Special needs first wk in pri 1

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    72 Posts 29 Posters 35.5k Views 1 Watching
      chibi

Hi Agnes,

The allied educator i am referring to is Mr Tong 😄
      From what my daughter tells me, Mrs Sia also helps alot in teaching her mathematics when she has problems in the subjects.
      I must give my kudos to Mr Tong , Ms Denise ( the school counsellor) and my daughter's form teacher Mrs Lim.
      Both 3 of them have been extremely supportive during her primary 1 days till now 🙂
      Mr Tong even takes an extra step on the first day of 2nd term, to go and check how is my daughter doing after a week break from school and smsed me to update me how she is coping. :evil:
      Mrs Lim , my daughter 's form teacher also never fails to amaze me. Just 2 weeks ago, i signed a no consent to my daughter's consent form to go on a theatre trip in July as i thought that nobody in her class is going. 😓
      Then Mrs Lim rang me up the next day to ask me why i don't let my daughter go. haha , i told her oops i thought nobody in her class is going, but Mrs Lim told me that every one is going and its a good chance to expose my daughter and that she feels that my daughter's sensory issues has improved alot, and should expose her to more theatre experiences.
      and she spend quite abit of time on the phone to share with me how is my daughter coping in school and she actually told me my daughter always makes her day . :rahrah:

I am extremely kiasu before school starts in January for my daughter, rang up the school to speak to the school counsellor before the KK letter of my daughter's special needs reaches the school. Ms Denise even arranged for a 1-1 orientation for my daughter before the school starts in November so that my daughter will be familiar with the school surroundings and environment.
      Ms Denise is a very patient lady too, she taught my daughter how to walk from her classroom ( as we already knew which class my daughter is supposed to be in ) to the school cousellor room during recess as there are many games and activities that the other kids can do together in the room.

I actually went for the school P1 briefing before enrolling my daughter in Changkat P.School.
      I stayed behind after that talk to speak to the vice principal about my concerns in enrolling my daughter due to her special needs.
      I feel comfortable talking to the viceprincipal. she was the one that makes me decide that i should enroll my daughter in the school, it was just a 10 mins walk from my home, but then again, i was thinking way back then if pathlight is a better choice for my daughter. the vice principal still remembered me when she saw me during the school orientation in January..hehe.
      My mummy, who is quite a critic, also told me that she feels that my daughter has improved alot since entering Primary school. i think it might be that the school is supportive of her and I can tell that she really enjoy going to school alot now.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
        PiggyLalala

Adam Ma:
        I really feel regretted after I have read up the feedback the Simei Changkat primary school is offering much support to the special need student cos my son had a high chance to enter this school but I decided to get him in a more remote but well established school.

It ended up the school wasn't able to provide no special arrangement due to shortage of resource and my son is only mildly LD as reported by KKH.

After a few months in the school, the teacher told me my son was unable to catch up in both Chinese and Maths and asked me to get certificate from the KKH or other center to get him exempted or allowed with longer hours for taking assessment test.

My son also went for KKH and underwent a series of therapies/assessment but only in P1, the teachers highlighted to me he may have attention problems and not other kind of LD.

Spent so much effort and money, it seems I'm not helping my son but making things worse...:stompfeet:
        Maybe u can call up Changkat primary to see whether it is possible to transfer yr child over say maybe next yr

cnimed

I have to say that teachers really can help the child have an easier time in class. My son has been with the same teacher for two years. He has mild sensory issues (vision and noise), but while I have highlighted the vision issues to the teacher, I kept mum about the noise as I felt it would be impossible for the teachers to do anything about that. Recently he was quite unhappy and during the PTM, I finally told her that noise bothers him as well and she immediately had an inkling why he was unhappy and stressed out. Apparently he has been seated with a group of talkative girls. She switched his seat and he is so much happier and relaxed now. During his CCA with the same teacher, he will often sit with the older children and his teacher now realises that it is because the chatter from his peers gives him a headache by the end of a long day. I intend to ask her to talk to his next year’s teacher or help put him with a suitable teacher for the next year.

Lavina

Hi DesertWind,

I personally think that academic performance is key to remain in mainstream schools. If my child passes everything, they cannot put them elsewhere.

I did not \"promise the mainstream school that the teachers/principal will no longer need to be responsible for the academics of this special needs kid\" but then I could not question the teachers when my child does not do well either. How can I say the teachers are ineffective when my child is not paying attention to them? So yes, private tuitions are necessary in my case.

Reading from page 1, I realise my son has come a long way. He was \"special\" and did everything that was mentioned here (and more). I still remember how hard I cried when I saw schoolmates pointing at him and doing :siao:

He is in Sec 4 now - still quite playful; needs to facebook everyday; wants to hang out with friends; needs lots of nagging to study => not so \"special\" any more.

So, hang in there. Very soon you'll be like me, research the internet to learn more about electromagnetism so as to help him with his physics 😓

LalaW

My son is in Pathlight K2 now. Intend to enrol him to mainstream P1 next year. But his behaviour changes recently. Make me so worry... Anyone has good therapist can work on the behaviour issues?

thanks in advance! 🙂

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

Hi Lavina,

Thank you very much for your reply, really appreciate it!
                Glad your son has come through and is now not so special anymore. In fact, he sounds like a really typical teenager!
                Yeh, that’s what I think too, to succeed in mainstream the kid himself must be able to follow well, to understand questions, do worksheets and clear the exam papers on his own! Nowadays with so much awareness and services relating to "special needs", I can feel the tide sweeping the kids down the "special needs" path and that is what I am trying to avoid.
                There is just no use talking too much about what my plans are and what I hope my boy to be etc…Bottomline is, either he can survive in mainstream or he just can’t.

Lavina

Hi desertwind,

Yup, I have worked very hard to avoid sending him down the "special" path too. So i concentrated my efforts on academics rather than life skills. If without all the pushing, coaching and tuition, he probably couldn’t stay in mainstream. I was quite hard on him, not to the extent of Amy Chua tiger mom, maybe 70% lah! Anyway, just my 2 cents.

• DesertWindD Offline
                    DesertWind

Lavina:
                    Hi desertwind,

Yup, I have worked very hard to avoid sending him down the \"special\" path too. So i concentrated my efforts on academics rather than life skills. If without all the pushing, coaching and tuition, he probably couldn't stay in mainstream. I was quite hard on him, not to the extent of Amy Chua tiger mom, maybe 70% lah! Anyway, just my 2 cents.
                    You have your son's best interest at heart, Lavina, and you do what it takes to help him as best as you can! Really admire you and I hope my boy will also be able to make it through mainstream too!

sheryl

Anyone know if there is any prep classs for P1 for the special need children? Not on academic but more on adjusting to a primary school class environment, structure, etc.

mashy

sheryl:
                        Anyone know if there is any prep classs for P1 for the special need children? Not on academic but more on adjusting to a primary school class environment, structure, etc.

My son attended the one org by kkh rehab.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 8

LightningwaspL
                        Lightningwasp

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies