S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting

653 Posts 126 Posters 147.6k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      Edureach

friendship:
      Are those parents able to presurrise the kids for whole six years+6 IP or not? Don't half way tyre punctured.

Want to go into good school, must show some standard lah. The kids turn out to be the other way will cause some embarrasement to the school, parents and kids as well.

Layman thinking \" this school produces this type of student meh?' sia suay

I am not yr fan but occassionally, yr statements though crude at times do reflect some realities.

Must also admit yr postings aren't boring to read though i can't say is exactly good entertainment.

pepper spice

Dawnie:
        Wen1982:

[quote=\"mrswongtuition\"]What type of PRs do we want? We want talented PRs, most importantly those who love Singapore & will stick around. Those who are not happy will leave, which also means, their heart isn't here.

PRs that know that they what they want for their families will appreciate what they have here even with lesser 'opportunities' or with high cost of living.

I have PR friends who do grumble about cost of living. No childcare subsidy for them, they are paying $1.5K for IFC a month!
        So, why stick here? Because they know the security here is different. They appreciate the systems in place (which SC often complain about - I'm guilty too). They appreciate the efficiency of the country as a whole (my helper from Philippines was very impressed when I applied & renewed by sons' passports online and when we went to collect the passports, we were only in the building for 10 minutes). While I grumble about CTE jam, they assured me it's nothing compared to what they face back in their home country.

Don't worry about 'losing' talented PRs over this new change. PRs who are really here to stay will simply register their kids in whatever available school, and put in their best efforts to make sure their kids overtake our kids. It's their resilence we should learn from. I'm pretty sure they will be like 'cockroach'. In Hokkien: Pah Buay Si!

Take back your \"cockroach\" and use it on yourself.

I felt sorry for the student who go to your tuition center because they are taught by you, such a rude person, unrespectable to others.

I am pretty sure there are PR students in your tuition center. I wonder how they will feel when they know you call them \"cockroach\" and yet try to make money for them at the same time.

Hey, cool down. I believe mrswong used 'cockroach' to describe the 'never dying' spirit of PRs. I don't think she is condeming PRs. No need go personal leh.[/quote]I also do not think mrswong was rude, I thought she was praising the PRCs for being resilient and have the \"pah buay si\" (in hokkien) attitude. From the way I interpret, there is only one person who is rude.

Wen1982

Such a "good" word, I shall use to praise you.

You are like β€˜cockroach’. Pah Buay Si!

Are you happy?

Miaor

pepper spice:
            Dawnie:

[quote=\"Wen1982\"]

Take back your \"cockroach\" and use it on yourself.

I felt sorry for the student who go to your tuition center because they are taught by you, such a rude person, unrespectable to others.

I am pretty sure there are PR students in your tuition center. I wonder how they will feel when they know you call them \"cockroach\" and yet try to make money for them at the same time.

Hey, cool down. I believe mrswong used 'cockroach' to describe the 'never dying' spirit of PRs. I don't think she is condeming PRs. No need go personal leh.

I also do not think mrswong was rude, I thought she was praising the PRCs for being resilient and have the \"pah buay si\" (in hokkien) attitude. From the way I interpret, there is only one person who is rude.[/quote]Who believes someone will use \"DOG\" to describe the loyalty and honesty of SCs? Being rude is not worse than using double standard. :scared:

SandS

We have always had Malaysians amongst us. Malaysians and Singaporeans share a close ancestry. For decades we have had Malaysians amongst us and we didn't mind a all. Many Malaysians have stayed here for decades and their children are 2nd generation PRs who are likely to convert to SC because this has become a home they have grown to love.

However, with the influx of PRs from countries somewhat further away, with less emotional attachment to this region, the PR status has become tainted with the notion of \"convenient stepping stone\". If we wanted to absorb new citizens, Malaysians are closest to us in culture and spirit. They worked alongside us for many decades to build this country.

It is a pity that they've been lumped together with every other PR nationality. To me, Malaysians are special. They don't see Singapore as a stepping stone to USA.
              :rahrah: :rahrah: i am sure most if not all have some relative across the causeway

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

Chikadilly:
                Why so many think that this will trigger a wave of PRs applying for citizenship for their kids? ( well, this is the kiasu forum, maybe that's why :)) . I think it may result in in PRs being forced to enroll into less popular schools. So some will become 'citizen' schools, and other will become 'PR and foreigner' schools. Wonder if MOE thought about this segregation happening. I'm a PR, but my kids are citizens. Anyway was planning to send the kids to aschool next door (no history of balloting), so this does not affect me in any way.

Nope, I am not one of those who think this will trigger a wave of PRs applying for citizenship for their kids in SG. For years PRs have enjoyed benefits without the need to apply for SG citizenship. What now? PRs will just shruck their shoulders and say \"Oh shucks!\" and move on. To where? The world is their oyster I must say. My ex-colleague merrily migrated his whole family to Australia (after years of enjoying all the benefits of SG housing and schooling) so that his boys will not need to do NS.

It is only our government's HOPE by dishing out all these goodies to \"outsiders\" that they will eventually become SG citizens. I will say don't lift your hopes too high. Take care of SG-reans first.

Hi Chikadilly, your kids are SG-reans. They will get full priority. :salute:

• DesertWindD Offline
                  DesertWind

I said it before and I will say it again. Any reference to any animals (or insect) is derogative to me. Offensive comments should be removed.

• Z Offline
                    zakashi

FQW:
                    zeemimi:

Maybe more SC will move to these hot properties instead of PR.

Tokidoki:
                    i doubt so, coz the demand will still be there for SG Citizens. πŸ˜‰
                    At least, I think it should dampen the rental market along popular schools such as those within the Bukit Timah belt. Guess only, those landlords pls don't humtum me. πŸ¦†

It would be the other way. Not dampen but increase in value for the demand of wanted school.
                    :heresmyfish:

pepper spice

Wen1982:
                      [Such a \"good\" word, I shall use to praise you.

You are like 'cockroach'. Pah Buay Si!
                      Are you happy?
                      πŸ˜„ η§€ζ‰ι‡η€ε…΅οΌŒζœ‰η†θ―΄δΈζΈ…γ€‚ sai hei (in cantonese).

• Z Offline
                        zakashi

Daddy 😧
                        Does that mean Jim Rogers' kids would not be in NYPS if this was implemented earlier?

Year 2009 report...
                        http://www.asiaone.com/Business/My+Money/Opinion/Story/A1Story20090119-115740.html

\"A: I've moved to Singapore, my biggest investment is obviously Singapore, my personal investment - we live here, we're permanent residents, my daughter goes to school here...
                        We've looked at a lot of houses, we're learning more about Singapore. Right now, we have to live within one kilometre of Nanyang Primary, so that our daughter can go to that school...\"

You mean Jim Roger's children are in NYPS? SC found it so difficult but he could made it? Answer is $?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 42 / 66