Opinions on Gifted Education Programme (GEP)
There will always be normal distribution. Agree.BeContented:
Ideally, all kids should be helped - weak, normal, high ability, GEP. Just that with limited resources, people will tend to 'fight' over them & it's natural for each to want more resources for own kids' benefit. I do look forward to better distribution if possible, something that will include all groups & not deprive anyone. :love:
perhaps they of various abilities are helped to various extent, but do you expect everyone to achieve the same results as the high ability and GEP kids ? there is such a thing as normal distribution
It will never be possible to please everyone......so all I hope for is that the limited resources are distributed well to every group so that everyone can benefit.
By resources I mean more of the budget/effort/opportunities etc to enable different groups to benefit in ways suitable for them.....not referring to the GEP material
So what I'm trying to say is....dun scrap the GEP and deprive them.....
My English not very good lah, wondering should I continue to post comments and see if people can understand my comments or should I just lurk and read comments from others :scared:
BeContented:
Don't worry, I am one who understands your comments. You are just hoping that no kid be left behind yet not disagreeing to the notion of stretching the real genius ...
My English not very good lah, wondering should I continue to post comments and see if people can understand my comments or should I just lurk and read comments from others :scared:
I think the selection tests are inadequate. They test mainly English and Maths. What about students who are good at only one of the subjects? What about students who are gifted in other subjects like science? Even Thomas Edison was bad at Maths!
BeContented:
Your English is fine. Do continue posting.[
Mdm Koh:
I think the selection tests are inadequate. They test mainly English and Maths. What about students who are good at only of the subjects? What about students who are gifted in other subjects like science? Even Thomas Edison was bad at Maths!
It probably has to do with how these IQ-type questions are conducted, which are usually to test language ability, logic and math. From there they can gauge a child's learning ability and potential. It's not so much to test specific subject ability. -
BeContented:
Your post jotted me out of the perception that it is an acceptable norm for GEP class to be small. What about those weak students? Shouldn't their class size be small too? Aren't they the ones that need help more than the GEP?Ideally, all kids should be helped - weak, normal, high ability, GEP. Just that with limited resources, people will tend to 'fight' over them & it's natural for each to want more resources for own kids' benefit. I do look forward to better distribution if possible, something that will include all groups & not deprive anyone. :love:
Probably there is consideration on \"returns\" from resources deplored and whether if they are deserving of such help - especially when most of the so-called \"weak\" students are actually self-inflicted - i.e. attitude problem. -
BeContented:
I dun have any kid in GEP but I do support the programme. Reason is simple ..... there ARE really really kids who are a lot more advanced and gifted (and I mean the real genuine ones...not those drilled/prepared). Inaggo-nitemare:
[quote=\"WeiHan\"]So in fact GEP is a better education which we should aim to give to more kids or even all kids and not scrap it.
There is a reason why gep is a pullout program. Already numerous people are complaining abt coping with the current primary sch coursework. Do we want to accelerate ALL kids? Obviously, some are suited for gep while most are not. PL don't view a child as being deprived if he isn't in gep. Those in the mainstream has the same opportunities in other moe-run programs and competitions eg primary math masterclass, debate competitions and science quizzes. All who can prove his potential n innate talent will not be deprived.
know of 2 GEP kids and seriously, the syllabus/work they do.....challenging but interesting. It really stretches them. Even tho my 2 kids considered high-ability, I must tell you....they are nowhere near.
While previously I had hoped my kids would get in GEP, I'm now glad.....really really glad my kids didn't. I dun think my kids and myself can cope. So seriously, offering to ALL students will kill cos' most schools have pupils with varying abilities, even mainstream work can be challenging to some. While we call for more resources to help the bulk esp. the poorer ones, let's not take away from the GEP group as it will help them too.[/quote] :goodpost: Be-contented!!! You write so much better than me, so please continue to post, then I can 'good post' all your posts and don't have to write, hee hee...
Thanks for explaining!Mdm Koh:
I think the selection tests are inadequate. They test mainly English and Maths. What about students who are good at only of the subjects? What about students who are gifted in other subjects like science? Even Thomas Edison was bad at Maths!
It probably has to do with how these IQ-type questions are conducted, which are usually to test language ability, logic and math. From there they can gauge a child's learning ability and potential. It's not so much to test specific subject ability.
Although I can see the merits of the GEP, I think MOE should still review it from time to time, especially now that enrichment centres are claiming that they can prepare their students for the selection tests. -
mother3:
i agreed to your last statementWhat is there to be jealous! GEP is very great meh ? If you
Want your kid go GEP ... Go la ....
Not necessary GEPpers got the best results in psle , A level ....
Who gain most ? The child ? The parents ? The tuition/ enrichment centre .
At age of 10..,, not plAying but assignments and tests .....
No wonder more and more children are seeking medical attention in
IMH ....
I believed that even MOE strap gEP ... It will some form of
Streaming .... And what you call elite ....
Btw I know of many parents and myself do not wish to enrol my
My son to enrol into gep though qualified ... To give them a healthy less stressful
Learning environment . And btw it is the parents who help / do the child projects and assignments . -
this guy is self contradicting[quote]Singapore need to scrap Gifted Education Programme - NCMP
by NCMP Yee Jenn Jong
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I like MOE to consider scrapping centralised primary school GEP too.
Schools can be supported by the GE Branch with learning resources distributed to them for use, or schools may prepare their own content. Selected teachers in all schools can be trained on how to guide students with stronger learning abilities.
We can spread accelerated learning across many schools. Parents not need transfer their child out to a gifted school at 9 years old. MOE wants to convince parents that every school is a good school. Separating gifted students into special schools undermines this message.
proposing to scrap GEP and want to use GE Branch to distribute learning resources .....
what is he trying to say ?[/quote]maybe he wants to scrap GEP and then let all students expose to GE learning resources... i'm worried more students will visit IMH if this really happpens.....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.