. :imsorry:

• doodbugD Offline
            doodbug

doodbug:

I am afraid, many of us, who are less verbose, and less determined, will succumb to accepting the system as it is, and expending whatever strength we have left to help our kids through the system.

I salute you though, Chenonceau :udawoman:

Give us a chance. When gentle autumnbronze surfaces as her wintersteel alter ego, I wouldn't pick a fight with her. It doesn't take much. Just speak to people. Talk about it. Explain. Chat. Post your thoughts. Every one you talk to and convince is one more voice. Write in Facebook, those who know how.

okay I am trying. I've erstwhile not said anything before today! As can be seen by my low count of posts. heheheh. Have to admit - am slightly inspired by your writing lah.

Chenonceau

Alamak dahling.. I love u too n I do want really to support your cause n other good causes. The two schools I always lovingly mention n my frenz kids' schools (another 2) though not perfect cause still got bad apples...are almost problem free. Hence what I'm trying to say is honestly from the bottom of my heart that I cannot feel the same frustrations (yet) šŸ˜“ as yourself n many others. I do close one eye to small stuff tt I dun find worth sweating about but I do care if there are big things tt needs change.

As a school n moe itself are made up of many diff depts n many many people working the ground where to begin?

I do still hv chubs gg to school in six years time u noe n as with other worthy causes I do want to support yours.

I hope I'm better understood this time.

Sorry if I made you upset with the initial post. :imsorry:
              I wasn't upset lah... No need sorry lah... I was just tired of explaining... and well, I guessed as much that personal experience is what stands between us. Sob!

There will ever exist a gap neither of us can bridge. Sob! Sniff! Bawl! We can only blow kisses to each other across the wide chasm of misunderstanding. Sob! Sniff! Bawl!

concern2

-deleted-

Chenonceau

:rotflmao: Wah, Chen! :bewaremod:
                  I delete. You oso delete ok?

How come suddenly so many deleted posts?

concern2

:rotflmao: Wah, Chen! :bewaremod:

I delete. You oso delete ok?

Sori, accidentally selected 'report this post' LOL! Anyway, now it's gone.

Sun_2010

How come suddenly so many deleted posts?

Mods on overdrive?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 53

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018