2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    5.7k Posts 204 Posters 989.3k Views 1 Watching
      MrsSeah

mummy so kiasu:

Hi Mrs Seah,

Wow.. You already start looking out for sec schools & planning to attend open house. I thought your DD will be taking her PSLE in 2012. Not aware that she is P5 this year. How is her CA1? Most of their marks drop. However, they will pick up by SA1. P5 also tend to have more homework & supplementary classes too. Schools already start preparing them for PSLE. The standard goes up (PSLE standard) & the marking gets stricter.
      hahahaha kiasu lor. 😛 LOL!!! Next year than she take PSLE.

Her CA1 drop alot. Since her whole class also drop alot, even \"top 1%\", also drop. I take it easy. 😛

If her result never pick up...by SA2, my expectation for selection of secondary school also must drop. LOL!!!!

Oh my girl has 3 days of supplementary class + 1 day of CCA. She said she is more BUSY than me. LOL!! She said I have better life. Come back from work can google internet liao. She come back from school still have to do homework. LOL!!!!

mummy so kiasu

Hi Mrs Seah, Expectation for selection of secondary schools does not need to drop so soon. She is only in P5 & she still have time to pick up. Since top 1% also drop, don't have to panic. They need time to adjust to the higher standard. Some will pick up by SA1 & some of them will have to wait till SA2. Now can get her to revise her P3 & P4 Science already. Don't have to wait till next year. Tell her that she can google Internet after PSLE! :rotflmao:

Michaelia0816

I do agreeded it still early to start now!

Chenonceau

When DS’ results dropped in P5, last year, I did not take it easy. We worked very hard to bridge the gap because we were heartened by the fact that we still had time to work hard.

The result of the very intensive hard work was that by end-February, we had completed the PSLE syllabus. I don’t regret doing that because it really helps stress levels this year from now until PSLE. Now, it is a question of consistent practice and refinement. It’s better to panic early than late… IMHO.

Verysuperkiasu

It's better to panic early than late... IMHO.

True....

Verysuperkiasu

Today n tomorrow is psle sa1 oral in dd’s school. So she’s staying home for 2 days doing e-learning. She’s still stuck to the computer doing her e-homework since 10 am in the morning.

Is this arrangement the same for any of your P5 kids?

happyheart

My DS e-learning is on 3rd week of May, they will have 4 days over the weekend to complete everything. For now, it is still normal cirriculum hours with lots of practice for Maths.

• Suz855S Offline
                    Suz855

My dd SA1 starts on last wk of April and end 1st wk of May ... seem like exam is moving forward and getting earlier. It's like 6 wk after 2nd term starts ... wonder why the need to be so early .....

Before they even learn its testing time again .... wonder school is to teach or to test nowsaday. :siao:

Suz855:
                      My dd SA1 starts on last wk of April and end 1st wk of May ... seem like exam is moving forward and getting earlier. It's like 6 wk after 2nd term starts ... wonder why the need to be so early .....

Before they even learn its testing time again .... wonder school is to teach or to test nowsaday. :siao:
                      Son's oral 25/26 April...Eng and CL compo 1st week May...like bullet train followed by Eng paper 2. Last paper on 10 may.
                      How much time is spent teaching? It seemed like Mar hol just finished. Even the PSLE is early...sep 27.

Verysuperkiasu

DD finished SA1 composition two days ago (Monday). Last week was Listening Comprehension. Next week will be Oral. Followed by main papers from 3 May to 10 May.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 566

sparklycocoaS
                        sparklycocoa