Outrage over kindergarten's 'tuition' classes

80 Posts 28 Posters 14.9k Views 1 Watching

(1) Why don't the schools teach all this in Primary 1?

(2) Where will this stop? Will my grandchildren get enrichment in the womb?
      some people already let their baby listen to music in the womb leh... :evil:

Chenonceau

(1) Why don't the schools teach all this in Primary 1?

(2) Where will this stop? Will my grandchildren get enrichment in the womb?

some people already let their baby listen to music in the womb leh... :evil:

As long as schools dun test it...

Man! I love this post... http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=726650#p726650

Chenonceau

FQW:
          However I have a different take when we are suggesting that we should ban enrichment Ctr altogether. As someone who sent my kid for P1 preparation classes, I saw the benefits. It is my prerogative as a parent to want to offer the best I can for my child. So if I a) think that my kid can benefit from enrichment b) finds them financially affordable, who is to say that i should refrain from doing so? Who has the right to take away my prerogative to do the best to my child?

Reading some of the posts here, I almost feel that I'm committing a crime. As for the externality that more students being well prepared will drive the std up, why must we assume that it is a given that MOE has to keep abiding to the dreaded bell curve (Chen has written extensively on this).
          No... you are not committing a crime. If I were you, I would probably do the same. The questions are...

(1) Why are we sending kids to enrichment to learn what they will later be tested in Primary 1?

(2) Why aren't schools teaching AND sufficiently reinforcing what they test?

(3) From whence comes this worship of the differentiating bell curve? Has anyone thought to slaughter THIS sacred cow? It does seem to be fat enough at present. Any fatter and the entire cow could collapse because overweight.

Lilac66

When my DS was in K2,and that was quite a few years ago, one mummy I spoke to was aghast that her PCF kindy did not teach HYPY whereas mine, in a private one, was taught.

Next min I knew, she was scrambling to find an enrichment centre that prepares her child for P1, including HYPY. Why? I guess the mentality is that in P1, the teachers are going to gloss over alot basics like HYPY and phonics, assuming that all the children must have gone for extra classes for these.

So whose should be responsible ? Parents assuming that teachers are not going to teach all these well, or teachers who really don't teach well as they assume parents have sent the kids for extra preporatory classes? :roll:

it's a chicken and egg thing...

Chenonceau

Lilac66:
              When my DS was in K2,and that was quite a few years ago, one mummy I spoke to was aghast that her PCF kindy did not teach HYPY whereas mine, in a private one, was taught.

Next min I knew, she was scrambling to find an enrichment centre that prepares her child for P1, including HYPY. Why? I guess the mentality is that in P1, the teachers are going to gloss over alot basics like HYPY and phonics, assuming that all the children must have gone for extra classes for these.

So whose should be responsible ? Parents assuming that teachers are not going to teach all these well, or teachers who really don't teach well as they assume parents have sent the kids for extra preporatory classes? :roll:

it's a chicken and egg thing...
              It doesn't matter whether chicken or egg. We can...

(1) kill the chicken (i.e. kill the enrichment mania in all parents) or
              (2) crack the egg (strengthen the system with better textbooks, more realistic testing and better flowthrough of educational resources so that Teachers can teach more effectively)

... and the vicious cycle is broken. You just need to kill one or crack the other.

Question is... which one is easier? Brainwashing a nation's parents or strengthening the system in the manner suggested. Good luck to MOE if it decides to brainwash parents with trite Straits Times articles strategised by its PR department. I just don't see that as effective at all. The more brainwashing brain waves come through the Straits Times, the louder parents and opposition MPs will speak. Straits Times editorials do not change reality.

The logic is very simple. Education Provider A (MOE) loses market share to Education Provider B (Mindstretcher) because TLL provides better quality. What is the solution? Education Provider A (MOE) must up its service quality to win back market share.

It's simple business competition. The only difference is that MOE has made it illegal NOT to attend its schools. It's not Teacher Quality, stop blaming the Teachers. Teachers are human. Humans make mistakes. The strength of organisational performance is defined by its support infrastructure. Everyone everywhere has access to the same workforce. The successful organisation helps even mediocre people perform.

Lousy textbooks. No platform for upload and download of educational resources for Teachers to use. Critical support infrastructure is missing in MOE... and so a shadow education industry has grown up to support weak teachers and overloaded teachers.

It's NOT Teachers' fault. It's management oversight.

• O Offline
                Oppsgal

$40-$50 per term is cheap compared to $100plus per month in pte centres, excluding CCs.

I think the gvt must look into the curriculum of kindergartens. Some teach phonics and some don't. This is only one area.
                $40 per term? How many terms? 4? If 4 terms, $160 extra per year.

I hope is not compulsory to take this enrichment. If cannot cover in normal kindergarten program, then what's the point of going to kindergarten? If kids don't pay attention in class, what makes them pay attention for the additional enrichment :scratchhead:

• O Offline
                  Oppsgal

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=27786

:goodpost:

• U Offline
                    UncleLim

How about we start tuition for all infants in the neo-natal ward of KKH and Thomson Medical as soon as they come out of their mommy’s wombs ?

Chenonceau

UncleLim:
                      How about we start tuition for all infants in the neo-natal ward of KKH and Thomson Medical as soon as they come out of their mommy's wombs ?

Go high end. Gleneagles. How about you and I go into partnership next year after my son's PSLE? Better hurry up before Learning Lab muscles in on ur business idea...

• U Offline
                        UncleLim

UncleLim:

How about we start tuition for all infants in the neo-natal ward of KKH and Thomson Medical as soon as they come out of their mommy's wombs ?

Go high end. Gleneagles. How about you and I go into partnership next year after my son's PSLE? Better hurry up before Learning Lab muscles in on ur business idea...

*Sigh.....* Our society has gone mad.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 8

botanical_ape_12B
                        botanical_ape_12
                        healthyveggieH
                        healthyveggie
                        Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support