Q&A - P2 Math
May I know if there is any fixed rule in drawing models? Like when to draw 1 bar and when to draw 2 bars.
bezzlay:
May I know if there is any fixed rule in drawing models? Like when to draw 1 bar and when to draw 2 bars.
Hi
Generally, there are two types of models.
Part-Whole Model
Comparison Model
There is no fixed way to present the MD; you may arrange the boxes horizontally or in stack them up vertically and you may cut the boxes horizontally as well as vertically.
As your child is still in P2, it’s worthwhile to invest in a book on MD. They are available in Popular.
Best wishes -
tianzhu:
Thank you.bezzlay:
Hi
Generally, there are two types of models.
Part-Whole Model
Comparison Model
There is no fixed way to present the MD; you may arrange the boxes horizontally or in stack them up vertically and you may cut the boxes horizontally as well as vertically.
As your child is still in P2, it’s worthwhile to invest in a book on MD. They are available in Popular.
Best wishes -
tianzhu:
Hi tianzhu,As your child is still in P2, it’s worthwhile to invest in a book on MD. They are available in Popular.
Best wishes
Would you have a good reference to recommend?
Thanks in advance -
RRMummy:
Hi
Hi tianzhu,
Would you have a good reference to recommend?
Thanks in advance
I am a post PSLE dad and the books I used were bought in 2004/05.
These are three books which I learned MD from.
The Essential Parents’ Guide to Primary Maths by Dr Fong Ho Keong
Top marks by Dr Fong Ho Keong.
Maths Model Diagrams from Maths456 by Tan BM
You may also look at some of these books in Popular to see if they meet your needs.
Bar Modeling A Problem-solving Tool from Marshall Cavendish.
https://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=255&vpd001=96038
The Singapore Model Method For Learning Mathematics
https://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=255&vpd001=86532
Look out for some schools in MOE website as they are generous in sharing their slides on parents’ workshop or dialogue sessions. You may want to check with parents of current primary school going children.
Best wishes -
Hi Tianzhu,
Thank you once again for your great sharing.
No worries, I understand your concern about recommending me \"old\" reference. But I'm confident that if it had served you well to make you an expert then it's for sure a good one. I'll be happy if I can achieve half of your expertise!
:udaman: -
RRMummy:
HiHi Tianzhu,
Thank you once again for your great sharing.
No worries, I understand your concern about recommending me \"old\" reference. But I'm confident that if it had served you well to make you an expert then it's for sure a good one. I'll be happy if I can achieve half of your expertise!
Aiyo, if I could borrow Aunty Lucy’s favourite phrase “so embarrassing”.
I am no expert lah, just a “money not enough dad” who is forced by circumstances to pick up primary maths.
There are many external vendors providing courses on heuristics, but many do not come cheap.Some children may be privileged to receive them, but there are many who cannot afford to have them.
Actually I find the internet has helped to bring some useful resources to less privileged students. They can seek clarification from forums; some publishers like Maths 456 and Onsponge have worked solutions in their websites.
As I mentioned earlier, one may also find slide presentations from some schools that are more generous in sharing their parents’ dialogues or workshops(EMS and MT). The slides are uploaded in the school’s website. Perhaps you may want to start a thread on sharing of slides from various schools, hopefully, some parents of current primary school going children would like to share some information. Otherwise, it can be quite tedious to go through the list of schools in MOE website.
You may also find some useful slides here.
http://www.slideshare.net/jimmykeng/stu-seminar-on-the-model-method-in-mathematical-problem-solving-at-ntuc-centre-singapore-10-april-2010
Since 2009, I've noticed many new guide/ assessment books in the primary school section. Besides those books that I listed down, there are also many others. You may want to take a look at them when you are in Popular.
There is also another book which might be helpful to parents, Challenging Maths Made Easy by Ammiel Wan.
Best wishes -
Hi parents,
Do u still let your kids do addition n subtraction using fingers? My son is super careless, so have told him not to use any method like calculate mentally as his answer is always off by 1 or 2. Especially with the carry over and borrow method, he always make careless mistake, either copy the number wrongly or calculate wrongly using his ‘mental ability’. For eg, 4+3. he tells me 8. But upon staring at him, he will give me the right answe, 7. I believe he can calculate mentally but just careless at times. So I forbid him to calculate mentally. Told him to use finger to calculate and he will not get wrong. For eg, 12-8. Told him to imagine 2 is out, put up his 10 fingers and minus from his 10 fingers…like bending his finger count from 3,4,5 till 8. The remaining fingers is the answer. But I am wondering will I hinder him mentally as he goes along if I insist that he calculate using fingers. Hope to hear from experienced parents. Thanks. -
tianzhu:
Hi
Aiyo, if I could borrow Aunty Lucy’s favourite phrase “so embarrassing”.
I am no expert lah, just a “money not enough dad” who is forced by circumstances to pick up primary maths.
There are many external vendors providing courses on heuristics, but many do not come cheap.Some children may be privileged to receive them, but there are many who cannot afford to have them.
Actually I find the internet has helped to bring some useful resources to less privileged students. They can seek clarification from forums; some publishers like Maths 456 and Onsponge have worked solutions in their websites.
As I mentioned earlier, one may also find slide presentations from some schools that are more generous in sharing their parents’ dialogues or workshops(EMS and MT). The slides are uploaded in the school’s website. Perhaps you may want to start a thread on sharing of slides from various schools, hopefully, some parents of current primary school going children would like to share some information. Otherwise, it can be quite tedious to go through the list of schools in MOE website.
You may also find some useful slides here.
http://www.slideshare.net/jimmykeng/stu-seminar-on-the-model-method-in-mathematical-problem-solving-at-ntuc-centre-singapore-10-april-2010
Since 2009, I've noticed many new guide/ assessment books in the primary school section. Besides those books that I listed down, there are also many others. You may want to take a look at them when you are in Popular.
There is also another book which might be helpful to parents, Challenging Maths Made Easy by Ammiel Wan.
Best wishes
Mai paiseh la.. not only expert.. a real humble one too
Once again, thanks for highlighting the slides. great for additional read up.
As a matter of fact, I've directed someone to our very own KSP PSLE Maths thread. That in itself is a great resource!! No money for guessing who is the main contributor.. :evil:
:imcool:
:boogie: :rahrah:
Came across this question but I do not know what method can be used to solve it. Don’t think I can use algebra, right?
Q: Jane has equal number of apples and oranges. After giving 9 apples away, and Jane has 2x as many oranges as apples. How many fruits did Jane has at first?
Thanks in advance. Cheers!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.