Principal of top school under investigation for hiring prost
Quintessential Mum:
Well, if she did it once or twice, she may be \"lost\" and \"immature\". But to do it so many times and to accept money in return (a lot of money mind you), leads me to believe that she is not so innocent after all and quite savvy compared to other similar service providers in the market. Another thing that gets my goat, is the \"under age\" part coz she seems quite mature
I beg to differ please.autumnbronze:
[quote=\"Quintessential Mum\"]
I do not think that one should use a complicated family background as an excuse for her behaviour. If that is the case, anyone who has any setback or difficulty or challenge would end up like her. It boils down to choices and we all know what is right and what is wrong. She is no angel and she should bear the brunt of her actions along with her pimp. As is, she is not named, gets to keep her ill gotten tax free gains and actually can carry on with her profession! It sets a precedent for other teenage girls who want an easy way to make money!
It is not an excuse to me, but a reason.
That doesn't mean that I condone her actions. If at all she has been mentally and emotionally scarred, it allows me to understand the root cause of her actions and perhaps be a teensy bit more forgiving. She was underage at that time?? It is a period of insecurity, uncertainty, temptations, influence, angst. Especially if she is not grounded emotionally or mentally.
It is true that life is full of choices, but one should not forget that life is never black and white. They are shades of grey, as much as we like not to
acknowledge that.
I apologize if my views are never conformist or judgmental and are in sync with the masses here, but I have learnt to take what the media says or hearsay with a pinch of salt.
I may be wrong about my assumptions pertaining to the girl. But I'd like to give the girl the benefit of doubt for the time being until proven otherwise.
My 2 cents
enough and brazen as she \"advertises\" her services and photos all over the internet. In this day and age, kids mature way faster than in the past, so
age is just a number, more importantly is to focus on her maturity level. They should get a psychiatrist to assess the mental maturity instead of relying on the fact that she is underage. However, she may be quite an actress and con the psychiatrist!
Hi Qintessentialmom!
Thanks for responding, and positively too :hugs:
Sometimes I :nailbite: when I am posting responses that don't conform to the norm.
Yes, I note your points and do see your point of view :hi5:
In fact, the benefit of the doubt that I initially had for the girl is slowly waning away as I find out more and more about this case!!
:celebrate: -
Meanies!! :nunchuk:[/quote] :whut: I very the :imanangel: leh .....autumnbronze:
[quote=\"blessed777\"]
err... Its not bcoz u got curious seing Chen poping up in prostitute thread eh ? :evil: just kidding... :siam:
Teeeheeee spot on!!!
Juz kidding hor, chen
vicki:
Per dh - eat abalone everyday also will sian one leh! Must hve plain rice sometimes! :slapshead:[/quote]Every day eat abalone n sometimes craving for ikan bilissleepy:
[quote=\"cfan\"][Shaw and his wife got married last November, and were featured on the cover of Singapore Tatler in February for a feature on \"Great Romances\". They met six years ago when she was participating in a Miss Earth pageant and he was training and judging contestants.
He got a beauty pageant wife at home and still stray, what to say in this situation? really 野花比较香 -
100% this indonesian will never step foot on our soil again.
Indonesian man in online vice case allowed to leave Singapore for his wedding
AsiaOne
Thursday, Apr 19, 2012
An Indonesian man charged with paying for sex with an underage girl has been given permission by the court to return to his home country to get married.
According to a Straits Times report today, Reyner Desvando Suhartono, 28, will leave for Indonesia from Friday to April 29 and May 16 to June 6 for his June 2 wedding. His lawyer, Mr Edmond Pereira, told the court that Mr Suhartono had made preparations for the wedding from November last year, even before he was called up by the police.
Mr Pereira said in court that his client, who is a director and shareholder of a four-year-old Singapore-registered trading company, is not a flight risk. He also owns a property here together with his father.
Deputy Public Prosecutor Andrew Tan objected to this, saying the suspect is a foreigner with no familial roots in Singapore, will be married to a non-Singaporean, and is only a minority shareholder in the company, reported the paper.
District Judge Lim Tse Haw, in allowing Mr Suhartono to leave, set a cash bail of $20,000 to be posted as well as a stipulation that he must provide his itinerary and overseas contact details to the investigating officer before he leaves the country.
