Outrage over kindergarten's 'tuition' classes
laughingcat:
At the end of the day.....who cares. Only parents care and responsibilities just fall back on parents. Might as well make do with the system. Accept it and move on. At least makes life simplier and less stress. Keep complianing on the system won't even help current situation. Afterall should the policy do change, it will takes yeeeeeaaarrsssssss.
Yeah lor.... :sad: Sianzzzzzzzz -
And to think that this problem isn't exclusive to our country and gets worse as countries develop. It takes each and everyone one's will and wisdom to make any change possible. And that is like 愚公移山.laughingcat:
At the end of the day.....who cares. Only parents care and responsibilities just fall back on parents. Might as well make do with the system. Accept it and move on. At least makes life simplier and less stress. Keep complianing on the system won't even help current situation. Afterall should the policy do change, it will takes yeeeeeaaarrsssssss.
Yeah lor.... :sad: Sianzzzzzzzz -
You are correct that this problem isn't exclusive to our own. There is PISA grading for countries to participate. For years, countries wondering why SGP always top in mathematics and science. In order to learn, leverage and tap on SGP way of teaching mathematics, countries approached SGP and we lend our expertise by going abroad to teach. These folks are people like Marshall Cavendish (together with ministers lah) and they are proud to said that they have covered 5 continents and countries like Saudi, part of USA states etc are adopting My Pals mathematics textbooks.
And to think that this problem isn't exclusive to our country and gets worse as countries develop. It takes each and everyone one's will and wisdom to make any change possible. And that is like 愚公移山.
What i would really like is......are SGP teachers exposed to such learning like the overseas counterpart? -
Why?
Now I understand why I was specifically highlighted somewhere else. :evil:firefly38:
If you have been following other ''rather similar'' threads (which i believe you have), you would have noticed, by now, that it has always been the very same ''righteous'' & ''noble'' few, who are ever cynical, critical and anti-everything about the s'pore's education system (GEP, SAP, PSLE, IP etc.. you name it, they ''anti-'' it)! And many of them do write extremely well too, which explains why they could coach their kids themselves, and hence do not understand why other parents could not do so!
Which one refers to you?
The \"been following other similar threads\" wan or the \"write extremely well\" wan? :evil: -
laughingcat:
I'm an educator too. I care. :please:
I have many educator frenz who care too.
We care enough to zoom in on whom we observe
need more help.. we explain things in a different way
should one way not work.. we share often with parents on
their children's weak areas & successes (no matter how small)
and partner them so we can overcome any challenges together so
the children will never be left behind.. in short, our doors are always
open and our hearts are always there... in the right place... where they
rightly belong.
There ARE still many good educators around. Even if we do get the \"off\" ones
once or twice, it doesn't mean there are no longer good ones around. There are.. :love: -
:hi5: sista!!laughingcat:
I'm an educator too. I care. :please:
I have many educator frenz who care too.
We care enough to zoom in on whom we observe
need more help.. we explain things in a different way
should one way not work.. we share often with parents on
their children's weak areas & successes (no matter how small)
and partner them so we can overcome any challenges together so
the children will never be left behind.. in short, our doors are always
open and our hearts are always there... in the right place... where they
rightly belong.
There ARE still many good educators around. Even if we do get the \"off\" one
once or twice, it doesn't mean there are no longer good ones around. There are.. :love: -
what are the kids learning everyday, inside the 4 hrs PCF Teck Ghee kindergarten ?
why can’t they teach "P1 preparatory" content inside these 4 hrs everyday ? Then what are the parents paying them monthly for ? -
Massive headache trying to read through this thread. Very emo. some too.
For me, boy-boy's kindy teacher told me to teach him phonics because he seems not to know. Lump of stress right now in my throat, gotta go buy phonics CD and book and will try to revise with him....that is...if I do not vomit blood first.
Moi definitely not one of those \"noble ones\" whoever this refers to. Yup, I am trying to teach my boy-boy at home (due to the bo-pian-see he needs one-to-one). So I am not sending him to phonics classes (due to no time and no-one to send him since I FTWM).
Gotta make do with our current educational system....yes...definitely for me...yes. Time and tide wait for no man, by the time we finished debating, probably my boy-boy already grown up liow.
But I very much appreciate the sharing by experienced mummies who have been there and done that. Learnt a lot from them although I must admit I may not necessarily understand since I have not gone down the same paths.
Cheers all!
[PS: to be fair to my boy-boy's kindy teacher, I must say I actually ASKED her whether is there anything that we can do at home to help my boy anything she feels he does not know? So she told me phonics. :sick: So I guess I deserve it.
] -
Hi DesertWind,
:hugs: to ya ...
But you are noble to me leh. You are actually attempting to give him one to one. Even though you say bo pian, but you have made a choice to see him through this .... :salute:
May I offer some suggestions :please:
You can try dropping by the educational shop at Thomson Plaza, (if it's convenient for you) I cannot remember the name. It's located opposite the POSB bank, along the same row as Bata. The sales lady is very helpful.
Two materials that were highly recommended are the Ants on the Apple Cd and Leapfrog phonics series DVDs.
Alternatively, if you have the time, you can peruse Tamarind's blog or buds' postings in the Montesorri phonics thread.
Hope these help
Hi AB,Hi DesertWind,
:hugs: to ya ...
But you are noble to me leh. You are actually attempting to give him one to one. Even though you say bo pian, but you have made a choice to see him through this .... :salute:
May I offer some suggestions :please:
You can try dropping by the educational shop at Thomson Plaza, (if it's convenient for you) I cannot remember the name. It's located opposite the POSB bank, along the same row as Bata. The sales lady is very helpful.
Two materials that were highly recommended are the Ants on the Apple Cd and Leapfrog phonics series DVDs.
Alternatively, if you have the time, you can peruse Tamarind's blog or buds' postings in the Montesorri phonics thread.
Hope these help
Thank you very much for your encouragement and recommendations!
Yes, I know which shop you are referring to at Thomson Plaza and I have actually just dropped by there last weekend to ask them about phonics CDs and DVDs!
Yes, read the thread on Leapfrog DVDs and guess what, my boy actually LOVES the Leapfrog Letter Factory and he can sing so clear the \"A\" and \"B' and \"C\" and the sound so clearly!
But I must \"complain\" about the Leapfrog letters. The first one \"A\" the professor actually sang as \"The Yei says air, The Yei says air\". I thought it should be \"The A says air\"! And then in the DVD, the \"L\" says \"O\"! :? Yes I know Tamarind explained that it is actually \"UL\" which was the sound from the Leapfrog Phonics Bus. But in the Leapfrog DVD, they actually said \"O\" which I thought very misleading to a young boy. My boy actually imitates exactly and sings accurately according to what he heard \"The Yei says air!\" :slapshead:
His kindy using Jolly Phonics so although I not much like the cartoons on the cover of the DVD, went to buy anyway and have yet to try him out. The songs I thought should be quite interesting!
As for the pink boxes Montessori, yes, went to buy that too. Boy more interested in the cute toys and couple of pieces thrown about already. :faint:
I think all mothers are noble in one way or the other.
Jiayou!
:hi5:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.