Maid to get weekly rest days
POA Teacher:
Great suggestion except the government will never kill their golden goose.My suggestion regarding use of the maid levy: govt should treat the levy (or part of it) as a form of compulsory savings for maids. i.e. the maid is paid ~400, + the levy which is held by govt. Maids who complete 2 year contract with one employer gets the levy (or part of it) as bonus. Those who transfer and transfer and transfer and transfer don't get the bonus.
Good for the employers, cos will not get requests for transfers for frivolous reasons.
Good for the good maids, cos they get bonus.
But not good for the govt coffers.
JGMum:
Set up day-care centers
I am thinking since the employers pay the maid levy and not the maids, it would be more equitable for the levy funds to be used for facilities, databases, services that benefit the EMPLOYERS.
For example, use the funds derived from maid levies paid by employers to set up more day-care centres for the elderly that operate on Sundays, whom employers can turn to when the weekly off-day policy kicks in next year.
How about an online or hotline service funded by maid levies collected to help match employers (not limited to maid employers only) with daily rated nurses or caregivers that make house calls on Sundays. For families with infirm or elderly who needs constant care at home, consider a subsidy if this house call service is too expensive. Not all maids want compensation in lieu of off-day, so the token reduction in levy for those who need constant care may not be helpful for everyone.
In addition, with the levies collected, consider setting up a database for ex-Singapore maids so prospective employers can check the background to see if she completed her contract in Singapore or is someone with a \"high transfer frequency\". Also, include whether there is any police record filed for theft, child abuse or elder abuse.
Other suggestions?
Gahmen will say no-no cos it does not make any economic sense to have a centre that operates on Sundays only.
Even if the gahmen is willing to do so, where to find a location whereby residents do not object?
Database of ex-Singapore maids
Remember http://singaporemaidagencyreviews.blogspot.com/ ??? Someone will then come out to say that the information is confidential and violates privacy laws. -
peapot:
Mrs seah, I don't think CC will accept maid for courses. I understand that these courses are subsidized and meant for citizens only.
Can lah. Just that they can't be PA member so pay non member course fees lor. But not much different.
My maid have attended the cooking class. -
Actually, after voicing out here & there..feel disheartened..
coz no point la..waste time only..govt just close 2 eyes..& both ears..
Actually, the nations I admire are Korea & Japan, or even Hong Kong & Taiwan..
Why?These are very advanced countries, especially Korea & Japan, yet their people are not manipulated & dare to show displease with ACTIONS!!
anything they not happy with, & government don't listen,
these people dare to go out to the streets & go on strike!!!
This is REAL DEMOCRACY!!
Think it will never happen here, within our generation..
& many generations after
zmonster1969:
Yes, I see your point, indeed there would be resistance to new elder care centres.
Set up day-care centers
Gahmen will say no-no cos it does not make any economic sense to have a centre that operates on Sundays only.
Even if the gahmen is willing to do so, where to find a location whereby residents do not object?
Remember http://singaporemaidagencyreviews.blogspot.com/ ??? Someone will then come out to say that the information is confidential and violates privacy laws.
How about existing ones as a start? Currently I think most elder day care centres e.g. St. Lukes operate on normal workings days, and not on weekends and public holidays. Maybe they can expand existing centres, and have them operate on weekends and public holidays (with nurses and care-givers on shift like the hospitals?)
As for the database of ex-Singapore maids, I agree that there is some contention. But perhaps if the information is not available publicly (like published on a website), but available to prospective employers who pay a nominal fee? I am thinking of a system like the Credit Bureau where if one wants to get a loan from a bank, the bank can ask for the person's credit history from the Bureau. Or like the insurance companies, who may do a family background check on health for policy holders. As far as I know, this is not deemed as a violation of privacy. I am wondering would that work?
Maybe it's because I am not that clever, but personally I don't understand why the NGOs and ex-Singapore maids insist that having this information available to employers violates privacy laws. I mean, if checking up on prospective employees before hiring them breaks any privacy laws, then the companies and MNCs who get private investigators to check on prospective employees' background before hiring them would be breaking those exact laws right? How come they can do it?
