S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
For popular schools in high density population areas, it will benefit SC within 1km.
For popular schools in low density population area, it will benefit SC either 1-2km and/or >2km. -
KSP:
actually if one wants to reference ppl to insect or animal pls choose a good one lah... like bee, dragon or horse.... symbol of hardworking, powerful and fast... i sure it will be more acceptable to most... :celebrate:[/quote]Not true leh, choosing a good one not necessary acceptable, it depends on how the message is put across. We were being called dogs (who are faithful and loyal), but SX put it in a very unfavourable way and we were all offended. So being \"as resilient as a cockroach\" ....... well, 见仁见智。 Is it OT already?limlim:
[quote=\"DesertWind\"]I said it before and I will say it again. Any reference to any animals (or insect) is derogative to me. Offensive comments should be removed.
can \"Bees\" be spared....? :evil:
some kids are Hardworking like Bees.... :siam: -
pepper spice:
In such a circumstances, I have to say nothing but some of you guys are not only as \"resilient as cockroach\", but as \"intelligent\" as rats as well. Please receive such appraisal in the right context, which you called 见仁见智. Period.
Not true leh, choosing a good one not necessary acceptable, it depends on how the message is put across. We were being called dogs (who are faithful and loyal), but SX put it in a very unfavourable way and we were all offended. So being \"as resilient as a cockroach\" ....... well, 见仁见智。 Is it OT already? -
pepper spice:
Not true leh, choosing a good one not necessary acceptable, it depends on how the message is put across. We were being called dogs (who are faithful and loyal), but SX put it in a very unfavourable way and we were all offended. So being \"as resilient as a cockroach\" ....... well, 见仁见智。 Is it OT already?[/quote]alamak!!! the word \"dog\" very subjective mah... even refer to someone \"as loyal as a dog\" to the boss or company also not very nice, for some is offensive and rude!!! anyway is super :offtopic: liao.....
actually if one wants to reference ppl to insect or animal pls choose a good one lah... like bee, dragon or horse.... symbol of hardworking, powerful and fast... i sure it will be more acceptable to most... :celebrate:KSP:
[quote=\"limlim\"]
can \"Bees\" be spared....? :evil:
some kids are Hardworking like Bees.... :siam: -
delete
pepper spice:
[/quote]己所不欲,勿施于人。If you don't mind ppl refer you or your kids as cockroach, then you're welcome to take it as acceptable. :imanangel:
Not true leh, choosing a good one not necessary acceptable, it depends on how the message is put across. We were being called dogs (who are faithful and loyal), but SX put it in a very unfavourable way and we were all offended. So being \"as resilient as a cockroach\" ....... well, 见仁见智。 Is it OT already?KSP:
[quote=\"limlim\"]
actually if one wants to reference ppl to insect or animal pls choose a good one lah... like bee, dragon or horse.... symbol of hardworking, powerful and fast... i sure it will be more acceptable to most... :celebrate: -
how about CNY wishes like 龙马精神?acceptable?
haiz first it is the abnn, tiong and now cockcroach.
If it is all the same to those who do not take any offense to these terms, then refrain from using them since it does offend some.
Must one be right all the time? I do not think it is offensive so I can use it even if it upsets others too bad for them?
From the way most of forummers write, I am sure one will not have any problems expressing themselves without these few terms.
Ok. Peace everyone. :please: -
Wen1982, Lainm, Miaor, I mean no malice but :?
Anyway, I do indeed see that cockroaches are pah buay si but sorry, I have never seen a rat at my home in Singapore so I do not know whether you can say that it is \"as intelligent as a rat\" because I do not know the IQ level of rats. Of course I also know that 己所不欲,勿施于人,but I think I did not start a name-calling session. I merely say that cockroaches are indeed resilient. Once again, :?
But lastly, I do want to reiterate that I want Singapore policies to be Singaporeans-First policies. -
Edureach:
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm... I'm not sure we gained him leh.Luck has got nothing to do with Jim Roger's case. Here's a man who's highly qualified and intelligent. A ppp grad from Oxford university, he's a famed long term investor.
This is what we can all call real talent! It's a lost for us if he had chosen another country.
He is still not SC. Neither are his kids. When I read his interview a few years back, it was quite clear that Singapore is a stepping stone to China. His kids are here to learn Chinese... and understand Asia. It is people like this who enjoy all and then leave.
We have not gained. We've lost. Prolly.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.