The prosecution set forth an amended charge today naming the underage girl, whom Mr Suhartono allegedly had sex with at his rented apartment in Cambridge Road for $450 in September 2010.
It is against the law to have paid sex with a person under 18. -
daisyt:
I feel that the prostitutes identity should be exposed. They did it willingly and should bear the consequence too. This can also act as a warning to young girls, don't make the wrong step. Protecting them is harming them. If the men have to bear the consequences, why not the prostitutes? I don't think age is a reason to protect the girls. She wants to do it, lie at her age knowing it is illegal, why is she still being protected? It is giving a wrong signal to the teens.
I believe it is because she is underage, thus protected under the women's charter (??? :scratchhead: ) -
She is a willing accessory to offences committed n now she can hide under d skirt of d Woman's Charter?daisyt:
I feel that the prostitutes identity should be exposed. They did it willingly and should bear the consequence too. This can also act as a warning to young girls, don't make the wrong step. Protecting them is harming them. If the men have to bear the consequences, why not the prostitutes? I don't think age is a reason to protect the girls. She wants to do it, lie at her age knowing it is illegal, why is she still being protected? It is giving a wrong signal to the teens.
I believe it is because she is underage, thus protected under the women's charter (??? :scratchhead: )
D original intent of d sex with minor laws (under Penal Code n Woman's Charter)
was to protect d young from predatory exploitation by paedophiles.
Hers does not fall in dis category.
She proffered her services on d internet openly n willingly,
she was not exploited by d men being charged,
so she being an offending minor must be treated differently from a minor being exploited who needs protection.
Not being hard on her, but purely from a justice point of view
– it will be a grave miscarriage of justice if d men r publicly shamed n subsequently jailed
while she goes scot-free when she has played a very significant role in d whole saga.
Anyway, her identity n pix r all over d internet now
so d gag order is, in reality, mute. -
Actually, minus the innocent part - which to me she isn’t - can I say that IF those guys didn’t pay her for the xxx, they would NOT hve gotten in trouble?
Ie, Above 16 but below 18 can hve xxx with those guys but just cannot collect money from the act! Isn’t it weird? -
vicki:
My thoughts exactly. If anyone had actually coerced or tricked her to doing the deed, he or they would not have broken the law by sleeping with her. :slapshead:Actually, minus the innocent part - which to me she isn't - can I say that IF those guys didn't pay her for the xxx, they would NOT hve gotten in trouble?
Ie, Above 16 but below 18 can hve xxx with those guys but just cannot collect money from the act! Isn't it weird? -
Hypothetical story
A couple of years ago, a few people were intrigued by an internet ad marketing a secret restaurant serving special beef steak from a young calf at a premium price.
They booked a time slot at the restaurant who will serve only one customer at a time, with impeccable services. The menu was there for all to see, it was stated clearly as BEEF. When the sweet dish was served with alluring aroma, the maître d’ assured everyone that it was premium beef. Each diner had an incredible meal, the steak was extremely tender , juicy, succulent, tasty and served with all the right garnishments ( CCCK, BK, DJN, BK, etc ) .
Though quite expensive, some diners returned to eat for a 2nd or 3rd time.
A year or so later, it was found out that during a certain period of time, this secret restaurant had broken the law, and was in fact serving human flesh !
Swiftly, the owner was apprehended, and through his guest appointment book, the 80 or so diners were called in for questioning. 50 of them were then charged with cannibalism, and could possibly face jail sentences. Their faces and reputations were exposed and tarnished, their families distraught.
Yes, they were guilty of eating at a secret restaurant marketed on the internet. But they all thought they had beef. None of them KNEW it was human meat.
Is it fair to charge them for cannibalism ?
Shouldn’t the focus - the main culprit - be on the owner of the restaurant instead ? He was the one who knowingly misled and sold this dish to the diners. Why would the media be so engross with the diners ( victims ? ) and their families ? None of them STOLE the meat, none of them took their meal by force, in fact they paid a high price for the meal, thinking it was premium beef.
pondering pondering -
Once that Indonesian is allowed to leave our soil, he will never step foot again. There is a jail term.
Regarding that trophy wife, she is a NEW one…26 years old. Dated for 6 years but unfortunately this marriage is no fairy tale. A pity bcos the husband is 3rd generation of Shaw family. Looks like this man has brought down the name of his famous family ? She is very young too but why was the husband in heat when he saw a 18 year old ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.