Sometimes, I think that FDW employers act a little like bank/lender (take on upfront loan for FDW), a little like insurance company (who has to pay out in event of medical/hospital bills, on top of being the employer. Sigh. -
I agree maids should pay for their own loans. Borrow upfront from banks or their relatives. And do not allow transfer. Right now the agents are calling the shots!
JGMum:
I think the issue with the maid blog is that it is personal views of the employers and there is nothing to stop them exaggerating and/or outright lying if they are angry or want to make things difficult for their former maid. We all know that there are bad employers out there who might abuse it. And in most cases the maids do not have the opportunity to defend themselves.
Yes, I see your point, indeed there would be resistance to new elder care centres.zmonster1969:
Set up day-care centers
Remember http://singaporemaidagencyreviews.blogspot.com/ ??? Someone will then come out to say that the information is confidential and violates privacy laws.
How about existing ones as a start? Currently I think most elder day care centres e.g. St. Lukes operate on normal workings days, and not on weekends and public holidays. Maybe they can expand existing centres, and have them operate on weekends and public holidays (with nurses and care-givers on shift like the hospitals?)
As for the database of ex-Singapore maids, I agree that there is some contention. But perhaps if the information is not available publicly (like published on a website), but available to prospective employers who pay a nominal fee? I am thinking of a system like the Credit Bureau where if one wants to get a loan from a bank, the bank can ask for the person's credit history from the Bureau. Or like the insurance companies, who may do a family background check on health for policy holders. As far as I know, this is not deemed as a violation of privacy. I am wondering would that work?
Maybe it's because I am not that clever, but personally I don't understand why the NGOs and ex-Singapore maids insist that having this information available to employers violates privacy laws. I mean, if checking up on prospective employees before hiring them breaks any privacy laws, then the companies and MNCs who get private investigators to check on prospective employees' background before hiring them would be breaking those exact laws right? How come they can do it?
Sometimes, I think that FDW employers act a little like bank/lender (take on upfront loan for FDW), a little like insurance company (who has to pay out in event of medical/hospital bills, on top of being the employer. Sigh.
Also, outside of deliberate theft or abuse, people have different standards; someone who I might find unsuitable as a maid may be OK for someone else. It is subjective. -
nms1:
I do agree that personal views of employers are subjective. The database I imagine would primarily comprise of factual information like how many times the maid transfered during her time here, how long she worked for each employer, how long she worked in Singapore, was a police case ever filed for theft or abuse. And it would not be publicly published, just like personal credit ratings are not published publicly, but made available to those who need it. And it will be \"individual\", the report is only for the maid concerned, and not the entire database of thousands of maids. Just like banks do not ask for credit ratings of individuals who have no business or dealings with them. I just think that such information would be useful for prospective employers.
I think the issue with the maid blog is that it is personal views of the employers and there is nothing to stop them exaggerating and/or outright lying if they are angry or want to make things difficult for their former maid. We all know that there are bad employers out there who might abuse it. And in most cases the maids do not have the opportunity to defend themselves.
Also, outside of deliberate theft or abuse, people have different standards; someone who I might find unsuitable as a maid may be OK for someone else. It is subjective. -
If the poster is willing to be identified for the comments she made, Iβm fine and would be able to accept. And if one had been the victim of such βbadβ maids, really, why would one choose to see another person be victimized?
Iβm all for such feedback websites. Itβs ok if the problem is work or skill related. But if a maid has integrity issues, I want to know first.
My maids so far have been free of major concerns, Iβm extremely grateful. Yet I still am filled with dread each time I have to change (becos the current one wants to go home). Definitely not easy to live with a stranger. -
JGMum:
:goodpost: this makes a lot of sense
I do agree that personal views of employers are subjective. The database I imagine would primarily comprise of factual information like how many times the maid transfered during her time here, how long she worked for each employer, how long she worked in Singapore, was a police case ever filed for theft or abuse. And it would not be publicly published, just like personal credit ratings are not published publicly, but made available to those who need it. And it will be \"individual\", the report is only for the maid concerned, and not the entire database of thousands of maids. Just like banks do not ask for credit ratings of individuals who have no business or dealings with them. I just think that such information would be useful for prospective employers.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.