[Queenstown] Primary Schools

350 Posts 87 Posters 219.6k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      yemother

Hi

My son is also in the 2010 intake and we are staying at redhill area. My 1st choice is Zhangde as I’m impressed by their open house and the greenery environment. But then, Zhangde is having balloting > 2km this year so my 2nd choice will be GES which is <1km from my house which I am a bit apprehensive. However, I have a feedback from friend recently that her son who is studying at GES. The 1st year, her son’s result was just average but on his 2nd year, her son is the top 3 in the level with another teacher. My friend is also very surprise as she did not give any extra tuition or guidance at all and her son told her that the teacher who taught them is good and patient.

So, whether good or average school, sometime it all boils down on how devoted is the teacher who is teaching the class.

mmpiglet

I agree with you that teachers play an important part in a child’s progress. My neighbour whose son is in New Town told me that the teachers there are always changing.

I hope that with the shifting to the new school premises, things will change for the better.

bluemoon

I stay in Queenstown too and the nearest to me will be Queenstown Pri but somehow I don’t have good impression of it. But if you were to ask me which is better, I feel that the differences among the neighbourhood schools around our area is really marginal. Its not like comparing against Nangyang or Raffles so under no choice, I might still choose Queenstown, no point wasting time on transport just to go to another school that is marginally better?? Jmho.

chixchix

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Any parents got kids here or any feedback on this school...
            another thing ..any of you know any website that I can go to ,to check the distance between a school and my home..thanks lots!

chixchix:
              Any parents got kids here or any feedback on this school...

another thing ..any of you know any website that I can go to ,to check the distance between a school and my home..thanks lots!
              As you can tell from the poll in this thread, most parents seem to prefer Fairfield compared to the others in the area.

To measure home-school distance, http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/measuring-home-school-distance.

ramamamidi

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Anyone has information about New Town Primary School? Can you pl. help? I am planning to move there.

Regards
                Rama Prasad Mamidi

chixchix

Hi there …can i know what are the chances of getting in Fairfield if i am staying 480m away from the school and entering Phase 2C ?

Is this school better than Clementi ? I am very confused. Also

will they be looking t both parents IC address ???

Luanee

chixchix:
                    Hi there ..can i know what are the chances of getting in Fairfield if i am staying 480m away from the school and entering Phase 2C ?

Is this school better than Clementi ? I am very confused. Also will they be looking t both parents IC address ????
                    Chixchix, from 2006 too 2008, FMPS conducted balloting under phase 2C for those staying within 1km.

chixchix

si liao lah :? :? ok ...but i think even the balloting got priority right ??

Luanee:

Chixchix, from 2006 too 2008, FMPS conducted balloting under phase 2C for those staying within 1km.
                        chixchix:
                        si liao lah :? :? ok ...but i think even the balloting got priority right ??
                        chixchix,
                        there is no priority in balloting if balloting is required for those staying within 1km ie regardless of whether you stay within 480m or 200m or 100m or 900m away from the school, all will be balloting under <1km.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 35

JHkwJ
                        JHkw