S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
degenhard:
You can't be serious?!
kek leng kia: derived from the sound of the cow bell.
I've always wondered how it came about. -
Indian labourers were brought over by the british and they were chained up.
You can't be serious?!degenhard:
I've always wondered how it came about.
When they walked, the chains made the \"kling kling\" noise. This kling kling noise eventually led to them being called \"keh-leng\" kia. So this term is definitely offensive.
Not sure about abnn, but \"ah-neh\" means something like \"brother\" isn't it? Which isn't that offensive. I don't know how it became abnn from ah neh. -
a certain amount of nationalistic fervor is good, but not excessive or being blindly nationalistic resulting in more harm than good
when being nationalistic breeds negative sentiments against the ruling party (hougang stadium, May 2011 rally)..... that is very bad.... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: -
degenhard:
from what I'm aware, kek leng kia means indian in hokkien, just like huan na for malay. abnn is like alias for indians..
abnn, kek leng kia, oh peh are all racist words which i think should not be appearing at all in the society.
abnn : derived from the tone of how they speak ....... neh neh neh.
oh peh: derived from the colour of the skin.
in other words, it is simply hokkien language, and not insults or vulgarity..
no need to read too much into it lah..
Nothing wrong with mixing hokkien, canto, mandarin or malay in daily speak in English.... -
OT some more
APNN / ABNN = abu neh neh
where Apu / Abu could be a tamil name (could be)
and "ah neh" means ‘brother’
so it would be addressing "brother abu"
kling probably sounds more like cowbell la
It’s only a racist slur when someone makes them out to be!
it’s just like ‘Mat’ used to be a generic term for a malay man, but recently sort of degenerated into the Malay equivalent of "ah beng" -
I am just wondering…
Those PR will not have time to convert their citizenship as it may take 6mths if they are elligible.
How about in Yr 2013 registration? These people would have converted into citizenships. Isn’t that the same? -
what about ma ma shops? they exist during my young days... not sure ppl still call it the same nowadays?
for those who are not sure it means provision shops run by indians usually in neighbourhood areas, they even provide free delivery if we ordered a lot.... :boogie: -
KSP:
think it's 'mamak'...according to wiki, it refers to Indian Muslims.what about ma ma shops? they exist during my young days... not sure ppl still call it the same nowadays?
for those who are not sure it means provision shops run by indians usually in neighbourhood areas, they even provide free delivery if we ordered a lot.... :boogie: -
mypiggee:
I am just wondering...
Those PR will not have time to convert their citizenship as it may take 6mths if they are elligible.
How about in Yr 2013 registration? These people would have converted into citizenships. Isn't that the same?
At least they are Singaporean. To me, if they sacrifice their citizenship in their country, we should welcome them with OPEN arm. I feel we should try not to discriminate them. -
I have lots of colleague who are PR but not HIGH earner. Sometime I do feel for them. With the high rising cost in Singapore, it is not easy for them to survive here with kids. Sometime, I do feel, they are being \"force\" to become a Singaporean. But to me this is the life style they choose and sacrifice. So I respect them.
To me, PR and Singaporean must have \"some\" different in term of \"benefit\". Singaporean should have better benefit. Like School, medical, sponsorship etc. So that we can say out loud \"WE ARE THE CITIZEN OF SINGAPORE\". We will for sure treat our son & daughter better than our niece and nephew right? If we have money or thing, for sure we will give to our kids first before others right?
If PR is not willing to be Singaporean, I feel is fine, for sure, they will love their born country more than our country. Just like we love our own SINGAPORE. But they must also prepare that the benefit for sure will be different so they have to accept it lor.
Thing given out is difficult to take back. So now by taking back the \"benefit\" of school, PR for sure will feel sore a bit especially those who are affected. Hope Singaporean will be more understanding and stop attacking them. And with such a short notice, some PR may not be prepare for the sudden change and they have no backup plan. Some may have been doing PV since last year and now this changes may shock them.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.