WTA : Pregnant Maid

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    24 Posts 10 Posters 18.0k Views 1 Watching

why must the employer be held responsible to pay for $70k ? Has nothing to do with employer. Who ask the maid to get herself pregnant in the first case ? Even if is maid’s off day, employer won’t know who maid goes out with, nor bother which men the maid sleep around with outside. Just let the hospital write it off as bad debt in their accounts!

• Z Offline
        znzyzyzx

As long as the maid dun give birth in SG, it's fine. even if she is noticeably pregnant when she leave SG, no issue.

But if she goes to hospital for any issue (miscarriage, premature birth), the employer will bear the medical bills. I recall one case where the employer owed KKH about $70K for pre-mature birth (plus NICU charges etc) - this happened some years back. And this though the maid hid the truth from her employer, and another maid signed in as guarantor for the pregnant maid (ie employer didn't even know until hospital called her).
        Actually i dont understand the logic of employer havng to foot the bill. If anything happen to us, our employer dont food the bill what ???

Hard Truth

znzyzyzx:

As long as the maid dun give birth in SG, it's fine. even if she is noticeably pregnant when she leave SG, no issue.

But if she goes to hospital for any issue (miscarriage, premature birth), the employer will bear the medical bills. I recall one case where the employer owed KKH about $70K for pre-mature birth (plus NICU charges etc) - this happened some years back. And this though the maid hid the truth from her employer, and another maid signed in as guarantor for the pregnant maid (ie employer didn't even know until hospital called her).

Actually i dont understand the logic of employer havng to foot the bill. If anything happen to us, our employer dont food the bill what ???

Maybe our MP can tell us leh?

BeContented

Hard Truth:
            BeContented:

I also thot best to send back ASAP. 夜长梦多, the longer delay, the more trouble. But frankly, I dun like that couple & wonder if they will end up accuse me of being kapo. Sigh.

You know, some people are just nastier.....wait tell them about their maid and then they have issues & turn around and scold me.....I will be mad. :scratchhead:

You sound like a nice neighbour. Wish I have one like you.

What about dropping a note in the letterbox;

\"You may want to check if your maid is in the family way\"

signed
            \"A friendly but scared to be scolded neighbour\" or something like that ??

Oh yah hor, never thot of this method ;). Then I can stay anonymous & hopefully help. Thanks

BeContented

I also agree…quite unfair to ask employer to foot the bills.

Maids of earlier times are much better…I was lucky my first 3 are quite honest & proper. Now, I really hope I will not ever have to hire again.

Thanks all for your inputs. I will try to warn the employer about their pregnant maid. That’s all I can do.

• Z Offline
                znzyzyzx

But if it is landed, most of the time is the maid that bring the letters in woh, since it is not locked.

BeContented:
                Hard Truth:

[quote=\"BeContented\"]I also thot best to send back ASAP. 夜长梦多, the longer delay, the more trouble. But frankly, I dun like that couple & wonder if they will end up accuse me of being kapo. Sigh.

You know, some people are just nastier.....wait tell them about their maid and then they have issues & turn around and scold me.....I will be mad. :scratchhead:

You sound like a nice neighbour. Wish I have one like you.

What about dropping a note in the letterbox;

\"You may want to check if your maid is in the family way\"

signed
                \"A friendly but scared to be scolded neighbour\" or something like that ??

Oh yah hor, never thot of this method ;). Then I can stay anonymous & hopefully help. Thanks[/quote]

BeContented

znzyzyzx:
                  But if it is landed, most of the time is the maid that bring the letters in woh, since it is not locked.
                  No issue. HDB :). I'll put in envelope, seal & address to 'house owner' 🙂

hquek

I agree it seems unfair that the employer had to bear. But remember, when we engage the maid, it is written ALL medical bills to be borne by employer. That was why the hospital went after that employer even though it was another maid who signed for the pregnant one to be admitted. But that is only one case and it is extra ordinary.

Then again, I can’t afford such extraordinary expenses also. Me and kids will have to eat soya sauce rice for a very long time.

written ALL medical bills to be borne by employer.

Then Is definitely High time and JUSTICE to change this clause to protect employers!
                      How can everything just conveniently push to employers, like a rubbish trash dumping ground ? Maids no need to bear any personal behavior responsbility over how she herself get pregnant in the first case ? including anyhow sleep around with men loosely outside - also need to push this entire responsibility to employers to deal with ? So ridiculous !

Medical bills to be borne by employer like maid fall sick, fever, flu, cold - these are acceptable. We understand.

But NOT hospitalization bills related to maid's abortion nor maid's PREGNANCY as a result of she anyhow sleep around with men outside and get herself into trouble. eg: $70, 000. Employers should not be held accountable for maid's personal private life affairs.

Hospitals should be prepared to write off these type of bills as Bad debt in their accounts.

nms1

written ALL medical bills to be borne by employer.

Then Is definitely High time and JUSTICE to change this clause to protect employers!
                        How can everything just conveniently push to employers, like a rubbish trash dumping ground ? Maids no need to bear any personal behavior responsbility over how she herself get pregnant in the first case ? including anyhow sleep around with men loosely outside - also need to push this entire responsibility to employers to deal with ? So ridiculous !

Medical bills to be borne by employer like maid fall sick, fever, flu, cold - these are acceptable. We understand.

But NOT hospitalization bills related to maid's abortion nor maid's PREGNANCY as a result of she anyhow sleep around with men outside and get herself into trouble. eg: $70, 000. Employers should not be held accountable for maid's personal private life affairs.

Hospitals should be prepared to write off these type of bills as Bad debt in their accounts.

I think the example of $70k is very unlikely to happen as that must have been the case of a very early premature birth. Given that our maids have a 6 monthly medical, they should never be able to be more than 6 months pregnant undetected so, in most cases, the maximum bill you would be exposed for would be in the case of a miscarriage.

The toughest, and more likely scenario, for employers is where they (or even the maid) don't find out she is pregnant until the medical and the maid has to be send home immediately - that would be my bigger fear as it would leave me totally in the lurch. I was lucky to find out and have around 6 weeks to find a replacement.

I think to say that they are \"sleeping around\" is a bit unfair. Some of them have a boyfriend, a steady boyfriend like a lot of Singaporeans and they just make a mistake, like a lot of Singaporeans. Let's not brand them all as \"loose women\".

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3