MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 458.1k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

laughingcat:

I am speaking on the ground that my child was granted a position in the foreign country school. Schools with deep history and are even more elistic than in SGP. How did we get in, in the first place? Based on entry level. Being PR, I need to pay alot high price as compared to the local PR here.

Well....our education policy sucks when comes to PR. As what you mentioned here do we all just buy in and keep quiet? As quote by you \"The world is flat, may as well get used to it.\" Nope. Even though a certain % still think that the world is flat, people will try to prove that the world is round.

P-school or Uni?

My boys are not in Uni yet. Way long long. i hope they are asap.....I can then relax relax liao.

magiccastle:
        How about the uncompleted pty development that is near to the school? Anyone can sharing What is current ruling? If one purchases the pty under development but top is 2015, can the person use the address to register in 2013 for the child p1 in 2014?

Yes, you need to produce the relevant documents to show that you are an owner of the property there and will be assuming this address.

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

Sorry I am lost...topic no more about alumni? :? About SG citizens versus non-citizens?

haha!

Looks like the KSP here have narrowed the \"culprits\" of the problems to 2 key areas:

- alumni/non-alumni
          - SG/Non-SG

And at the moment, the hottest topic bc the latter.

Haha :rotflmao: off topic liao.....better be on track otherwise kena :nunchuk:

Solie eh.....when comes to SG vs non-SG..... I am very HOT HOT :stompfeet:

laughingcat:

Start another thread on this lor....should be fun to watch the debate.. Quick laughing cat...chiong. maybe something like \"what do you enjoy as pink ic, blue ic or no ic?\"................

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

laughingcat:

Start another thread on this lor....should be fun to watch the debate.. Quick laughing cat...chiong. maybe something like \"what do you enjoy as pink ic, blue ic or no ic?\"................

I would love to start this thread but then cannot right in this KSP forum as this will go viral and can steer unnecessary ill feelings. I don't want this thread to be like that of TR.

laughingcat:

[quote=\"laughingcat\"]

I would love to start this thread but then cannot right in this KSP forum as this will go viral and can steer unnecessary ill feelings. I don't want this thread to be like that of TR.[/quote]Parents here still more open-minded and controlled compared to many other forums....yes it runs the risks and what it needs is close monitoring.
                Between discussing and pent-it-up, really up to all of you...

magiccastle

If we are looking at the issue of p1 registration, the focus shd not just on the alumni. I mentioned the pty issue because it will be truly unfair that just bec I put a deposit to purchase the pty in feb 2012which is not even on construction yet I can register my child in July this year for the school near to the new pty project . So anyone with $$ who is not residing near to the school can compete with the existing residents . If this is current ruling, it has to be changed. It shd be after top and staying at the pty at the year of registration for p1.

vicki

Regarding property, maybe they can hve a clause that says you have to stay in that property that u use to register the kid till at least end of P4 year, unless due to specific reasons, ie, bankruptcy? N also rental units NOT allowed to be used as within 2km distance, as a >2km distance instead.

Wonder if it can cut down on the number of ‘within 2km’ applicants?

Mod's Note:

As the topic of SG kids vs non-SG kids is a hot topic for P1 registration, I have removed it and put under this thread to continue the discussion:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=32436&start=40

All other categories will be discussed here with ALUMNI as the main focus as the title suggests. If I notice any other category being a major concern, I may split the topic again for more focused discussion.

• jenaoJ Offline
                        jenao

Popular schools will always have more applicants than places and I don’t think there is a fair way to this. Even if you remove the phases and get everyone to ballot, the person staying next to the school but did not get in will not be happy. He will have to put up with the traffic and noises everyday at his place and yet take a bus to to another school.

And if you go with proximity, then those with money will be able to buy up the property near the school. Mostly the rich benefit. Also not fair. Or people will rent or come up with lots of solution to show that they have an address near the school just to get a higher balloting chance.

I think the current system is as good as it gets. Alumni/clan assocation benefits the school and it is reasonable that parents want their children to go to their school with the same tradition, history, religion, culture. Same with PV, they benefit the school. Though some may not be happy with the way the PVs are selected. And if they combine all Ph 2 (those with connnections) instead of 2A1 and 2A2 and 2B and get everyone to ballot together instead of having priority given to a particular group now, is it better and fairer? Or they reprioritise the phases with active alumni as 2A1, PV as 2A2 and so on and so forth is it better and fairer?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 197