Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      micollh

can i check, when maid is leaving spore to their home, the work permit is drop at the changi check point when she check in for flight right? i remembered this is what my prev maid did… but to confirm .

Funx3

micollh:
        can i check, when maid is leaving spore to their home, the work permit is drop at the changi check point when she check in for flight right? i remembered this is what my prev maid did.. but to confirm .

Yes. the Immigration Officer will collect the Card after they Clear custom, provided that the Work Permit is Cancelled, and the maid need to carry a Immigration Exit Paper as Well.

micollh

micollh:

can i check, when maid is leaving spore to their home, the work permit is drop at the changi check point when she check in for flight right? i remembered this is what my prev maid did.. but to confirm .

Yes. the Immigration Officer will collect the Card after they Clear custom, provided that the Work Permit is Cancelled, and the maid need to carry a Immigration Exit Paper as Well.

noted. tmw cancelling her work permit.. wish her all the best !!

jtoh

micollh:

Not necessary. My agent said to pass the work permit to the agency after the maid leaves Singapore or can send back to MOM directly. We sent it back to MOM directly.

aiyoh

moonee:

Ahhh, pregnancy!! something that we have to accept if it happens. My relative was shocked when her burmese maid was pregnant last december, kind of unexpected coming frm this maid who is really decent, anyway she had hr wedding ceremony in spore n left last month as she didnt want to put too much stress on the baby, she taught the new maid everything before she left, she too is my relatives favourite maid as she was very trusting, well she had her reasons for wanting a child as she always wanted to start a family....So, sometimes we hv to expect the unexpected.
              Real or not...can hv ceremony in singapore?...employer favorite ahh....baby father got connection with employer or not???..want baby just anyhow get man issit...no need get husband one??..wah like dis very decent meh?

Dnls_mum

Employers who are working and leave maid alone at home with kids normally have less problem with their maids. Not because their maids are better but because no one is supervising the maids and don't realize the maids may be up to hanky panky. Maids can be 2 face. They are smart, don't assume they are dumb.

My aunt had a maid which she thought was great. Then later there was a big commotion in her condo. Apparrently the security guards were pimping for the maids. One employer found out and news got around. In the end, my aunt's maid was also one of them. That maid was not even attractive, also so decently dressed all the time....hehe, so deceiving.

My friend had a maid which she thought was great too. The maid is instructed to clean the house after employer goes to work and kids go to school. Then she goes to employer's mum's house around 10 plus to prepare lunch for the kids who go there after school. All was well until medical checkup shows that she is pregnant. On questioning, it seems she has an enroute activity every morning before arriving at grandma's house. If she did not get pregnant, my friend would have still thought she was great....hehe

I had a maid, so good with my boy. With me for 3.5 years. Then medical
                came and refused to go. :yikes: apparrently been leaving house every night to rendevous with my security guard! After she left, I understand fm my mum's maid that my maid claim to be well versed in black magic. Her curse on me is that every time I scold her or tell her off, my son will get sick. She claimed that my grandma falling down the stairs was a result of her curse and my DS2 getting high fever too! :scared: I had also thought she was a good girl, dote on my DS and good with the kids. If my mum's maid had gone home first, I would not have known of these stories.

One last story, my customer's maid. Been with them many years, almost 10 yrs I think. Dotes on the kids. Husband's favorite. One day, teen daughter found dad in bed with the maid!! Couple now divorced and husband married the maid. Kids cannot forgive dad and not speaking to him 😞

Moral of these stories?? Don't be fooled! They are smarter than us. We are the fools and the naive ones :sad:

moonee

aiyoh:
                  moonee:

Ahhh, pregnancy!! something that we have to accept if it happens. My relative was shocked when her burmese maid was pregnant last december, kind of unexpected coming frm this maid who is really decent, anyway she had hr wedding ceremony in spore n left last month as she didnt want to put too much stress on the baby, she taught the new maid everything before she left, she too is my relatives favourite maid as she was very trusting, well she had her reasons for wanting a child as she always wanted to start a family....So, sometimes we hv to expect the unexpected.

Real or not...can hv ceremony in singapore?...employer favorite ahh....baby father got connection with employer or not???..want baby just anyhow get man issit...no need get husband one??..wah like dis very decent meh?

Yah leh, very decent maid, 5 yrs in spore, had ceremony in a mynmar association and buddhist monk officiated her wedding. The husband is her relatives friend and they really wanted the baby even tho she was advised to abort. She was in love!!! She mentioned she knew her now husband for near 2 years, but got together for a year.... I have her invitation card but not too good to attend. She had like 80 guest athe ceremony. She showed me the wedding pictures.
                  No, employer never met or knew she had a man. Well wen it comes to matters of the heart, decent or not decent they wanted to start a family, btw shes 32 and knows what shes doing altho my relative was dissappointed and shock when she told them of her pregnany, seems like she was planning for it, so she aint that stupid. Anyway she served her employer very well all these years and looked after the house well.
                  Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today.

Dnls_mum

moonee:
                    aiyoh:

[quote=\"moonee\"]

Yah leh, very decent maid, 5 yrs in spore, had ceremony in a mynmar association and buddhist monk officiated her wedding. The husband is her relatives friend and they really wanted the baby even tho she was advised to abort. She was in love!!! She mentioned she knew her now husband for near 2 years, but got together for a year.... I have her invitation card but not too good to attend. She had like 80 guest athe ceremony. She showed me the wedding pictures.
                    No, employer never met or knew she had a man. Well wen it comes to matters of the heart, decent or not decent they wanted to start a family, btw shes 32 and knows what shes doing altho my relative was dissappointed and shock when she told them of her pregnany, seems like she was planning for it, so she aint that stupid. Anyway she served her employer very well all these years and looked after the house well.
                    Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today.[/quote]Alamak, this marriage not recognized in Singapore and probably Myanmar too. Buddist monk in Singapore cannot officiate wedding. Even if they do, it is not legally binding. Singapore law does not allow WP holders to get married here. Hope she went back and got a proper cert. Maybe if held at Myanmar embassy ( if got one here), then will be recognized back home. But frankly, decent girls get married before getting pregnant. Where got get pregnant then get married one. Unless their society like that lor....

• U Offline
                      UncleLim

I know someone who deducts $50 for every day that the maid wants to go out. If she chooses to go out on 4 Sundays, then 4 X $50 = $200 off from her pay.

The employer claims that this is agreed in the contract with the agency.

My question is: Is this even legal ?

Dnls_mum

I would think it depends on how much the employer is paying the maid and what the contract says.

Assuming the contract says pay is $400 and extra pay of $200 is given each month for payment in lieu of off, then I suppose it is right to deduct $50 each time she takes off.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 703 / 1032