Raising COE [Was : COE above $80,0000]

83 Posts 32 Posters 14.3k Views 1 Watching
      tigger88

KSP:

why not charge more or 2X the COE price for those DINK families for having 2nd car.... πŸ¦†

it is not how much the rich can afford

it is how little the less well off could afford to cater to the family needs of transportation with young kids and a bigger brood encouraged by gov't, hence they should subsidise the COE or even give one free for such families who fulfills the gov't call for more kids

since the gov't is very good in giving out incentive and disincentive, this should be one for social engineering

Totally agree! I have 4 kids and a maid. All my kids need car seats. How to squeeze all into one sedan car? Want to change to MPV but with the current COE prices even 2nd hand MPV also dun come cheap!

KSP:

gov subsidise COE for the less well off ?? come on, we have a world class transportation system which can bring u to anywhere u want....
        and world class in high pricing too

world crass

• O Offline
          oneheart

Price of 2nd hand car not cheap either. I calculated I'll be paying more for a 2nd hand car compared to my current 1st hand car. Headache liao.

A friend shared an old joke .... Mahathir produce proton to increase revenue. LKY smarter just need printer n paper to produce COE to increase revenue. All things equal, not considering other factors like size of ctry etc...they said LKY is brilliant. Ya....at the expense of the citizens lah....suck citizens dry.

Soon cars in SG are for the rich only...already now most of the SK plates are luxury cars. Public transport is crappy....taxi expensive, train congested n not reliable, bus accident. :siao:

toddles

KSP:

why not charge more or 2X the COE price for those DINK families for having 2nd car.... πŸ¦†

it is how little the less well off could afford to cater to the family needs of transportation with young kids and a bigger brood encouraged by gov't, hence they should subsidise the COE or even give one free for such families who fulfills the gov't call for more kids

since the gov't is very good in giving out incentive and disincentive, this should be one for social engineering

agree. it should be means tested, so those with more kids and lower income should get heavy COE subsidy. cos for those with very young kids a car is really more a necessity than a luxury. and sure, they can always limit the make of the car to make sure that ppl don't overspend.

i see a couple in factory uniform, bought quite an old looking mitsubishi car to ferry their two little kids to childcare and nanny. felt quite sorry for them, the car cost must be a big financial burden. and all they are trying to do is bring up a family, perhaps let their children have a little more sleep in the morning, since it's faster to cover distances with a car than public transport (let's not get started on public transport when u have v young kids)...

hquek

KSP:

[quote=\"KSP\"]why not charge more or 2X the COE price for those DINK families for having 2nd car.... πŸ¦†

gov subsidise COE for the less well off ?? come on, we have a world class transportation system which can bring u to anywhere u want....[/quote]Ummm, but they never tell you how long it takes to reach there. :siam:

pinky

KSP:

[quote=\"KSP\"]why not charge more or 2X the COE price for those DINK families for having 2nd car.... πŸ¦†

[/quote]gov subsidise COE for the less well off ?? come on, we have a world class transportation system which can bring u to anywhere u want....[/quote]

excuse me while I :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :censored:

toddles

yah why MRT getting even more crowded lately huh? realised that at morning peak it’s now at 3 min intervals instead of 2. sounds minor, but whoa it makes a huge difference in load factor!

dunnoleh

long time no visit ksp liao.

as I proposed before, gov't should give family with 3 or more kids a subsidised COE or free COE with more than 4 kids .... part of procreation incentive...sure to help in a car crazy society
                    damned good idea! - encourage car owners to procreate, and non car owners are discouraged from procreating?
                    KSP:
                    won't happen, coz policy makers themselves kana.

dunnoleh:

as I proposed before, gov't should give family with 3 or more kids a subsidised COE or free COE with more than 4 kids .... part of procreation incentive...sure to help in a car crazy society

damned good idea! - encourage car owners to procreate, and non car owners are discouraged from procreating?
                      KSP:

you got it wrong way round

free or subsidised COE comes only after procreating 3 or more kids, else not free and no subsidy

not \"encourage car owners to procreate\", nor car-less people not to procreate as you put it

dunnoleh

dunnoleh:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]as I proposed before, gov't should give family with 3 or more kids a subsidised COE or free COE with more than 4 kids .... part of procreation incentive...sure to help in a car crazy society

KSP:

you got it wrong way round

free or subsidised COE comes only after procreating 3 or more kids, else not free and no subsidy

not \"encourage car owners to procreate\", nor car-less people not to procreate as you put it[/quote]well understood, that your suggestion make no mention of car-less people. these subsidies/freebies are for car-ed people only. since this has nothing to do with car-less people, they better not read this. tio bo?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 9