GEP and IQ
Friendship
The scholarship is based on them retaining their GEP status meaning they need to score well. Even main streamers who score well can get scholarship.
Some parents simply like the prestige associated with GEP. That’s why they push non Gifted children through tuitions to get in. But these pp won’t survive in the GEP system becoz it is rigorous. Only those who are really gifted can stay easily.
Eventually they go out to start their career the same way as others. Pp will look at their degrees. If they are gifted and able to score well, then they will move up the ladder quickly. But if they don’t score well, even if they were in GEP wouldn’t make a difference. I think you are confused that you associate GEP students with good scoring children. They may not in the same group. I studied with many GEP students before and these pp are so brilliant that they can play all day and still juggle many things and school work. Their thread of thoughts are complex and you can tell just by talking to them. When I had difficulties in my sch work, I went to them for help. They didn’t even need tuition ok? These are the truly gifted pp. It is not something parents can change if their kids aren’t in the first place.
So prestigious or not, I think we should just let it be. If our kids are gifted, we should let them bloom. If they aren’t, we should just find out what they excel in and help them. Don’t need to add additional stress if they can’t do it. -
As a laymen term, anything mentioned GEP, all of us will think ‘must be cream of the cake, top achievers’. Expectations are higher mah.
friendship:
Actually the complaints is not about the academic but the endless projects.In MOE website reading Scholarship topic, it stated that GEP students are given scholarship for the rest of their education. Is it true?
If GEP are eventually lead to the same as mainstreamers in career and life, why P3 parents are so kan chiong going for GEP Training. Some are not even real GEP, no wonder some children complaint they felt stressful. Real GEPers should enjoy the programme instead of stress. -
friendship:
If it is stated in the MOE website then it must be true. BUT it isn't stated in the MOE website. I'm very certain that GEP students are not 'given scholarships for the rest of their education'. Perhaps you might like to direct us to the page you were reading?In MOE website reading Scholarship topic, it stated that GEP students are given scholarship for the rest of their education. Is it true?
What you might be alluding to is the EESIS scholarship, which mainstreamers are entitled to as well. And no, GEP students aren't automatically awarded EESIS. There are ex-GEP students who were not awarded EESIS. -
If got guaranteed scholarship for the rest of their education I oso wan for my DD until PhD
If it is stated in the MOE website then it must be true. BUT it isn't stated in the MOE website. I'm very certain that GEP students are not 'given scholarships for the rest of their education'. Perhaps you might like to direct us to the page you were reading?friendship:
In MOE website reading Scholarship topic, it stated that GEP students are given scholarship for the rest of their education. Is it true?
What you might be alluding to is the EESIS scholarship, which mainstreamers are entitled to as well. And no, GEP students aren't automatically awarded EESIS. There are ex-GEP students who were not awarded EESIS.
But I think wait long long oso dun have lor..... -
The funny thing is - it was a pair of child psychologists who encouraged me to do something for my then 15months old child... My child is normal - definitely no sign of autism/ADHD whatever. If anything, he is just a little faster in terms of his development but nothing to shout about. The two met my child and us on several occasions, brief social setting. They did comment occasionally that my child was bright but I thought it was because my child was responding well to them.Actually there is no necessity to do IQ test if a child just demonstrates high ability to achieve many things and have no issues. More often than not, an IQ test becomes a necessity when some problems are detected in a child and doing an IQ test helps to understand the cause. This is why psychologist would come from a problem-based approach. Honestly, is gutfeel not good enough to develop a child if a child demonstrates high ability?
Children with high IQ typically have a disconnect in some other areas resulting in somewhat problematic issues. This is when help is sought to manage it. If it is just a high IQ learner, just enjoy the child.
Because of their advise, I am left with this question mark for three years. -
Hmm agree. Cannot stand laughter? Oh gosh, she won't like me much either!
You are mistaken. There is not such promise of smooth sailing.friendship:
We know from our contacts, her son is now 23 years old. GEP student when he was 10 years old. Went to ACS I, IB programme. During NS time, not even clinched an officer rank. Applied for scholarship was rejected interview failed. Reason: the parents said their son's EQ is a hindrance.
What pissed us off, the mother expects every child to follow her son's style. Instead of playing or socialising with friends, her son will read book at one corner when he was younger till today. The mother will ask other children to keep quiet and read books, she can't stand the laughter of children.
I thought MOE GEP branch is promising their GEP students a 'Smooth' sailing education ranging from scholarship, white-horse treatment in NS, future CNB and SCDF Commissioner something like that.
Maybe that child's behaviour is not due to his EQ or IQ, but is so because of his mother. -
But still got pop parade or not?:offtopic:
Talking about White Horse, I am only aware that this status can be found in their medical document. I remember one of my mate was a judge's son and they only discovered it after he fell and bruised his shin. From there onwards, he missed most of BMT!! -
friendship:
Because what one cannot/don't have, is always the most desirable.... :evil:
If GEP are eventually lead to the same as mainstreamers in career and life, why P3 parents are so kan chiong going for GEP Training. Some are not even real GEP, no wonder some children complaint they felt stressful. Real GEPers should enjoy the programme instead of stress. -
i know of someone whom was formally assessed as top 1-2%% in verbal skills but only above average for maths skills but did not even pass 1st round of GEP selection test. it means GEP is more maths than language focused?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.