2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Hi Snow Crystal, your name sounds cool to me. In a way, I am happy that my boy’s language papers have improved. Both from high end B to low end A. He used to dislike Chinese & he does not read Chinese books. Maybe he spends more time on reading books instead of practicing Science worksheets. His Science has dropped from high end A to low end A. That goes to his strongest subject, which is Maths, has also dropped from A* to A.
My son’s class no one scored full marks for Science MCQ (60marks).
For maths, some of the known ‘good in maths’ were not able to complete the last few 5marks question. Some in the top class (not my son’s class) hit 60+…hence everyone is kind of in panic mode. So this is what the school wants to achieve ?
I am trying to stay objective but the sense of defeat is overwhelming ! sigh
Btw, Janet, congrats on the good news ! -
Hi pixiedust, I guess your boy’s school also set killer papers. Don’t have to worry. As long as his marks is comparable with his peers, he is fine. Just like most of the schools, using CA1 as wake up call. It is difficult to make comparison with other schools, due to standard of papers is different.
mummy so kiasu:
Hi Snow Crystal, your name sounds cool to me. In a way, I am happy that my boy's language papers have improved. Both from high end B to low end A. He used to dislike Chinese & he does not read Chinese books. Maybe he spends more time on reading books instead of practicing Science worksheets. His Science has dropped from high end A to low end A. That goes to his strongest subject, which is Maths, has also dropped from A* to A.
I am Snow Crystal so i am 'cool' (pun intended) *shivers in the cold*...
Perhaps you should assess the difficulty of the Math n Science papers first.
Hope your Sch is not those which sets killer papers :faint:
For Math, it's practise and practise and given his A* calibre, going back to A* is not such a big mountain to scale.
For Science - given that he was high end A, the difference in marks comes mainly from Section A? Every MCQ costs 2 marks - very expensive leh... Again, need more exposure to questions.
Add oil! :boogie: -
pixiedust:
I can relate to this. I always think I am so great at keeping my panic under wraps... but DS came and said \"Mom, why are you so worried. Don't be so worried. Otherwise, you're running fast in the same spot. Waste a lotta energy and dun get anywhere. We have plan, right? Our plan looks good. Let's follow the plan and end up where we end up. It will definitely be better than here.\"
I am trying to stay objective but the sense of defeat is overwhelming ! *sigh*
:scratchhead: I'm not sure anymore which of us is the Mom - him or me. But I felt much better especially after he patted my shoulder and kissed my nose.
I think I have to start calling my son \"Dad\". -
Thank you Snow Crystal, you are very encouraging. You are right, the difference in Science marks come from MCQ. Lowest in classes for MCQ is only 13. Really expensive! Just like what you say, time to add oil.
Thank you Snow Crystal, you are very encouraging. You are right, the difference in Science marks come from MCQ. Lowest in classes for MCQ is only 13. Really expensive! Just like what you say, time to add oil. :thankyou:
My dd has only achieved ‘B’ for all subj except for Chinese. Haiz… She got all ‘A’ last yr. Was wondering will the psle paper be so difficult. Whenever, I read the difficult qns posted in this ‘PSLE maths’ thread, my heart sinks (I can only help in Maths, no gd in other subj). There are questions even adults also cannot solve. Why must it be sooooooooo difficult? Will it be useful to them after the PSLE? Really don’t understand our education system. Pity our children
BTW, congratulations to ur ds improvement, Janet. Happy for u.
My son's science improved slightly...got out of 60 marks range :rahrah: Hit 70. For maths, he finally passed and I am setting 75 for SA1. He should be able to hit if he focus and be more careful and practise.
So very happy for you! :hugs:
Sharing your joy now! :rahrah:
:congrats: janet_lee's DS!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.